We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”
Review of Baleens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baleens
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Caledon, South Africa
1 review
“One night stay”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

What a wonderfull night we had at Baleens to celebrate our second anniversary. Our room were very nice and clean, and the breakfast were out of the books! Thank you Baleens for a wonderfull overnight!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WSwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    257
    71
    15
    9
See reviews for
213
196
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noneofyourconcern
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2013

All you want:
Wonderful rooms,
Wifi,
Walking distance to beach and The Grotto Restaurant (very good!),
nice staff,
amazing breakfast (if mentioned beforehand it is possible to receive gluten free bread for breakfast!).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Der R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2013

A delightful stay in a lovely serene spot. The staff where wonderful. The owners could not be more helpful and they serve a great breakfast cooked to your specific preference. The rooms where immaculate with lots of lovely local artwork.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

A good clean establishment, my only suggestion would be to put a shelf up in the bathroom to put your toiletries on. A little far out of the centre of the town so it was very peaceful. The hosts were very helpful about places to visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed with my two sisters here at the end of March. The guest house is on Grotto beach which is 5-10 minute drive outside the town. This was fine for us as we had a car but it may be an inconvenience to others. It is a nice quaint guesthouse. There were cats and we're not cat lovers!! The breakfast was nice and the owner cooks a fry on request. The room we stayed in had a double bed and a single and was comfortable. It had a balcony out on to the pool. The pool is small but it is a nice little area. The wifi is very poor in the guesthouse. We could only get signal at the main door. Saying that though there is one computer with free internet in the common area. It was a pleasant stay and I would recommend it. It was clean and suitable for what we needed it for!

Room Tip: I would recommend the private room with pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jersey_09Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Not sure why this hotel has such rave reviews.. Rooms are ok but not as large as people seem to be saying. The place would have been awesome a few years back. Typically when a hotel is soe highly rated you expect a hell of a lot. If you lower your expectations you are likely to be pleasantly surprised. Make no mistake it is a nice place but not awesome

The hotel is very close to the beach and a little away from town center. This is the biggest plus. The TV has only 4 channels (but you really should not be going to Hermanus to watch TVs). Breakfast spread is limited

Room Tip: Take the balcony room with Sea view, its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrakashKadirvelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richards Bay, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Worth going out of your way to stay there !!

The room was large and well appointed, generally comfortable and a lovely bathroom/shower.
Breakfast was very good and thoroughly recommended. The owner, Paula put astonishing amount of thought into this B&B ... creating levels of comfort and homeliness that are outstanding.

They are wheelchair-friendly too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanN491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
3.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
921 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
683 reviews
3.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleens

Property: Baleens
Address: 310 10th Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baleens 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, privately owned hotel with an informal atmosphere offering great value accommodation. 21 en suite rooms, either double, triple or family. Some rooms have panoramic ocean views. English and continental breakfast. Fully licenced bar. Close to the ocean and lagoon (100 meters) in a quiet and safe part of town. Wifi, internet, braai facilities, swimming pool, pool table, Dstv, conference room and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Baleens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing