We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful people and beautiful place!”
Review of Baleens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baleens
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful people and beautiful place!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The B&B is very nice and the interior decoration are beautiful! the breakfast is great and a lot!! the b&B it's very close to beautiful beaches! and the owner very kind and helpful. thank you very much!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mmpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    257
    71
    15
    9
See reviews for
213
196
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We loved the family room! Kids loved having their 'own space'! Well kitted out with fridge etc. The roaring fire in the sitting room was lovely as well as the fussball and honesty bar! Bfast was good!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I have to say that I absolutely hate guesthouses and bed & breakfasts. There's no sense of privacy and I hate the feeling of living in a room in someone else's house but you experience none of this at Baleens. The place is spacious, lovely big rooms and bathrooms and the shared spaces are definitely not cramped. They serve a simple but sufficient breakfast in the airy breakfast room. The lounge area has cosy seating, a fireplace and some entertainment for the kids and grownups.

The outside areas are great as well. There's a small pool, garden loungers and a bbq area.

We stayed in one of the family rooms (no sea view) which has a small kitchenette and both inside and outside dining area. We never felt in the way of anyone and no one ever made us feel restricted or inhibited our movement around the house.

In a way, it feels a bit like a hotel but very homely and comfortable and not stiff.

The owners/hosts were very nice too.

Overall, very good stay and would definitely recommend Baleens.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAbduls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Staff here are very welcoming and it is a nice place to stay. Rooms are a good size as is the bathroom and shower, shower gel is provided. There was a heater and extra blankets in the room, wi fi is available in lounge area.

There is a bar, nice fire to sit in front of, small pool table, table football, various board games and books around, the beach is not to far away. It is a bit of a distance away from the town centre and there is not really anything nearby in the way of shops or restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dazed1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Spent just one day in Baleens Guest House in September, as a stop before getting to the Garden Route. The manager was really nice and the room was cosy and had a breathtaking view of the ocean. Pretty decent breakfast selection and overall a town I wish I had spent some more time in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Having recently travelled to Hermanus on business, staying at Baleens was more than ample accommodation for the budget available. Its clean, and the rooms were comfortable, with clean soft linen and comfortable beds. My colleague and myself were both able to get sea facing rooms with private balconies. Downstairs there is ample sitting areas in front of a warm fire and DSTV. Note that there is no DSTV in the rooms, but this was not a problem. Any news we wanted to catch up on we could do with the free WIFI available...and it works well too, not like some B&B's which claim to have WIFI only to discover it works in the furthest corner on the back end of the house. Breakfast was also included in the price, but be aware, it is very basic and simple. If staying there for long periods of time (we were there for 3 nights), the same breakfast can be tedious. But that is expected for the price, which is very competitive for what you get, considering the location and comfort. I would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend it to any traveller.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea facing room with private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Baleens was clean and the service good. It was real value for money and would recommend them any travellers looking for budget accommodation. Baleens is a good location for those wanting to sleep over en-route to the Garden Route or Gansbaai for the sharkcage diving.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mogamat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
3.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
921 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
683 reviews
3.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleens

Property: Baleens
Address: 310 10th Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baleens 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, privately owned hotel with an informal atmosphere offering great value accommodation. 21 en suite rooms, either double, triple or family. Some rooms have panoramic ocean views. English and continental breakfast. Fully licenced bar. Close to the ocean and lagoon (100 meters) in a quiet and safe part of town. Wifi, internet, braai facilities, swimming pool, pool table, Dstv, conference room and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Baleens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing