We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great a stay”
Review of Eastbury Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eastbury Cottage
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My husband David stayed 1 night on 28-August-2012 in the Rose Room. Booked 2 nights but checked out the next day. The room was comfortable but the bathroom needs an upgrade. It took a while for the shower to heat up. Didn't get a good night's rest as there are rooms above and the noise of footsteps filtered down. Also a lot of flying insects "miggies" in the room which were annoying. Location is close to the city centre and is convenient. Close to Roman Rock so also convenient for whale watching. Didn't check out until 16h00 but they did not charge extra for this. Price of accommodation was very reasonable, but personally would not go back for another stay.

Room Tip: Would not recommend the Rose Room due to the noise factor from the room above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecsonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hermanusaccom, Manager at Eastbury Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the Rose Room on behalf of your husband. We welcome and value all constructive criticism as we endeavour to upgrade our accommodation on a continual basis to please our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2011

I stayed in the Courtyard room at Eastbury Cottage during a few weeks in July & August 2010 & June 2011. The people who life/work there are very kind, welcoming & helpfull with booking a tour, etc. The Courtyard is very cozy, beautiful decorated and has everything you need. The bed is very comfortable. (wish I could take it home with me:o) While resting after a great day in Hermanus, watching whales, shopping, sport or sightseeing, you can watch a dvd or digital TV in the warm cozy bed. (blanket heater/ fireplace) The cute little kitchen has everything you need to make a nice breakfast, lunch or romantic dinner for two. You can choose between taking a bath or shower. Both is possible. It has a nice shady place with a "Braai" BBQ for 2-3 people. You don't need a car, because you are in town or at the cliff/Walker Bay/old harbour, shoppingcenter/restaurants in less than 5-10 minits. I definitly hope to be back one day again. Enjoy YOUR stay at Eastbury Cottage :o)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JankeV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We booked the Courtyard Suite and were very disappointed. The room was tucked away behind the house with no views except the neighbour's garden wall. The sitting area outside was very, very small and was next to the main kitchen. The room actually felt damp when we first arrived and that was probably because it did not get any sunshine during the day. The room was also very tight and had a cold feel to it. The bathroom in particular was cold. The kitchen was also very narrow. To be fair the beds were very comfortable. The TV and DVD were on a shelf over the wardrobe which was actually bending because of the weight and therefore they were propped up by books and bits of wood to make them level. The wardrobe itself was a very homemade affair, and there was no other storage place eg drawers etc.
The house itself is in a good location, very handy for the cliff tops and restaurants etc. with secure parking.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lirey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hermanusaccom, Owner at Eastbury Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Thank you for your valued feedback regarding the Courtyard Suite. We regret that you were disappointed in the Courtyard during your stay with us. We do not advertise the Courtyard suite or the outdoor sitting area as having views and ideally would love to have all our suites facing the garden or having a view with sun streaming in all day, but this is not logistically possible. Guests are, however, most welcome at all times to relax on the main patio overlooking the garden. The 3 star graded Courtyard, was the least expensive of our suites at R215pp during 2011, but it is also the only suite that has the feature of a fireplace to cosy up the cooler nights, making it the most sought after and popular suite in the winter months. We have also taken note of your constructive comment about the room being “tight” and have rearranged some of the furniture with the addition of more packing space. We are contemplating replacing the king size bed with a smaller double/queen size bed. We have, however found in the past that guests prefer the larger king bed. We do apologise for the sagging shelf and the temporary TV being propped up, which was an inexcusable make shift effort implemented by our staff while the lighter in weight television set was in for repairs and which coincided with your stay. This has since been rectified. In the custom designed galley kitchenette, offering light self-catering facilities, we have used the limited available space. With our temperate climate in Hermanus, where the mid-winter temperatures rarely drop below 10’, heating in the bathroom has not been a necessity, but we shall, however, consider installing a heated towel rail sometime in the future for the comfort of our guests. Thank you again for taking the time to give us your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

I stayed at Eastbury cottage for 2 nights in February 2010 with my wife and 2 young children. Communication with the owner prior to arrival was via email and all my queries/questions were answered promptly and in full. Upon arrival we were warmly met by the owner - Jenny, who also arranged a kayaking trip for us the next day without any pressure or hard sell. The cottage itself was ideal for our needs and the courtyard garden was pleasant to sit out on in the evening. The room was spotless and contained everything that we needed including an iron, ironing board, dvd player etc. The location was also very good, just a 5 minute stroll down to the Cliff tops and just 10 minutes to the town centre. There was also a local supermarket just 10 minutes walk away or 2 minutes by car. All in all, for the price we paid, we would find it very hard to beat Eastbury Cottage. I would definitely recommend Eastbury Cottage to anyone else and would stay there again if ever i was to return to Hermanus - Very, very pleasant stay - Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mounthutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Neem de studio boven het huis. Deze is heel schoon en ruim van opzet. In de winter is het hier angen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamar U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mivaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hermanusaccom, Owner at Eastbury Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabineKampmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hermanusaccom, Owner at Eastbury Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
708 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kennedys Beach Villa
3.1 mi away
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
AmaKhosi Guesthouse
#2 of 5 in Sandbaai
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
945 reviews
3.2 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
0.8 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastbury Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastbury Cottage

Address: 36 Luyt Street | Eastcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Hermanus
Price Range: £42 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eastbury Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastbury Cottage offers great position, good value and warm hospitality for holiday or business accommodation. Choose from our 4 spacious and comfortable self-catering units sleeping from 2 to 4 persons plus 2 children. Tastefully decorated and well appointed with attention to detail our fully equipped suites/units offer a complimentary tea/coffee tray and guest toiletries. Each units has a private entrance and outdoor barbeque area and safe off-street parking. Conveniently situated close to the village CBD in the peaceful, established, leafy suburb of Eastcliff, guests may take a 5 minute stroll to the sea front cliff paths, marine tidal pool, shops and restaurants and most amenities while soaking up the sun and breathing the fresh champagne air. The swimming beaches are 5 minutes by car. We are child friendly and can provide a cot for our infant guests. Breakfast is optional. Units are serviced daily. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing