We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great break away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
78on5th in Hermanus
Ranked #10 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The unit was beautifully appointed with a lovely private balcony overlooking the mountain.Jose and the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome and ensure you have a good time. Quiet, peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Moira Lyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Pleasant welcome, but room was disappointing.
Rusty table in sitting room; sheets on my allocated bed looked dirty, so used another bed; wooden chest and hat/coat stand against the side of the bed, making access impossible; no shampoo in bathroom, just liquid soap in fitted dispensers, of which the one in the shower would have been too high for a child to access; there was a cool box in a cupboard that you couldn't access without moving the washing machine.
Great to have WiFi available, and room was nice and dark for sleeping in.
Rona Crow

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Lovely setting with views of the sea and mountain. Not to far away from the buzz of town. Rooms are clean, nicely decorated and catered for all our needs. Lovely breakfast and the hosts were amazing. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eugene76 A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Had the most amazing time here. What a beautiful setting and lovely place. I was very impressed with the excellent service, and hospitality. My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wadevdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My only problem was, a bit of an unpleasant smell in room. It could be that the previous guests were smokers and smoked in the room, or that maybe the carpet needs to be clean. Other than that, its all very good. The owners are friendly, helpful and try to make you stay as pleasant as possible, the kind of people with whom you become friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Desmond V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Fantastic B&B! I The service was out of the world.
Breakfast was creative and of high quality
Nice big rooms
Beautiful views from rooms
The only thing I would have liked differently: bigger bath towels

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicolaas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had 3 wonderful days at 78thon5th. The weather was not great -- but to be expected in June -- but it did not matter. The place was warm and cozy with 24/7 fireplace, wonderful hosts and beautiful views.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.7 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.2 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
2.8 mi away
The Potting Shed Accommodation
1.9 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 86 in Hermanus
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 78on5th in Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 78on5th in Hermanus

Address: 78 Fifth Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: £48 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 78on5th in Hermanus 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Because 78on5th is owner run it is your home away from home. Situated at the foot of the Musselberg Mountains bordering the Fernkloof Nature Reserve we are walking distance from the world famous Grotto beach with its Blue flag status. This makes us the ideal holiday or overnight destination - especially when visiting during Whale season.Enjoy a luxurious sleep while the mountains echo the calming sounds of the sea before you wake up to a delicious breakfast with a difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your 78on5th in Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing