We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence all around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
78on5th in Hermanus
Ranked #13 of 88 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Spotless. Comfortable. A spacious room and arranged and furnished with care. Throughout the property original art, paintings, prints and sculpture entertain the eye. There was a kitchen in our suite. We didn't use it, but it was equipped well. A kettle and instant coffee were ready. And much to my wife's delight, a small pitcher of milk for the coffee was in the frig.
The breakfast was excellent, done with friendly and helpful service.
The location is great, near the ocean and good restaurants.
And best of all, for us two cat lovers, an affectionate Siamese strolled casually through the public areas.
Our stay made us regret that we had only two days to spend there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjheider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

A very comfortable apartment with a huge kitchen, and nice private garden and braai. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts were prepared with care each morning and there was a lovely roaring fireplace in the breakfast room.We went for lots of walks in the reserve as the hotel is very near to it. The beach is also within walking distance. The owners are very hospitable and the service was excellent.

Room Tip: Choose the self-catering apartments as they are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZuluTravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We only stayed one evening but when we left we felt like we had stayed the whole weekend: we were so relaxed. The staff were so friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay special. Jose organised a lovely bottle of champers and the most amazing fruit platter. The facility was clean and modern and the pool was beautifully located right under the mountains which we gazed at for hours. It's slightly "out" of Hermanus which makes is VERY quiet. Recommend to anyone who needs a quick getaway.

Room Tip: We had a "studio" and it was more then enough for the stay. Right by the pool as well and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Everything top notch with committed owners and staff. Outstanding breakfast with different menu each day. Very clean and fresh overall.

Private,quiet,and handy location, close to swimmingplaces and walks. Not in town centre although easy enough to get there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kennet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in the ground floor self catering studio.
Jose was extremely accomodating to all our needs and nothing was too much bother.
On arrival we were welcomed by Mike who was very friendly and helped us settle in.

They go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your visit - the poolside loungers all have fresh beach towels every day, the breakfast menu changes every day (and you can ask for a change the night before if you don't like it). Jose was there to greet you every morning and offer you advice on things to do in the area.

The B&B is about a 5-10min drive to the centre point of hermanus but it's a 10 min walk to the beautiful beaches and then about 15 min to get to Grotto beach and Voelklip on the coastal paths which are stunning.

About a 20-30 min drive to the closest wine vineyards for free tastings.

Overall a fantastic stay and experience and we'd highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had the ground floor studio and the adjoining Mountain view room. The studio was very spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed in this B&B in October 2013. We stayed at the self-catering unit downstairs. We appreciated the warm welcome by Jose, the nice terrace with mountain view and the delicious breakfast served in a bright room. Everything is done with eye for details and without much blabla. The B&B is a bit out of town, but as we had a car and could cook our own dinner, that was not a problem. The advantage of the location is the quietness of the place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veerle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

For the first time I encountered hospitality without feeling overcrowded. The room was amazing and the breakfast well served .Compliments for the fanatical attention to deatil, serving food the way you prefer. It felt like home with your own butler :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.7 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.2 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
5.2 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Potting Shed Accommodation
2.9 mi away
Penguino Guesthouse
Penguino Guesthouse
#18 of 88 in Hermanus
160 reviews
3.6 mi away
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
#8 of 88 in Hermanus
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 78on5th in Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 78on5th in Hermanus

Address: 78 Fifth Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: £55 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 78on5th in Hermanus 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Because 78on5th is owner run it is your home away from home. Situated at the foot of the Musselberg Mountains bordering the Fernkloof Nature Reserve we are walking distance from the world famous Grotto beach with its Blue flag status. This makes us the ideal holiday or overnight destination - especially when visiting during Whale season.Enjoy a luxurious sleep while the mountains echo the calming sounds of the sea before you wake up to a delicious breakfast with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your 78on5th in Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing