We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”
Review of Baleens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baleens
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Great Brakriver
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very friendly reception, delicious breakfast, comfortable room. Will defenitely stay again.
I was very happy to take my dog with me. The room was excellent for keeping my dog.
the area is nice and quiet and situated near the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lente V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    242
    70
    12
    9
See reviews for
200
189
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Paula and her staff are fabulous. Whatever you may desire they will help. Lovely location. Quiet, by the beach. Watched the whales from our balcony! Even without the whales a view room is worth the bit extra you pay. If you don't have a car it would be hard to get around from.
2 lounge areas with television and one with nice fireplace, nice outdoor garden sitting area. Televisions with limited stations in room. Coffee, tea and fridge in lounge areas. Breakfast included.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We went in the winter season for my birthday. We were welcomed by friendly staff. Our room was beautiful with a stunning view of the beach. The breakfast was very good, the 'home-atmosphere' with the fireplace was so welcoming, and the variety of entertainment and games was nice. I would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone who wants to visit Hermanus and Grotto beach.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeannekotze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Very nice place for a getaway. Very homely and the staff and management very pleasent. The rooms are a small but then the lounge and dinning area makes up for it. Great breakfast. On overall i would give it a 8/10

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Corlia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Carrying the suitcases up 3 flights of stairs was exhausting and the pool wasnt warm enough although we were told it was heated. Otherwise wonderful spot beautiful fireplace. a little far from town but fine if you have a car.
Great breakfast!!! THANKS

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

If you have a car it's not far at all to the center of town. It's a nice hotel with friendly staff and nice rooms. The rooms were all white with a little kitchenette and table. We enjoyed breakfast which was a made to order style with self serve sides. All in all it is great value for the money and peaceful. We loved Hermanus for so many reasons, the whale watching, the fab restaurants, the cute city square the drive along the coast... South Africa is a great destination and Baleens was a good base.

Room Tip: We had the family room which worked out nicely for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMandLittleNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We wish we could have stayed longer! The guesthouse is large and spacious, smart and clean with lovely views from the rooms. I love the fireplace in the lounge! The owner, Nato, was very kind to help us with our flat tyre - thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
3.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
3.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
1.0 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleens

Property: Baleens
Address: 310 10th Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baleens 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, privately owned hotel with an informal atmosphere offering great value accommodation. 21 en suite rooms, either double, triple or family. Some rooms have panoramic ocean views. English and continental breakfast. Fully licenced bar. Close to the ocean and lagoon (100 meters) in a quiet and safe part of town. Wifi, internet, braai facilities, swimming pool, pool table, Dstv, conference room and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Baleens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing