We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant experience”
Review of The Cuckoo tree

The Cuckoo tree
Ranked #7 of 113 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Cuckoo Tree was recommended by a friend. Had it not been we would not have come across it. Seating only ablout 30 people, it is an elegant and warm restaurant, run by a mother and her daughters. Lovely ambience, we noticed the others there looked like people "who know their food". An advanatage is you can take your own wine without corkage. Tastefully set tables. I would descibe the menu (dinner) as almost eclectic. Not large, but an emphasis on more unusual dishes, not the run-of-the-mill ones seen so often. We shares a double blue cheese souffle. Beautifully dopne, soft and featherlike and not too overpowering in terms of cheese. We each opted for the crispy duck - two generous portions and while crispy on the outside, the flesh was tender. Served with an orange and Van der Hum liqeur sause (the latter being a South African liqeur). it was served separately so as to prevent the duck becoming soggy. Vegertables just cooked - therefore crispy - without sugar added which is a disgusting South African habit. For dessdert we shared camembaert cigars in a rasberry coulis. Mmm. Afterwards sat out side - beautiful evening - drinking coffee and polishing off the last bit of wine. Were joined by Mum and daughters and ended up chatting for about another hour. I/we eat out a bit and travel a lot so have a pretty good idea of what is good and what is excellent. I would award 5 stars. If asked where my best dining experience was in the last year, I would have no hesitation whatsever nominating The Cuckoo Tree. Their telephone number: From outside South Africa: 00 28 3123430. From within: 028 3123430. They also serve teas, breakfast and lunch. And change the menu every now and then. Peter Francis Lakeside Cape Town South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A very pleasant experience”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The delightful ambience is more then enhanced by the delicious fare and the pleasureable company of the owners and staff. A must on your culinary travels.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    46
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Tucked away this cute little eatery delivers and delivers... We had a superb dinner - crispy duck and oxtail with a sublime lemon meringue to finish!
Hermanus tourism should be paying them a special fee for the great PR they do for the town.
It was winter so we sat inside warm and cozy enjoying laid back music and delicious food - thank you for a super evening.
Barefoot chef and the mom and daughter team will have to have the ultimate cook off for the best duck - an extremely hard choice.
We had a brisk walk back to the B&B I could feel the lemon meringue settling around my hips - it's a hard one to master - the sweet the tart and a perfect crust and topping- unbeatable.
The restaurant is not licensed but they are currently awaiting their liquor license.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet and Mik... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good times!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It was our second visit to this family-run restaurant. During the first visit we enjoyed a hearty breakfast outside in the luscious garden with birds chirping while feeding around us. Pure bliss! This time we enjoyed lunch there. My red cappuccino with a hint of cinnamon and a dash of honey was really yummy. My husband ordered the beef fillet kebabs with chips & salad, which were superb. The off-the-menu homemade chilli sauce that they offered was a perfect blend of green & red chillies. My Thai-style chicken stir fry topped with cashews was totally delicious. Many friends and/or family were having a good time at The Cuckoo Tree. Some regular customers were welcomed as old friends. A homely, friendly and relaxed atmosphere with a personal touch to it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful value, superb hospitality”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We dined here on a Friday evening. The restaurant was FULL so I'm glad that we had made a reservation well in advance. Most of our fellow diners were locals, always a good sign. You have to take your own wine, we did, & the locals had already delivered their supplies earlier in the day!

The menu is short but the food is of the highest quality. The service is extremely friendly & I can highly recommend the Cuckoo Tree, one of our 2 favourite restaurants in Hermanus.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nicmeljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great vibe !!!!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I have to say that this restaurant should be number 1 on TripAdvisor amongst all the restaurants in Hermanus. Best tasting food you will get.

Helpful?
Thank BrigMzansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cuckoo tree also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to The Cuckoo tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing