We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short stay”
Review of Baleens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baleens
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2013

the service was good ,the room I felt a bit stark ,the bathroom needs a shelve ,I felt like it needed a make over everything was a bit tired . The location we found to far out , on the plus side we did have free wi fi ,a roaring coal fire on a cold night & nice bottle of red wine .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gmcgregordurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
There are newer reviews for Baleens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

I had been traveling with a group of friend throughout South Africa and was ready for some last minute alone time. I found Baleens on Trip Advisor and Hostel World. Both had great reviews so I went with it. Paula was quick to answer my emails, pleasant on the phone, and was incredibly helpful with my search for a car service from Cape Town to Hermanus (John MountJoy was amazing!). The guest house is just on the edge of town, tucked up a short way from the ocean. I found out after the fact that the town is a bit outside walking distance, and tuck tuck is the only public transport to and from the center of Hermanus (which is kind of amazing.) The old dutch architecture of the surrounding houses adds to the charm. The house itself is beautifully decorated with white stucco walls, African treasures, beautiful floating linens, and dark wood finishes. When I walked in and gave the gentleman at the front desk my name, Nando started yelling around the corner, "Christina's here! Christina's here!" And Paula came out and greeted me with an incredibly warm welcome. I've never experienced that type of welcome at a B&B, and I don't think I ever will again. My second floor, corner room with a huge deck room was stunning! Between the beauty of the ocean, the comfort of Baleens, the friendless of the people in town, and the genuine warm hearts of Paula and Nando, I could have, and wanted to stay there for much longer than two nights. I honestly could not recommend Baleen's more. You should book here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My second visit in 3 months. Stayed over the New Year with family.They used a ground floor family room and my wife and I had a room with a sea view upstairs. In March we brought a group of 8 golfers. We occupied 4 double rooms upstairs (all with sea views). The second evening we used the braai facilities and the hotel supplied the salads. The breakfast was very good and the staff attentive and friendly. A good value for money hotel with an excellent beach within walking distance. JC Stellenbosch

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UkDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I spent 6 nights there.
Most important is the quality of service given by hosts. They are friendly, helpfull, customer oriented.
Breakfast - bravo!
Internet worked fine in my room,
room size - good
bathroom - same
If you have not microvawe or kettle in your room - you can find it in open space on the first floor
Some guys say that Baleens are out of Hermanus. For me Hermanus starts at Baleens

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wojciech C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

What a wonderfull night we had at Baleens to celebrate our second anniversary. Our room were very nice and clean, and the breakfast were out of the books! Thank you Baleens for a wonderfull overnight!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WSwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

All you want:
Wonderful rooms,
Wifi,
Walking distance to beach and The Grotto Restaurant (very good!),
nice staff,
amazing breakfast (if mentioned beforehand it is possible to receive gluten free bread for breakfast!).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Der R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

A delightful stay in a lovely serene spot. The staff where wonderful. The owners could not be more helpful and they serve a great breakfast cooked to your specific preference. The rooms where immaculate with lots of lovely local artwork.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermanus
3.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
931 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
692 reviews
7.7 mi away
Oude Schuur
Oude Schuur
#1 of 1 in Vermont
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleens

Address: 310 10th Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: £37 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baleens 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, privately owned hotel with an informal atmosphere offering great value accommodation. 21 en suite rooms, either double, triple or family. Some rooms have panoramic ocean views. English and continental breakfast. Fully licenced bar. Close to the ocean and lagoon (100 meters) in a quiet and safe part of town. Wifi, internet, braai facilities, swimming pool, pool table, Dstv, conference room and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Baleens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing