We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super food from the sea and the land!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burgundy Restaurant

Burgundy Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Super food from the sea and the land!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We booked into Burgundy on a cool spring evening, so chose an inside table. Not ones for large portions we shared a springbok carpaccio followed by a shared seafood platter. Both were excellent - the springbok was tasty and succulent and the seafood a very good mix of white fish, mussels, shellfish and calamari. I usually avoid mussels in South Africa as they are not often cooked from fresh live mussels and finish up overcooked, in a gloopy sauce and with a poor texture, but these were excellent and in a very nice spicy broth. A good meal with friendly service. We will return!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,143
    730
    204
    66
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Havant
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant and excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

On a cold, wet night this place was so welcoming. The food, drink and service were of a very high quality and my wife and I had a wonderful time. Please try it!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank redbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Party Of 8”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is truly a lovely restaurant with a fantastic view in the heart of Hermanus, the staff are very friendly and we found the service second to none.
We spent 2 nights in Hermanus and enjoyed the first meal so much we went back the second night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very average food, poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I took my fiance to this restaurant for his birthday because it was rated 2nd best in Hermanus on tripadvisor. Perhaps we came on a bad night but cannot imagine how it got the good ratings. Took 20 minutes for waiter to come near us and food took FOREVER to come. Granted, they were fully booked but they should be able to manage the business if they are going to book it! Food very average to boring and ambience inside the retaurant very bland (outside is lovely though). Generally a big disappointment which was sad given that this was a special occassion. Don't waste your time or money going there!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
634 reviews
394 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Great early evening meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Called in at 5 after a super day of seeing penguins at Bettys Bay then whale watching at De Kelders. Sat outside with blanket and cushion with a great view over the sea. Very well fed on bobotie spring rolls, fish and chips followed by malva pud with ice cream with a glass of the excellent Birkenhead ale. All served by cheerful and enthusiastic staff who did not hurry us along, a great end to a brilliant day, would strongly recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burgundy Restaurant also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Burgundy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing