We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for whale watching”
Review of Quarters Hermanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quarters Hermanus
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect location for whale watching”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel in the perfect location for whale watching.Lovely crisp bedlinen and spacious bathroom/ shower room ( the bath is in the bedroom but has a pull down blind between bath and bed if you wanted your privacy).Every evening the staff came to turn the bed down which was a nice touch although once I felt obligated to get out of bed after having a doze so they could rearrange the pillows.Bad points were that the Wifi wasnt great and kept disconnecting and one night we returned from dinner and couldnt unlock the safe .I was told it would be the battery and that we would have to wait until the next morning which was a bit annoying as my kindle and phone were both in there and I wanted to use both that evening.They did however sort it out promptly the next morning.All in all this is a great little hotel for visiting Hermanus and alk the staff were very friendly.us lovely cooked breakfast served at Oskars just across the road.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    80
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
52
128
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at the Quarters recently for two nights in late September.

1.Room: We stayed in a Suite room at the Hotel. Room had a sitting cum dining area which is relatively spacious. The bedroom however was not big and the queen-size bed that they have, felt a bit small. It was actually two single beds apparently brought together which is something I don’t appreciate especially when they use two single bed mattresses below the sheets. The room was also a bit noisy in the night due to a pub/bar nearby. However, we were there at the time of whale festival so not sure if that’s what made the place noisier than usual. While the bedroom is fully carpeted but drawing-cum-dining area is not if that matters to you. Also, space in sink and shower area was quite limited. There is a bath as well which is separated from the bedroom through blinds.

2.View / Balcony: This was the biggest let down for us as some of the pictures on their website suggest a good view. However hotel has just no views unless you get one of the room on top-floor. In our room which was on the sea-facing side but on second floor, views are either of the village square market or are blocked by the restaurant next to hotel. If you are after view, I felt that Harbour House (both new and old wings) seem to have better views from decent balcony at all floors. At the Quarters what they pitched as balcony in some rooms was mainly a large patio that you share with rooms next door so don’t expect much privacy there.

3.Location: Location is one of the best thing about hotel, it is quite central to various restaurants and also main whale-watching cliff area. Can’t go wrong with the location here though The Marine which we passed because we felt it may not be central was equally central if you are looking for proximity to restaurants etc. However, Quarters location is one of the finest.

4.Breakfast: The breakfast is served at the Oskars, a café across the road. Across the road bit is no hassle at all as it’s just outside the hotel. So, no problems with that. The breakfast per se had a choice of hot dish that you could order (eggs, toast etc.) and a limited cold buffet spread. It was adequate and food was generally good but we usually found better cold buffet spread at other places we stayed. Note breakfast is only available till 10am if you are bit of late-riser on holidays.

5.Facilities: They have a covered underground car parking which was a big plus especially as parking was hard-to-find on the weekend when we were there. Wi-fi though was shockingly chargeable after a first 20MB voucher they issued for our stay – this to me is unacceptable so take note if you carrying iPads/iPhones. They also have a small swimming pool but we didn’t use that during our stay.

6.Service / Staff: Service was generally fine. Our interaction was limited to front desk and so not much to say on this front though we wished they could be more helpful a few times.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Wanderer_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a rather small, modern property in a very good location. Not sure if it's a time share or a hotel actually. We had two adjoining rooms with sea views (and yes we saw whales from our rooms). The extra bedding for one of the kids was below average, but otherwise rooms were comfortable and cosy. Breakfast across the street was excellent. Friendly staff. Safe parking. Will gladly visit again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nibor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a corporate teambuild. Rooms were huge, super clean and modern, had a lounge suite, kitchen, bathtub, shower and a huge balcony (which has a nice sea view). The 2 LCD tvs were great. No mini bar though. There is almost no noise as its Hermanus, nothing happens after 1 30 am. The pool area is tiny, but had a nice view, but then again who uses a pool.

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful, happily sorting us out when we were a little... inebriated at 4 am.

The location is superb, restaurants are around the corner as well as the cliff/harbour area.

Definitely a great hotel for couples.

Room Tip: So, rooms 12 and 18 are some of the best, they have large balconies where you can view the sea. Get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justindp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stopped at the Quarters Hotel at Hermanus ; situated on the Harbour Road. Save for the fact that this Hotel does not have a grand portico as its entrance, the Quarters Hermanus is a neat little modern hotel. We were fortunate to have a room facing the sea; for Hermanus is quaint once fishing town that today is known for whale watching. The Hotel is fairly modern, in its furniture and fittings. I especially remember the bathroom: big, and spacious. We also had a large bed that was truly soft and comfortable especially after a long drive into the town. The Hotel is centrally located facing the Harbour, where all activity is centred. The hotel does not have much facilities for exercise, even the pool is so small that you cannot swim in it!

Room Tip: Take a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyageurIndien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The staff are so helpful, honestly the best staff I've encountered at a hotel. Location is great, with whale viewing spot right outside the doorstep. Great value for money. Love the handwritten notes left in the room each day indicating the weather and a quote for the day to come.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I've stayed at the Quarters so many times, it always feels like home. the location is perfect and the rooms are world-class. Elizma and the team are professional and they always make the stay pleasant, you can get away with anything.
LOVELY EXPERIENCE

Room Tip: always choose room 8, Best room i've stayed at
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murendiwa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.2 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarters Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarters Hermanus

Property: Quarters Hermanus
Address: P.O Box 393 | Cbd, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarters Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermanus is considered to offer the best land based whale watching on the African continent. Quarters Hermanus is located on the historic Hermanus Harbour. The suites are tastefully decorated in a modern style. The rooms feature splendid views of the mountain cliffs or the magnificent ocean below. The hotel offers many leisure facilities and modern room amenities. The hands on management team ensure efficient service delivery to all our guests needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quarters Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarters Hermanus Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing