We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food - Slow Service”
Review of Bientang's Cave

Bientang's Cave
Ranked #16 of 111 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This International award winning destination venue is the most unique restaurant setting in the world. Created out of an authentic, cave previously inhabited by a Koi Strandloper of the same name, the restaurant spills out onto the oceans rocks of Walker Bay in Hermanus, where Whale Watching is the preferred local pass-time. The rustic charm and natural ambiance of the cave and it's surroundings is a delight to all our patrons with many returning year after year to sample the delights of Bientang's Cave. With an abundance of sea and bird life as well as Dassies for company, this exquisite setting is heightened by the freshest seafood and an award winning wine list (Diners Club Diamond Award 2010 to 2013).And, should you be a non-seafood(ie), we offer meat, poultry and vegetarian dishes to satisfy any palate. We are also able to accommodate food allergies and special dietary requirements if pre-informed.Reservations are always advised as our location, quality of food and ambiance attract visitors from across the globe throughout the year... However, should you be passing and the aroma's drag you down our stairs, we do have a cocktail/ oyster bar where guests may enjoy a drink whilst waiting for a table.Bientang's Cave is open daily Lunch: 11:30am to 4 pm.Dinners by prior arrangement. Please note Bientang's Cave prides itself in offering large group functions, corporate events, weddings and other functions.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food - Slow Service”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Absolutely Love the setting of this restaurant within a cave altered to cater for the bar and tables. The sea view is really beautiful and on a sunny day its a great spot!!

The food was tasty, but unfortunately it was served cold and we had to wait over an hour for it to arrive. The restaurant was packed to the brim as it was Easter Weekend, but management should know by now to have extra staff on hand for these busy days! Having heard so much about the place, it was a bit of a let down due to the service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarenS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BientangsCave, Guest Relations Manager at Bientang's Cave, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for posting on Trip advisor. We are happy you enjoyed our magnificent venue. As you stated Easter weekend was exceptionally busy causing some delays which can be expected. It is also important to keep in mind that due to this unique location in a cave on the waters edge waiters must travel far distances to and from tables, bar and kitchen. We are not a fast food restaurant, rather offering patrons to relax and soak in our breath taking scenery. We do hope you will join us again for a leisurely lunch, and super service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    302
    124
    49
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy seafood and views”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Eating from a restaurant in a cave was cool and the view was unparalleled compared to other restaurants around Hermanus. We split the Neptune's Delight and it was really good except the shrimp which were very average. But, the Kingslip and Calamari were amazing! Even though we didn't have a reservation, the server kindly slipped us in a reserve spot just making us promise we'd be gone before they got there. I found the food to be slightly overpriced but other than that it was all great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DarkSideHasCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BientangsCave, General Manager at Bientang's Cave, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Good day,
We are very pleased you had such a wonderful experience at our venue.
You will be happy to know we are in the process of creating a new menu, of which will include some lovely new dishes as well as a more cost friendly prising. We hope to treat you to another wonderful experience at our venue in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Beautifull place”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Wonderfull place to eat beautifull setting right on beach and sea food to die for..nice atmosphere fantastic staff very accommodating...and yes we actually saw wales out to see couldn't believe our eyes..they even offered us binos so we could see closer hows that...go here stay here eat here you will not be dissapointed

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank larke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Cave dining with a view!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We decided to try this restaurant for lunch one day. It has incredible ambience – since it is, after all, a cave in the side of a rock wall and has spectacular views. The food is good and served simply, a good selection of South African wines and very good seed bread! We ordered tiger prawns with garlic lemon butter served with a fresh salad. I’d say it’s a 5-star location/ambience and a 3 star restaurant. It’s a fabulous place to have lunch on a sunny day!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pvfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
366 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great location, ok food”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Loved the location - prime location for whale watching in season. Relaxed set-up, friendly staff. Service was a bit slow as the restaurant was full outside - could have done with one or two more waiters. Had the Bouillabaisse Soup which was ok, a bit more of a tomato base instead of a seafood broth like it should have. Filled with plenty seafood which was great.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BientangsCave, Guest Relations Manager at Bientang's Cave, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Good day, many thanks for your response. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our unique venue. Unfortunately being a weather permitting restaurant it is easy to quickly become overly full, should the sun decide to grace us with its presence. On colder days we insure a very warm and cosy atmosphere with lap blankets and fire heaters. Our bouillabaisse is an age old recipe, bringing patrons back for more. Granted every one has a unique palate I am sorry you found that the base had a slightly too tomato consistency for your liking, but I am happy you enjoyed the large portion and selection of fresh sea food in it. Please do join us again to taste some of our other delightful dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bientang's Cave also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Bientang's Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing