We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place nicely situated on the foothill of the Hemel and Haarde valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
Ranked #26 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet place nicely situated on the foothill of the Hemel and Haarde valley”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We spend the night a the guest house and the first good surprise was our upgrade, I ask a sea view so they upgraded us, so nice !
The room was enormous, nearly too big ;) with views and a lounge area with an African theme.
Nicely decorated, the only disturbance was coming from the fridge, I just unplug it for the night :)
The breakfast is basic but everything is here, and the eggs are made on request.
I recommend the place if you want to escape for a week end, the beach is near by and they are a lovely walk with the river mouth near by.
I will definitely go again !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belegaer_cpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    44
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
130
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Very nice and comfortable guesthouse. Very tastefully decorated rooms. Very good breakfast and very friendly service. We felt very welcome and had a very nice room on the ground floor with direct acess to the garden and pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This guest house is actually at Sandbaai, well out of Hermanus, and is let down by its location, which feels something like it’s on a British council estate. The owner lives in Germany, and the lady who stands in for him/her is preoccupied by her two other jobs and is always scurrying off to meetings or writing up minutes, so is too busy to give it much attention. The (rather hard) double bed was equipped with two single sized duvets rather than a double one, which I thought was poor. Having said that, the breakfast was good, with nicely cooked eggs and good service, and it was an enjoyable enough stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhosi-Guesthouse, Inhaber at AmaKhosi Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
We thank you for your comment.
As we try to cater for everyones needs we will buy some double duvets just in case someone does not like the single duvets provided actualy per sleeping position.

Most of our guests enjoy the almost new matresses. However, we are very sorry that, in this case, we were not able to satisfy your needs and preferences.

Regarding our location we would like to put the right information in place as we are not located in an estate.

We are appr. 5km away from Hermanus town centre in a quiet and very safe neighbourhood of Hermanus where nobody needs to worry about their personal belongings or their cars. Sandbaai beach with its lovely concrete walkways on the coastline is just 300m away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I stayed four nights with my girlfriend and our son (10 months).
I have been to a lot of guesthouses and the likes in South Africa(mostly western cape though) for the past two months, and I must say that I am impressed with our room and the place in general.
It is situated in the Saandbaai area of Hermanus and at first glance it does not look like much when you arrive. But both beach and towncentre is easily reached. The nearby beach is a 5 minutes walk from the guesthouse and centre of the city a 5 minute drive away.
The house has all the usual facilities; pool, terrase, free wifi, dstv, ect..
The staff was great and very helpful with everything.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanKwiecien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanderbijlpark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2012

HodgyNorthumberland made a horrible and very unfear review. The guesthouse is great. Tranquil, peaceful with not too many people. 5 minute drive from the waterfront, a few minute walk to the beach. We had a Colonial Room (no.2 on the 2nd floor). Friendly stuff gave a basic explanation on 'what is where'. No 30 minutes ‘interrogation’ to show their respect and care (if you know what I mean). In a room you’ll find the folder with the rules and recommendations (where to eat, things to go), info about the beaches etc. Free WiFi which I used to write this review. BEST VALUE FOR MONEY

Room Tip: Take Colonial Room on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artem_Podolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this guest house, yes it is a little way from Hermanus, but if you have a car that is not a problem, a short distance from the guest house is the sea with a lovely walk along the coast, we had a very friendly greeting and shown to our room, the lady offered to arrange for a whale watching trip, with a very reliable company and the experience was first class. The room was very comfortable, we had the garden room, the pool was very small, more of a splash pool just to cool off, not for swimming, but be honest, you are there to look around the area not spend all the time at the guest house. Breakfast was very nice, plenty of fresh fruit salad and continental fare, as well as egg and bacon, tea, coffee and juice, ( the only thing that spoilt breakfast was the greed and attitude of other guests) the lady was extremely chatty and friendly, very helpful about the area and local food, we talked about food and recipes which I found very interesting, in fact the whole stay was a very pleasant experience. The area was safe and I would stay there again when we next vist. Thank you for making our stay very nice.

Room Tip: Choose the garden room, just step out of you room overlooking a small garden through french doors, v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SplashAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

First the positives - It's cheap, it's clean And the continental part of the breakfast is ok.

The location is not great, it is a good drive into hermanus and there is nothing going on in the immediate area. We had a very swift greeting with some random places pointed out, which we still have no idea what she was referring to. There was no map provided or available from reception.

The communal areas do not look as cosy and inviting as they do in the photos. The garden is small and the pool is tiny - more of a pond.

We weren't shown to the room and just pointed up the stairs. We were in the garden room which is spacious but which has a view Over the roof of an extension. The outdoor terrace is covered so shaded and has no view so there'd be no reason to sit out there.

The bed was uncomfortable. The mattress was too hard for my preference but the main issue was that it has a wood frame which meant that everytime one of us moved the bed shook and totally disturbed the other (and we're average sized people). Combined with a noisy fridge in the room we had a couple of very disturbed nights.

Breakfast - coffee is offered from flasks so isn't freshly brewed. The continental choices were quite good but the cooked breakfast was poor. 1 small greasy slice of bacon, eggs, a slice of cucumber, a slice of tomato and what I can only describe as a giant hot dog.

Our final disappointment came with information provided by one of the staff about the reported farm strikes. We were told that the information was from 4 seperate police stations in the local area and that the n2 which was the main route on ours and other guests onward journey was closed, that it was unsafe to travel and it would be 4 or 5 days before the situation would be resolved. We were told there was no other way out of hermanus. You might imagine the consternation and worry this caused. Luckily I was able to do some research via Internet, local news and twitter and this turned out to be totally false. The n2 had been closed due to a nasty incident but this had been 2 nights before and for 4 hours in the night. The local police, who were apparently the source of the staff members information, were reported in the paper as saying that it was all quiet from the polices perspective. The following morning the lady again made a point of hunting us out to say she had again rang the police and although the road was open it was at our own risk to travel. This uninformed scaremongering really spoiled our hermanus stay. Yes, there had been incidents and I do think it is wise to be aware of such issues however this lady's info was factually incorrect and could have had significant impact on our plans and purse!

To be honest, this all just marred an already disappointing stay. I think there are much better alternative options in hermanus itself.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HodgyNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakhosi-Guesthouse, Inhaber at AmaKhosi Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
We are very sorry for not meeting up to their expectations, truely.
We just tried to help by providing the most actual information.

However we would like to point out some unreasonable comments:
1. Our mattresses are some of the most expensive mattresses available in South Africa and almost in new conditions.
2. The size of our pool is 2,5 meter x 6,5 meter (it is not o "fish pond")
3. Our breakfast is completely included in our very reasonable rates and consits of different types of cold meats and cheese, 2 different marmalades, honey, a nice selction of bread and toast, different joghurts as well as a fresh prepared fruit salad and cereals. The hot breakfast is cooked to order using local premium quality bacon and sausages (its not a "hot dog") and a fresh brewed coffee in flasks (what else could be fresher) or from the dispenser and different types of tea and hot chocolate to order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.3 mi away
The Potting Shed Accommodation
2.3 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#22 of 86 in Hermanus
134 reviews
5.0 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#13 of 86 in Hermanus
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 86 in Hermanus
648 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#4 of 86 in Hermanus
356 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmaKhosi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmaKhosi Guesthouse

Property: AmaKhosi Guesthouse
Address: Langstraat 17 | PO Box 311, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AmaKhosi Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AmaKhosi Guesthouse is a luxury 4 stars accommodation with spacious en-suite rooms, individually decorated and furnished to themes of Southern Africa.Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere at the swimming pool and our spacious rooms with private bathrooms and balconies with views to the mountains, sea or gardens. Take a sundowner on your balcony while you listen to the roar of the ocean and the whisper of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your AmaKhosi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing