We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect to explore Hermanus”
Review of Baleens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baleens
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“perfect to explore Hermanus”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Carrying the suitcases up 3 flights of stairs was exhausting and the pool wasnt warm enough although we were told it was heated. Otherwise wonderful spot beautiful fireplace. a little far from town but fine if you have a car.
Great breakfast!!! THANKS

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    250
    70
    14
    9
See reviews for
206
193
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

If you have a car it's not far at all to the center of town. It's a nice hotel with friendly staff and nice rooms. The rooms were all white with a little kitchenette and table. We enjoyed breakfast which was a made to order style with self serve sides. All in all it is great value for the money and peaceful. We loved Hermanus for so many reasons, the whale watching, the fab restaurants, the cute city square the drive along the coast... South Africa is a great destination and Baleens was a good base.

Room Tip: We had the family room which worked out nicely for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMandLittleNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We wish we could have stayed longer! The guesthouse is large and spacious, smart and clean with lovely views from the rooms. I love the fireplace in the lounge! The owner, Nato, was very kind to help us with our flat tyre - thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port St Francis, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Friendly staff and reception. Good overnight stay on route to Cape town. Nice quit area a bit away from town center.excellent hot breakfast. Beds comfortable and ample hot water for shower. Will use again and recommend for budget friendly option.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Petru V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent one night at Baleens, service was very good and indeed the room was comfortable, a good stay for youngsters or cheap travel. Room was very clean, as we left early did not have time for breakfast so I can not rate the food. The location, far from town, need a car to move around.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amnon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at Baleens for 2 separate nights in a very comfortable family room.Breakfasts were wonderful, cooked in front of us. Staff were very friendly and helpful.Kids loved the table tennis and pool table

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Handypeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The location was in the quiet part of Hermanus, this was great.
The host of the establishment - Nato is an absolute star and can be asked about anything. The place has that old antique smell as there is a lot of wood art [african art] which is absolutely beautiful. It was like home away from home in terms of hospitality. There was no rush to leave early the next morning as you have till 11h00 to leave so we had breakfast and played a couple of sets of pool in the games room and then left just before 11.00. The breakfast is such value for money and more than what I expected. the breakfast was included in the price. Truely a gem in Hermanus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
907 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
3.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleens

Property: Baleens
Address: 310 10th Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baleens 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, privately owned hotel with an informal atmosphere offering great value accommodation. 21 en suite rooms, either double, triple or family. Some rooms have panoramic ocean views. English and continental breakfast. Fully licenced bar. Close to the ocean and lagoon (100 meters) in a quiet and safe part of town. Wifi, internet, braai facilities, swimming pool, pool table, Dstv, conference room and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Baleens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing