We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for Hermanus”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Quarters Hermanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quarters Hermanus
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect for Hermanus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a rather small, modern property in a very good location. Not sure if it's a time share or a hotel actually. We had two adjoining rooms with sea views (and yes we saw whales from our rooms). The extra bedding for one of the kids was below average, but otherwise rooms were comfortable and cosy. Breakfast across the street was excellent. Friendly staff. Safe parking. Will gladly visit again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nibor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    80
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
52
128
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a corporate teambuild. Rooms were huge, super clean and modern, had a lounge suite, kitchen, bathtub, shower and a huge balcony (which has a nice sea view). The 2 LCD tvs were great. No mini bar though. There is almost no noise as its Hermanus, nothing happens after 1 30 am. The pool area is tiny, but had a nice view, but then again who uses a pool.

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful, happily sorting us out when we were a little... inebriated at 4 am.

The location is superb, restaurants are around the corner as well as the cliff/harbour area.

Definitely a great hotel for couples.

Room Tip: So, rooms 12 and 18 are some of the best, they have large balconies where you can view the sea. Get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justindp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stopped at the Quarters Hotel at Hermanus ; situated on the Harbour Road. Save for the fact that this Hotel does not have a grand portico as its entrance, the Quarters Hermanus is a neat little modern hotel. We were fortunate to have a room facing the sea; for Hermanus is quaint once fishing town that today is known for whale watching. The Hotel is fairly modern, in its furniture and fittings. I especially remember the bathroom: big, and spacious. We also had a large bed that was truly soft and comfortable especially after a long drive into the town. The Hotel is centrally located facing the Harbour, where all activity is centred. The hotel does not have much facilities for exercise, even the pool is so small that you cannot swim in it!

Room Tip: Take a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyageurIndien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The staff are so helpful, honestly the best staff I've encountered at a hotel. Location is great, with whale viewing spot right outside the doorstep. Great value for money. Love the handwritten notes left in the room each day indicating the weather and a quote for the day to come.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I've stayed at the Quarters so many times, it always feels like home. the location is perfect and the rooms are world-class. Elizma and the team are professional and they always make the stay pleasant, you can get away with anything.
LOVELY EXPERIENCE

Room Tip: always choose room 8, Best room i've stayed at
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murendiwa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This "hotel" (basically apartments) is very well sited for both cliffs/seaview/whale view and the central shops/cafes/restaurants. It is clean and modern.
Rooms come in 2 categories, suites and ordinary bedrooms. The former are much better, with more space, comfort and facilities. The bedrooms are inadequately heated in the winter.
There is good underground parking. Wifi is poor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

WE recently spent a night here while on the garden route to Cape Town! Great location and great service. The hotel was 10 minutes late to check us in and apologised with individual bottles of red wine, which I thought was a nice touch. The weather was terrible, but we braved the tapas restaurant next door and SO glad that we did. Great food and the table next to the fire place was amazing. Thanks again Quarters

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.2 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarters Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarters Hermanus

Property: Quarters Hermanus
Address: P.O Box 393 | Cbd, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarters Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermanus is considered to offer the best land based whale watching on the African continent. Quarters Hermanus is located on the historic Hermanus Harbour. The suites are tastefully decorated in a modern style. The rooms feature splendid views of the mountain cliffs or the magnificent ocean below. The hotel offers many leisure facilities and modern room amenities. The hands on management team ensure efficient service delivery to all our guests needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Quarters Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarters Hermanus Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing