We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!”

Burgundy Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Cheap Eats, View
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We popped in for dessert and wow!! Great service, great atmosphere and wow desserts!! I had their pancake filled with milk Gary and would highly recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank Justin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,165
    747
    209
    66
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We visited both for a lunch and a breakfast with a large group of 14 and 12 respectively. On both occasions the food quality, variation and service was top class. Eg mussels. Wine selection was good and fairly priced.

Views of the bay are hard to beat sitting outside under the trees.

Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ExperienceSeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent venue, excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is one of the best combinations of food and venue in South Africa! Seated outside a stone throw away from the ocean enjoying your favorite meal - - excellent! And even on a chilly autumn day Burgundy handed out nice blankies to wrap around your shoulders or legs!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Hands down the best restaurant in Hermanus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We love everything about Burgundy. The food, the people, the setting.... We dined there twice during our weekend in Hermanus. We had the calamari, which was amazing!! As well as a breakfast, also delicious. The waitress even walked around in the restaurant with our baby so that we could eat! They went out of their way to accommodate us, with kids, and 2 prams. We live in Cape Town, and haven't been able to find a restaurant who just gets it as right as Burgundy does.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WiefferingL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great informal dining with spectacular view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The food was wonderful and the people and ocean watching can't be beat. The outside picnic tables are great for restless children. The staff were also very accomodating to our large and energetic group!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JaneRock2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burgundy Restaurant also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Burgundy Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing