We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 78on5th in Hermanus

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
78on5th in Hermanus
Ranked #9 of 89 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

For the first time I encountered hospitality without feeling overcrowded. The room was amazing and the breakfast well served .Compliments for the fanatical attention to deatil, serving food the way you prefer. It felt like home with your own butler :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    95
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
183
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at 78on5th mid-October, at room 5 with mountain view. We loved the room size, the huge shower and great atmosphere. José was very helpful in booking a boat trip for us, and accommodating us for an unexpected 2nd night. Breakfast is amazing - I'm still trying to recreate the French toast at home, but haven't mastered it yet - and the beaches with a view of the whales is only minutes away by foot. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Hermanus.

Room Tip: Room 5 - mountain view, ground floor studio - has an amazing shower and is completely self accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed in the 5 Bed family suite, made it quite inexpensive per person.
It was taken care for all our wishes, e.g. a bigger braai was organised for us.
Sharing the one bathroom among the five of us was just a little bit hectic.
But also here we were helped and could use the bathroom of the apartment next door which wasn't occupied that night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andreas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here one night, and we completely agree with all the other glowing comments that have been made on here.

A warm welcome, great room (we had room 1 facing the mountain) and an excellent breakfast all made for a great stay.

Its a little out of town, but this suited us, and its close to the coastal walk where we saw whales in the bay!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Dave10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

A great B&B very quiet, we had a mountain facing room, great hospitality and a very relaxed atmosphere, out of the main town area but very easy access to all the restaurants. Great value for money and very comfortable.

Room Tip: View of the mountain own outside patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Service was excellent and everything was to our satisfaction.
On out next visit we would prefer the Self Catering Apartments as it suits our needs better.
We would definitely recommend 78on5th to family and friends.


  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Moegamat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potchefstroom, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Thanx to José and his team for a wonderfull stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. José was also helpful to arrange a whale watching boat trip for us, as well as give advice on places to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.7 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.4 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Harbour Vue Guest House
Harbour Vue Guest House
#14 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#6 of 89 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#10 of 89 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 78on5th in Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 78on5th in Hermanus

Property: 78on5th in Hermanus
Address: 78 Fifth Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 78on5th in Hermanus 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Because 78on5th is owner run it is your home away from home. Situated at the foot of the Musselberg Mountains bordering the Fernkloof Nature Reserve we are walking distance from the world famous Grotto beach with its Blue flag status. This makes us the ideal holiday or overnight destination - especially when visiting during Whale season.Enjoy a luxurious sleep while the mountains echo the calming sounds of the sea before you wake up to a delicious breakfast with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your 78on5th in Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing