We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very decent B&B”
Review of Baleens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baleens
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Though a little far from the city centre, the lodge is of high quality. The atmosphere is so warm and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent with many choices of food and drinks. The service is also very good and the price is absolutely reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Man Piu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our room was comfortable, clean and had we had a great view (better than what we were expecting)
Breakfast was delicious - freshly made - and the service was quick and efficient - overall, great value for money!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Natalie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

As we paid around 100€ for a Seafront Room we came to the decision that this price is far overpriced for that what you get.
The room itself is quite ok - small but nice seating area outside and a good view. The bathroom is unclean and you have no space to put anything there. No shelf or nothing. Especially the public area was very dirty. A old fridge is available for the guests - but so dirty that I would NEVER put any fresh food in there. The breakfast was quite limited. As well the Bar and Breakfast room was unclean and not very comfy. Take this only as an emergency overnight option and skip breakfast and rather go to the Belgian bakery or elsewhere. We didn't feel very comfy at this B&B.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeschob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula106, Owner at Baleens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Hi Joeschob - The around 100 Euro you claimed to have paid was in fact around 40 Euro. Quite a difference! Please take more care as headlines shrieking "overpriced" are harmful. The breakfast we serve is definitely appropriate for the 40 Euro rate. It is perfect for those not wishing to splash out on bigger and better breakfasts when one is already provided.
Paula Swarbreck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Excellent location for the holiday maker. Central to Wine farms / Cape Town and places to visit. Recommendation Some of the beds in the rooms need to be upgraded to Industrial type mattresses. We love the great people at Baleens.


  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Juanita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Nice friendly and comfortable hotel, We stayed in the family room. The room has a kitchinette, a double bed and two single beds and a large balcony with seaview. Breakfast was excllent as well as the service. We would go there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MarcBurgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

A very beautiful and sympathique place with excellent services : fire, ping-pong, bar, lounge, wine...every thing was excellent ! A very welcome guest-house near a beautiful beach during a beautiful trip !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MariefromParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I like the fact that Baleens is a few km out of town as it resides in a quiet neighbourhood and is within walking distance to Grotto beach. It seems as if Hermanus is becoming a haven for teenagers (along with all the tourists) and the downtown/waterfront area is very busy and noisy--so it was nice to stay away from the throngs of people. The breakfast was simple but good, and the coffee was always fresh and strongly brewed. With regard to our room, it was neat, although the staff could do a better job cleaning the walls and ceilings and the tiles in the shower were a bit grotty. The kids loved the place, especially the games room with the Foosball and ping pong table. We would definitely come back to Baleens.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank momogawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
1,017 reviews
3.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
769 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Pines Lodge
Four Pines Lodge
#11 of 11 in Hermanus
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleens

Address: 310 10th Street, Hermanus, Overstrand 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Overstrand > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: £42 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baleens 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, privately owned hotel with an informal atmosphere offering great value accommodation. 21 en suite rooms, either double, triple or family. Some rooms have panoramic ocean views. English and continental breakfast. Fully licenced bar. Close to the ocean and lagoon (100 meters) in a quiet and safe part of town. Wifi, internet, braai facilities, swimming pool, pool table, Dstv, conference room and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baleens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing