We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful find”
Review of Bamboo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bamboo Guest House
Ranked #6 of 88 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

What a lovely place to use as a base to explore Hermanus. The room was light, airy and spacious. Jim and Sue were friendly, helpful and great in the kitchen. They booked us restaurant tables, gave us directions to all the places we wanted to go and really went out of their way to make our stay special. The garden and pool are is lovely and the location so convenient. And the espresso toffee from Crumbs bakery in town is the best!

Room Tip: I booked a sea facing room but with houses in the way next time will book a room where I can look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We LOVED this place!!! Wonderfully furnished, very clean, nice garden and mainly: such a sweet and friendly couple running this place - you are the ones making it so special!! Thank you!
We will certainly come back and stay longer :) oh wait, one thing: if you try to escape from Germany: that will be tough, almost only German guests ;)

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We recently stayed at Bamboo Guest Lodge which happens to be literally on the doorstep of the Hermanus golf course. Their website says the tariff includes full english breakfast and is served from 8am, however an earlier breakfast can be arranged with management the evening before. Due to an early golf tee off, we requested breakfast at 7am (not exactly at sunrise). We were informed that we would only be able to have the fruit and muesli breakfast, no full english. What fascinated me was both the host and hostess stood around chatting to us while we ate our breakfast. We (2 couples) were under the impression that they could not get there in time to accommodate the breakfast advertised. No reimbursement or apology was offered for lack of the advertised breakfast. I think that they are just plain lazy!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Meny2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueCarolW, Manager at Bamboo Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

We are so sorry about the obvious misunderstanding with you tee-off time and hope you will return to have our full English breakfast, on us, that you missed out on!
We have not had a lot of golfers here but we cannot think of any instance where players have left here less than 30 minutes before their tee-off time; we understand from the Club that players are required to be on the tee ten minutes before time, that is after registration which can take ten minutes or more, and the Club recommends that players arrive 30 minutes before tee-off. Therefore, because you had told us you had a tee-time well before 8, we can’t remember whether it was 7.45 or 7.50 we expected you to be leaving us at 7.15 – we could not understand why you sat around chatting for all that time when we could quite easily have made cooked breakfast. Perhaps if you had informed us of the time you intended to leave and not your tee time we would have been able to satisfy your requirements.
We live on the premises so there is no question of us not being able to get here in time. Our day starts at 6 am when we usually bake bread ready for breakfast, and as we are concerned for our guests’ safety we never go to bed until the last guests are in so that we can ensure that the house is securely locked; after breakfast we supervise cleaning and get in fresh supplies, we are here to greet guests from 2 in the afternoon and spend lots of time assisting guests with their queries regarding Hermanus and surrounds, often serving drinks for them in the evening – that means our normal working day is from 6 am until around or after 10 pm – not many people have a “normal” working day of eighteen hours – hardly lazy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Bamboo guest house is very nicely located in walking distance from the city centre of Hermanus and walking distance to the local golf course. Rooms are in very good shape and its bamboo dominate interieur is gorgious. we have experienced the host as very fiendly, easy to deal with and very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed here for two weeks in February 2014, what a wonderful guest house, the interior lives up to the website pictures. Our room was upstairs and had a balcony overlooking the back garden and the hills above Hermanus a stunning view and quiet too. Everything you could possibly want in a bedroom en suite was there and it was spotlessly clean. The breakfast what can we say....Sue's baking of scones and pancakes etc , and her delicious fruit salad were something to look forward to each morning, not forgetting of course Jim's cooked breakfast specials!
It is a delightful walk into central Hermanus from here along the coastal path, this in our opinion is a 'must do' the views are stunning....you can always get the tuk tuk back if it's too much for you! Grotto Beach (wide and long) and Voelklip (smaller and cove like) are not too far away, there are also tidal pools along the coastal walk which are wonderful for a decent swim without the waves!
Jim and Sue run a "fantastic ship" so helpful and accommodating to all our needs, nothing is too much trouble, hence we have booked an action replay for February 2015.... no higher a recommendation than that!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geraldtorrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Bamboo is a lovely place with lovely owners. Very friendly atmospere and a luxuruious environment. Great breakfast. Situated 1.5 km from the center on the main road to Gansbaai but this does not cause any inconvenience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Luc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here a couple of nights in September 2012, when we were on a whale spotting holiday. This is a well-run small and stylish family-owned guest house with impeccable service and cleanliness. The breakfast was amazing, and we had the best hot breakfast in our lives. We even learnt a few tips on how to fry eggs perfectly! You are close to the sea, but you won't exactly have sea view from the house. They organised a tuk-tuk taxi for us one night, which the kids loved. Everything is made from bamboo in the house, for instance the towels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedishWoman2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.4 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
1.5 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
1.7 mi away
Lavender Manor Guest Lodge
4.6 mi away
Kennedys Beach Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Guest House

Address: 303 Main Road | Eastcliff, Hermanus, Overstrand 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Overstrand > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: £99 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bamboo Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Guest House offers the very finest 4 star graded guest house accommodation situated in central Hermanus. Beautiful sea and mountain views, a step away from the famous Hermanus Cliff Paths, at the entrance to the 27 hole Hermanus Golf Course, moments away from Hermanus town centre and all its activities and surrounded by splendid beaches. The entire guest house has been furnished in hand crafted Bamboo furniture which has been custom designed and purpose made for Bamboo Guest House by the family owned business, Bamboo Living. Floors are Bamboo and towels are 50% Bamboo/Cotton mixed fibre. A beautifully landscaped garden and pool area with a custom built bar will reward you with hours of entertainment and relaxation in the Overberg sun. The flow of the home with its spacious living areas lends itself to carefree comfortable living for a sublime holiday at the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Bamboo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing