We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Palce”
Review of Bamboo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bamboo Guest House
Ranked #5 of 86 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Campinas, Brazil
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect Palce”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Very Good location, very good service , very beautiful house , the rooms are super cool , and de owners are very nice end helpful ! Love place to stay.
I think is perfect place to stay at Hermanus ! Return for sure

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leonardo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    46
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
256
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here for 1 night, wish we could have stayed longer.

The B&B is a few minutes drive from central Hermanus (which is a pretty small town). We drove to the B&B with no problem, plenty of parking spots inside. It might be a bit far for guests who doesn't have a car, but since we drove, the distance was never an issue. I know right across the B&B you can get on to the cliff path and walk towards town. It was way too windy when we went, but I am sure it'll be a lovely walk.

The house and the rooms were very nicely decorated, very clean. The hosts were very friendly, gave us some restaurant recommendations and maps.

Breakfast was great, it does take them some time (since there's only 2 of them and 1 kitchen) when everyone decides they want breakfast all around the same time. But we didn't mind the wait for the hot food since we were busy with the cold food available on the counter and watching the morning news.

Overall, a very nice "home away from home" B&B.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oli0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

the owners are very caring. breakfast is great, fresh herbs of the garden!
they recommended a perfect restaurant, called a tuc tuc and even called to find us a hotel for our next destination!
THANK YOU

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Guido B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here for five days in February 2014. The place was spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed, with hosts that could not do enough to make their guests feel at home. Our room was very comfortable and spacious with comprehensive complimentary refreshments. The owners had thought of everything even a small set of scissors to open any fiddly packaging! The bathroom was large, with a wonderful shower and separate bath and plentiful toiletries. Each morning you were treated to a splendid cooked breakfast of your choice, beautifully presented and accompanied by lots of home baking and variety of preserves. The cliff path was only a few moments away so it was possible to walk off breakfast and admire the spectacular seascapes round every twist and bend in the path.
Jimmy and Sue were the most gracious of hosts - I felt that we were staying with friends, rather then in a guest house! This was a chance find, but it turned out to be a total gem and we will return when next we visit Hermanus.

Room Tip: We had the room that overlooked the front of the guest house and it had a partial sea view, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were so pleased to discover Bamboo. It has now become our benchmark for a great B&B. Sue and Jimmy were perfect hosts, always available, they rustled up the best breakfasts we had on our holiday and helped with restaurant bookings, tuk tuks and recommendations. The garden is very beautiful (I took lots of photos hoping to recreate aspects of it in damp Surrey!) and the house itself has been furnished and styled in a very stylish yet practical and comfortable way. Bathroom was high end, as was the bedroom. We had bedroom 2 with two balconies (front and back). Little touches like proper filter coffee, fridge, cereal bars were a real perk and not seen in other places we stayed. Location was great too, we loved the cliff walk along to Grotto Beach. Just beautiful. We will be back. Thanks Sue, Jimmy, Carol and Shaun for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WightGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Each time we have the opportunity to spend a few days in Hermanus, we stay at Bamboo Guest House. Apparently we are not the only one to appreciate this guest house and you have to book in advance.
Florence and Patrick from Paris

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank patrickj017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Very nice place, perfect healthy and varied breakfast, near to center of Hermanus, the golf club and the beach. Free fast wifi, beach towels are available and the Bamboo guest house staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clo869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.9 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
672 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
3.9 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
0.6 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 86 in Hermanus
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Guest House

Property: Bamboo Guest House
Address: 303 Main Road | Eastcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bamboo Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House offers the very finest 4 star graded guest house accommodation situated in central Hermanus. Beautiful sea and mountain views, a step away from the famous Hermanus Cliff Paths, at the entrance to the 27 hole Hermanus Golf Course, moments away from Hermanus town centre and all its activities and surrounded by splendid beaches. The entire guest house has been furnished in hand crafted Bamboo furniture which has been custom designed and purpose made for Bamboo Guest House by the family owned business, Bamboo Living. Floors are Bamboo and towels are 50% Bamboo/Cotton mixed fibre. A beautifully landscaped garden and pool area with a custom built bar will reward you with hours of entertainment and relaxation in the Overberg sun. The flow of the home with its spacious living areas lends itself to carefree comfortable living for a sublime holiday at the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bamboo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing