We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country with a splash of international flavor”

Moggs Country Cookhouse
Ranked #10 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Country with a splash of international flavor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The wind howled as we sat tucked next to a roaring fireplace. The mood is laid back with a great selection of music. The food is delicious! Fine flavours that we're so good I couldn't resist cleaning every last morsel off my plate. We settled on 2 starters each and shared a pudding and a bottle of wine - with tip the bill came in at R500 and we were filled to capacity! Great venue, service and food to die for

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harriet and Mik... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    54
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
120 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food in a unique spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Off the beaten path - pretty drive to get there, and that's all part of the outing, right? In a cabin-like house beside a small pond/lake. The food was delicious, not inexpensive, but worth a second visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, food and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Quite a drive from Cape Town for lunch but food and service makes it worthwhile. Very interesting salads for starters (lots of herby flavours) followed by lamb and pork main dishes of high quality. The only negative was the large group of smokers outside whose smoke filtered into the eating area constantly

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveW07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“country comforts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

what a lovely locations....but better still what a lovely simple menu...well not quite...all the ingredients are simple but they are cleverly blended and mixed in an order not readily recognisable.
The overall result is something quite special.
This combination provides a most pleasant food and drink experience with very much a country backdrop.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank naylorpilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kloof, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hobbitt cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Brilliant setting which reminds me of a Hobbitt cottage. The main courses were spectacular The Lamb shank was regarded by my son as the "best he has ever had". Great coffee to round off the meal. The only disappointment was my daughters destert which was ordinary.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarryHgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moggs Country Cookhouse also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Moggs Country Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing