We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience”
Review of Creation Wines

Creation Wines
Ranked #2 of 112 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The road in was under construction but the trip was well worth it. Had the food/wine tasting out on the patio, best wine tasting experience of my life. The food, vine and views along with great service made this a treat!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ken k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
We are so happy that we could make your experience with us a memorable one Ken and hope you'll be back for another visit when back in SA.

Kind Regards
Team Creation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    145
    45
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Creation Winery - A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We took a drive out from Cape Town, heading towards the coastal town of Hermanus. We had no idea what to expect as we drove up a scenic hill, deep in the Hemel en Aarde Valley, but had planned a day of wine tasting, hoping to stop at several places.
Well, the buck stopped here!
The tasting consisted of more than 10 wines, most of which were just delicious, some superb. Most especially the Syrah Granache 2012. If you are a fan of Pinot Noir take a drive out just to experience this exceptional wine, the Creation Reserve Pinot Noir
New wine glasses, designed to compliment a specific wine, were brought out almost each time, ensuring our tasting was the perfect experience.

The service and attention we got from Natasha was top! A charming, friendly, informative and enthusiastic lady with a big love of Pinot Noir! A big thank you!
We had a cheerful hello from Owner and Wine maker, JC and a complimentary food paring from his delightful wife.

We had intended to travel to a few places but really, why leave what was definitely the best stop of the day! So finally at 3.30pm we ordered lunch.
A kitchen that stays open until 4pm on a Sunday! Remarkable.
Lunch was delicious and we had smiles all round.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fioroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
We are so happy that your drive brought you to us and that you decided to stay for lunch! We hope that you will be back again soon.

Kind Regards
Team Creation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Setting new standards”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is a true gem, I have been visiting the Cape for 20 nears and have always championed the great cuisine and fabulous wines. Creation is one of a few contemporary wineries which are rewriting, and setting new standards.

Miss it at your peril. This is a 'Whale' all year round not just during the 'whaling season'!

The views, art works, catering and restaurant team are all focussed on ensuring your experience is one that will be a lasting one for all the very best of reasons.

Thank you

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pineview64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you so much for visiting and for taking the time to post a review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope you'll return soon.

Kind Regards
Team Creation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A stunning restaurant with excellent food,and beautiful views.”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This restaurant is the last vinyard on the wine route when, travelling along Hemel en Aarde Road, from the direction of Hermanus and is undergoing major improvement work which is not due to be finished until September 2014, in many places it is nothing more than a rough track, but do not let it put you off as it nearly did us!
On arrival at the restaurant, which is situated in an absolutely beautiful valley and is surrounded by stunning gardens we were delighted to see numerous sunbirds of drinking nectar from the flowers,we were then welcomed by a staff member called Paula,who on showing us to our table offered us a selection of wines to taste (ten in all) together with canapes. We also ordered a meal to share, consisting of cold meats,cheeses and preserves, which was absolutely delicious. There was no pressure whatsoever to buy any of the wines, though plenty of people were doing so.

The whole experience,stunning position, beautiful day, very helpful staff, the birdlife made it a little corner of paradise for the two hours we spent there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for visiting us on the farm and for taking the time to post a review for us! We greatly appreciate the feedback from all our guests and we hope that you will return again soon.

Warm wishes
Team Creation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Such fun”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Went for the wine pairings - 8 wines with 8 canapés. We noticed people at the next table then ordered a main course but it was enough for us as we needed to leave room for dinner. A beautiful location and very relaxing. The wine is lovely esp the Grenache.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NessandDorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Manager at Creation Wines, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us on the farm and thank you so much for the kind words!

We hope you return for another visit when back in SA.

Kind Regards
Team Creation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Creation Wines also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Creation Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing