We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Execellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Baleens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baleens
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Execellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Excellent Breakfast staff friendly and Owners on hand to answer questions
A bit far to walk to town but no problem with a car. We stayed for 3 days and felt it was good value for money. We would recommend it to friends

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    237
    69
    12
    8
See reviews for
194
188
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

What a delight to be back at Baleens. Excellent accommodation, parking no problem, breakfast just right, very friendly staff and most welcoming hosts. Even had a sea view room and watched the whales from the window wow !! Room 15 by the way !
You do need a car to get into town, which has excellent restaurants. Easy town to get to. Betty's Bay is only about 40 mins away so a good trip to see the penguins. We also booked a morning whale watching boat trip and was NOT disappointed, well worth the price.
There is a games room and a library with comfortable seating.

Room Tip: we had room 15 for the sea view. This has a double bed. The room next door would be fabulous for a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownRiebeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is a very pretty guesthouse with a super downstairs area, games room and self service bar. The communal areas are very nicely decorated in heavy wood and antique furniture and makes a great first impression.
We were however disappointed in the bedroom (we had a family room). Although the room was airy and bright, there was only one small double cupboard, which is way too little for a family of 2 adults and 2 children. Our TV did not work, and despite numerous requests to management, it was not fixed.
The bathroom is tiny - approx 1.5m x 1.5m and there is only a shower - no bath and only one person can fit in at a time - with no room to move around. Our shower also turned out to be blocked, and we were left standing in a few inches of water by the time we'd finished a shower. This too was reported to management, but not fixed. Yuck!
The website states that there is an A La Carte restaurant in the evenings, as per the following copied off their website:
" 21 Rooms all en-suite with showers
8 Rooms with sea facing balconies
Double, triple and Family Rooms
DSTV in the lounges, SABC in the rooms
Small Swimming Pool
Licenced Bar
80m from lagoon and Beach
10 minute walk to Grotto Beach
Along the Cliff Path
Free Internet and Wifi
A La Carte Restaurant in the Evening
Conference Room"
We were however informed apon arrival that they only serve breakfast - very disappointing, as the place is quite a distance out of town, and had we known this, we would have booked in somewhere closer to town.
On the plus side, the establishment offers a very tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighPistorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Baleens provided me with a great welcome and an outstanding level of service.The room was clean and bright with beautiful views over the ocean.The weather was a little chilly,but we were provided with a heater promptly on request.A roaring fire in the main lounge completed the cosy atmosphere.
A great place to stay in Hermanus.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Great host . Family style atmosphere. Helpful staff,very comfortable . Need car to access area attractions. Hermanus is an easy place to drive around and felt safe and comfortable. Will definitely return,much of Baleens custom is repeat,this says everything to me.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We found Baleens to be a Bed & Breakfast offering excellence in every aspect. Its quietness and comfort, with excellent service made our stay in Hermanus memorable. From the clean, crisp sheets to the delicious breakfast, we couldn't fault a thing. Thank you for making our stay in Hermanus so very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

The B&B is very nice and the interior decoration are beautiful! the breakfast is great and a lot!! the b&B it's very close to beautiful beaches! and the owner very kind and helpful. thank you very much!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mmpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
3.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
1.0 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleens

Property: Baleens
Address: 310 10th Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baleens 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, privately owned hotel with an informal atmosphere offering great value accommodation. 21 en suite rooms, either double, triple or family. Some rooms have panoramic ocean views. English and continental breakfast. Fully licenced bar. Close to the ocean and lagoon (100 meters) in a quiet and safe part of town. Wifi, internet, braai facilities, swimming pool, pool table, Dstv, conference room and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baleens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing