We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star service at 3 star prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
78on5th in Hermanus
Ranked #13 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“5 star service at 3 star prices”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

What an awesome place to stay! The rooms are spacious, modern and clean with beautiful artwork. The private deck overlooking the mountains was ideal for sharing a glass of wine and breakfast was amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Candice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    102
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
53
197
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Hi, we are two students who have slept very well here. Our room was clean and we had a nice view of the mountain at Hermanus. This at a very reasonable price. The rest of the B & B was quite sleek and chic. The owner was friendly and gave us tips for a restaurant. In short, price/quality very good. And not only for students. This was one of the most professional stays we had.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed a night here. If you are looking for well priced, friendly accommodation then this is the place. It is however about 10 minutes drive from townin a really quite, safe-feeling area, so don't book if you like to walk everywhere or don't have a car! The omlette at breakfast was amazing and there was a roaring fire to keep the chill off. The room was clean and had a lovely balcony. Shame it was winter and we couldn't appreciate it. They even provided hot water bottles. WiFi in the public areas only but that's fine to just check emails. I would definitely recommend people to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hacky75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We were looking for accommodation that meet our needs and have found this beautifull gem in Hermanus. We have stayed for 4 nights and this is real value for money. We were met by Jose and felt at home immediately. We did not know the property at all and Jose gave us the option of choosing a room. We chose room 1 with a nice patio and amazing view of the mountain. Breakfast was awesome and filling and although we could add to what we want for breakfast we were happy with being surprised every morning. We did not have lunch once for our stay and are happy to announce that we have found our first choice of accommodation in Hermanus.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Excellent value, service, and friendliness. Even met us on late arrival when our plans changed slightly. Charming decor. Awesome breakfast. Great help with side trips. Stay here. They were so friendly. We felt right at home.





  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Received a friendly greeting, and felt right at home. Very relaxed atmosphere and room had extended this relaxed feeling as it was clean and the bed most welcoming. You can be sure of seeing me on a regular basis.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We were here for two nights and we enjoyed it very much. We got a bigger room than were we payed for, because there were no other guests.
Jose and Ton did everything for us. The electricity in our kitchen was not working and we could come cook in the kitchen of the owners. In the evening when the 'technical part' of the owners was back, he directly came and repaired (in only one minute) the electricity.
The breakfast was delicious! Special adapted to our wishes. A starter with fresh orange juice andn fruitsalad of yoghurt and after that nice roasted bread with jam or a very nice omelet, what you want.
We want to come back here one night if we have a possibility to come!!
The best B&B in our trip and maybe in the whole Western Cape of South Africe. They need a nomination!
ps. Nice detail: in one of our conversations we discovered that one of the owners was living for 20 years in our village of birth (in the Nederlands). How small is the world!

Room Tip: We don't know for sure, but we think the room downstairs is the only room that would not be very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jupdup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.7 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.2 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
909 reviews
5.2 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
2.8 mi away
The Potting Shed Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 78on5th in Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 78on5th in Hermanus

Property: 78on5th in Hermanus
Address: 78 Fifth Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 78on5th in Hermanus 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Because 78on5th is owner run it is your home away from home. Situated at the foot of the Musselberg Mountains bordering the Fernkloof Nature Reserve we are walking distance from the world famous Grotto beach with its Blue flag status. This makes us the ideal holiday or overnight destination - especially when visiting during Whale season.Enjoy a luxurious sleep while the mountains echo the calming sounds of the sea before you wake up to a delicious breakfast with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your 78on5th in Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing