We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baleens”
Review of Baleens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baleens
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I found this property well positioned, and were warmly welcomed.
My only critique it that it did not feel clean....marks on the doors and walls, the fridge and cupboards.
The décor and everything is great, but wherever you walk you see dust and dirt marks....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CherylvWyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Baleens is such a lovely place to stay. The breakfasts were lovely and relaxing the only thing I would add is some sausage with it as a bonus. My room was nice and clean. The staff were very friendly. I love the wooden floors and lovely fireplace, my view was exquisite. You can here sea and the beach is only a 2min walk away. My only complaint is my door made noise at night. But I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have been to Baleens many times and always enjoy our stay. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the staff, especially Nato, are always friendly and helpful. They also serve an excellent breakfast. You cannot beat Baleens if you want value for money. If you like a comfortable relaxed environment where you feel at home, Baleens is for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I love this place and this town! We had the best time!! We stayed 2 nights and wish it could have been longer. This guest house has a small clean pool, wonderful spacious common area and a great owner who did our laundry for us overnight for a small fee. Room was large, comfortable and clean. We slept with the windows open and could feel the ocean breeze! A block and you are at the ocean which offered a nice man made path- it wasn't a beach just the coast. A short drive into town and there are incredible food and shopping options. I felt safe, welcome and very happy during our stay in this town! Best part of our trip by far!!!! Room was excellent price and included a made to order breakfast. We drove about 20 mins to do white shark cave diving with shark lady. We also ate some ice cream in town while sitting on the shoreline and watching tons of whales about 20 yards off. This town is amazing! There was no way for me to have prepared for how much I loved it here. Cape Town was nice and worthy of 2-3 days but this town and baleens, I could have stayed a week! We will be back!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank brittwhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Very friendly and helpful host, kindly staff and a cosy and calm atmosphere making this place a great value for money spot situated next to the beach and only few minutes drive to the national park and the city center.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alexlo0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Decided on a night in Hermanus after a friends wedding in Greyton, came across Baleens online. Amazing accommodation considering the price, located within walking distance of a great beach. Comfortable setting with a nice dining area & living room. Also recommend a meal at Dutchies on the beachfront, epic sunset....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We're into the second week of a two week cycle tour of the Western Cape and Saturday was our rest day at Baleens.
Lovely spot just out of town - still only a walk to the beach and a nice long (5km) cliff top walk into town.
Food was very good, laundry was free ( we tipped) and all in all the facilities were great.
The staff were very helpful, breakfasts were plentiful and with an 'honour' bar, what more can I say?

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank SunshineRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
945 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
706 reviews
3.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleens

Address: 310 10th Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: £36 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baleens 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, privately owned hotel with an informal atmosphere offering great value accommodation. 21 en suite rooms, either double, triple or family. Some rooms have panoramic ocean views. English and continental breakfast. Fully licenced bar. Close to the ocean and lagoon (100 meters) in a quiet and safe part of town. Wifi, internet, braai facilities, swimming pool, pool table, Dstv, conference room and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baleens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing