We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont plan this as a romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandbaai Country House
Ranked #58 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dont plan this as a romantic getaway”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Honestly - a let down. My partner had hunted this guest house down - and planned a very beautiful weekend break - but this guest house was a complete let down.
This guest house has four stars (apparently) however I am considering writing to the tourism industry to request a down grade. We were placed in a VERY musty, dusty little down stairs room - the chairs and furnishings were very old - and very dirty - I did not want to use them. The shower drain was blocked - and when I took a shower - the water didnt drain and rose to around my ankles - then to my horror - the drainage plug filter came off and out came all sorts of dirt up the drain into my shower water (now around my ankles). On top of this - when I can called the previous week to try to change the booking - firstly the woman who answered the phone clearly had a bad line - and therefore did not help me very much (as I guess she did not hear much of what I was saying ) I was then transferred to another woman - who said - 'yes we will change your booking' but they did not think it appropriate to send a booking confirmation. I was then told to wait for 15 minutes while a man was addressing my change of booking - and that he would call me back. He never did - so I returned the call only to be greeted by a VERY rude man on the other end of the phone.
Dont plan this as a romantic getaway.
On the plus side - I saw a whale in the distance.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    22
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
15
30
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We booked one night in early April 2012 at the Sandbaai Country House, while the outside of the building looks great, the rooms are a little tired, with the smallest tv I have ever seen in the bedroom.

Breakfast on the other hand was delicous, and the owners/managers made every effort to make you feel at home.

My biggest issue is that our room was on the ground floor directly next to the parking lot, so privacy was definietly lacking.

Room Tip: Perhaps request a room not located in the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

On route from Cape Town to a safari , we decided to stay overnight in Hermanus and we made a booking online for the Sandbaai. When we arrived. 1) We were disappointed. This b&B isnt really in Hermanus as advertised, but the outskirts, about 10/15 minutes drive away. 2) The room really wasn’t up to 4* standard. Funny smell, old furnishings and quite small. We checked out again the same day after finding an excellent 4/5* hotel in the centre for just £20 more.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank coop82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hermanus hotels

Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I recently stayed at SCL from 2-5 April 2012.I had a lovely big room with a well equipped bathroom and lovely sea-view.It was very reasonably priced and the service was excellent as well as the breakfast.I can recommend this B&B and will go again

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brest, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We have spent on night in this hotel and every people were very very sympathic with us., Wonderful breakfast and fantastic views

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valderrama J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Fantastic views of the sea and great walks, this B&B is in a great position.
Lovely spacious room and bed with soft linen - great night's sleep.
Only things to let it down were that the shower didn't work properly and views from bedroom were not brilliant - but were great from the communal lounge, breakfast was good but could have been cooked slightly better compared to other B&Bs.
Very helpful proprietor showed us where to go and what to do

Room Tip: 1st floor seafacing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
3.7 mi away
Walker Bay Manor
Walker Bay Manor
#33 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.2 mi away
Robin's Nest Guest House
Robin's Nest Guest House
#35 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
3.8 mi away
Robin's Rest
Robin's Rest
#64 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
3.6 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#5 of 87 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.5 mi away
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
#8 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbaai Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbaai Country House

Property: Sandbaai Country House
Address: 205 Piet Retief Crescent | Sandbaai, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandbaai Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandbaai Country House is perfectly situated as a base for exploring the region which is famous for its whales, fynbos, crisp champagne sea air, peace and tranquility and unsurpassed in its natural beauty. Close by are many nature reserves, botanical and wild flower gardens where visitors can walk, hike or stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sandbaai Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing