We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice, very central”
Review of Quarters Hermanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quarters Hermanus
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good choice, very central”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We booked into this room on a special offer, expecting it to be basic. It was actually very good. Modern decor, huge size room, v. comfy bed. The bathroom arrangement is slightly odd - share only if you're not shy! There's no wall seperating shower, bath and dual sink from the bedroom, although there is a blind. The loo is (blessedly) in a small separate room.

We booked without breakfast and were duly dispatched to Oscars opposite. Actually the breakfast there was amazing and you get a better choice if you're not constrained by the hotel's choice of breakfast (they send you to oscars for an inclusive breakfast, too). I can recommend the peanut butter shake!

I didn't use the pool so can't comment on this. Parking is underground and very secure.

The location is perfect. Right in the old harbour, 30 seconds from the water's edge.

The staff were helpful with our endless requests to store baggage on arrival, directions etc.

The only reason I haven't given this hotel 5 stars is that the checkout time is quite early at 10am and we could really have done with a bit of extra time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    80
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
52
128
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

My boyfriend and I (29 and 31 from London) stayed here for one night whilst on the garden route. We were taken by surprise as the rooms were HUGE. The bedroom / bathroom were distinct from the living / kitchen area. The bathroom runs into the bedroom – separated by a bath tub. Sounds odd but lovely. We had a balcony that faced the harbour which was a nice touch. So we have established the rooms are great! Location? Fantastic! Its situated in the main square so perfect location from what we could see. Try the fish restaurant on the harbour called, Lemon Butter. One thing I found annoying was that you had to buy vouchers for the wifi; most hotels offer this for free. In any event I think the wifi was down whilst we were there. Ignoring that, I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKJAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in early November, principally coming to Hermanus to see the whales. We were not disappointed - our suite, on the top floor overlooked the bay both from the bedroom and the balcony off the lounge area (don't forget binoculars). The hotel is a little different in that there is no bar or restaurant, breakfast is served at a cafe across the street. For guests on a room only basis there is a good choice of restaurants within 100m of the hotel serving breakfast.

Our suite was lovely - with a large lounge and very stylishly decorated, there is a fully equipped kitchen including a fridge/freezer (there's no mini bar but there is shopping for 'essential' supplies a minutes walk away). The bedroom and bathroom were also very nice with a very large comfortable bed.

The hotel has, on the first floor a small pool area with sunbeds, the area has a glass screen (it can get pretty windy) and is private.

As can be seen from our photos there is a restaurant under the hotel (Amigos) - we ate there twice and very good it was too. They also serve breakfast there.

Were we to visit Hermanus again, we would definitely stay at Quarters again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulesandSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We had a suite room overlooking the ocean. Brilliant! Very well equipped, with a balcony. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and there is ample parking underground. The room was comfortable and well equipped, and it was a shame that we only stayed 1 night.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed here for 1 night in November 2011. The location is perfect right next to the old harbour, rooms are spacious and well decorated and staff polite and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC1Warrington_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We had a suite room. Stunning! Bright, clean, amazing decor and style. The best hotel room we stayed in during our trip to South Africa.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is excellently located right in the heart of Hermanus.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabuKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Molesey, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Lovely, comfortable, well-equipped rooms, very pleasant staff, and secure car park. I preferred to keep lowered the screen dividing bedroom from bathroom area, also to help keep the room dark enough. Just 2 minuses: We also were disturbed by the chair scraping noises (from the restaurant below?) from 6am; also the pool/sun terrace area is a bit of a joke - both are tiny, water a bit murky, lose the sun about 4pm, and worst, there is an extractor funnel from the next door restaurant belching noise and smells all day.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.2 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarters Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarters Hermanus

Property: Quarters Hermanus
Address: P.O Box 393 | Cbd, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarters Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermanus is considered to offer the best land based whale watching on the African continent. Quarters Hermanus is located on the historic Hermanus Harbour. The suites are tastefully decorated in a modern style. The rooms feature splendid views of the mountain cliffs or the magnificent ocean below. The hotel offers many leisure facilities and modern room amenities. The hands on management team ensure efficient service delivery to all our guests needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quarters Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarters Hermanus Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing