We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing a lot of basics”
Review of Quarters Hermanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quarters Hermanus
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Missing a lot of basics”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

For a hotel this price and in this area, it's missing a lot of basics. That said, if you need to stay in Hermanus and this is the best option you can find, I wouldn't warn people away from it.

Some complaints:
- They charge for the wifi and have the most convoluted system known to man. When you login, you are directed to a payment portal that doesn't actually work (although you only discover this after wasting 30 minutes trying). Instead, you need to buy access by the megabyte from the front desk. It isn't cheap, it's incredibly slow, and if you run out of megabytes in the middle of the night you have to wait until morning to find someone at the front desk.
- There are no free electrical outlets... None! Including none anywhere in or near the bathroom, so shavers and hair dryers are out. Once you do unplug something in the room to get a free outlet, there are no european plus in the room (I'm from the US and our plug adapters don't fit the South African plugs--my guess is this is also true for most Aussies, Europeans, etc. but most medium to large hotels in SA have a power-strip with Euro plugs. Here, you have to go downstairs to reception (although they were happy to loan me one).

The bed was also uncomfortable and the white sheets were yellowed at the bottom (not a small stain -- about half the sheet). I own white sheets and it looks like it from normal wear, so I don't think it was dirty but definitely time to buy new sheets!

That said the views of the Bay were great, and the location is also very good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Incoherent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    80
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
52
128
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilderness, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

What a fantastic hotel! We stayed at Quarters from 30th July – 2 August and we couldn’t be happier with the service we received. The facility speaks of excellent taste and is extremely well kept. The suite we were given was beautiful decorated with a stunning view over the ocean. Quarters are well situated and you do not need to drive anywhere. One can walk to the best restaurants. At this moment the restaurant at the hotel is closed due to a fire, breakfast is served across the road at Oscars. At first I thought this was not going to work for me but was pleasantly surprised. They also serve the best cheese cake – all baked on the premises. One can always tell when you find the place full of locals. Thank you to Elizma and her staff for a wonderful stay, we will be back !!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsabe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Lovely stylish hotel in the centre of town - walk to restaurants, pubs and shops. Gorgeous views over Walker Bay - the suites are stunning, modern and very well furnished with comfortable living area, modern kitchen/diningroom and luxurious bedroom/bathroom. Sliding doors open onto a spacious balcony where you can enjoy sundowners overlooking the bay! Very friendly staff. Underground parking a big plus! Recommended as a perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crecia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton on thames
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Quarters Hermanus has a great location in the centre of town and the underground secure parking was very useful. The rooms were very modern, stylish and comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly and happily booked trips for us or made restaurant recommendations. The hotel lacked some ambience and warmth but this was perhaps because we were staying in a quiet period. Breakfast is served at the restaurant next door and was nice but the choice was not as extensive as all other hotels/guesthouses which we stayed in during our trip . All in all a good comfortable base to explore.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank em99w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We recently returned for a weekend in Hermanus and were very impressed with this stunning little boutique hotel, right in the middle of the town's sqaure. It didnt matter that it rained the whole weekend - it was so central we could walk to do some shopping and hide away inside with red wine.The staff were very friendly and the place was spotless - we stayed in a Suite and I would definitely recommend it. Parking is provided downstairs and it was great to have breakfast at Oskar's over the road, where we had fantastic coffee and great food. All in all, very impressive and I cant wait to go back for a 2nd visit.

Room Tip: Go for the Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

we stayed in april at the Quarters in Hermanus. The staff was very friendly, the location could not be better and the rooms are spacious and offer lots of privacy. We can recommend everyone to stay at this place

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed three nights at the hotel and we were very pleased with the place. We would recommend it to others and will definitely stay there again. It has an excellent location right in the centre of town. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Heinrich and Sweety. We moved from our initial room due to some odour which they said is due to the direction of the wind. The staff dealt with this very professionally and we were not inconvenienced at all since they moved us to another suite. We chose the room rate only (excl breakfast) as there are a myriad of eating options within 5min walk from the hotel. I appreciated the parking facilities, which are underground and secure. We had a trailer and the fact that the trailer was safely underground behind lock gave me a sense of comfort. Wi-fi is available at additional cost...pretty much on par for many establishments in SA. All in all a very good experience!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathanvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
900 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
672 reviews
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarters Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarters Hermanus

Property: Quarters Hermanus
Address: P.O Box 393 | Cbd, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarters Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermanus is considered to offer the best land based whale watching on the African continent. Quarters Hermanus is located on the historic Hermanus Harbour. The suites are tastefully decorated in a modern style. The rooms feature splendid views of the mountain cliffs or the magnificent ocean below. The hotel offers many leisure facilities and modern room amenities. The hands on management team ensure efficient service delivery to all our guests needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quarters Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarters Hermanus Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing