We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food”

The Class Room Restaurant & Function Venue
Ranked #41 of 113 Restaurants in Hermanus
Price range: US$8 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Class Room Restaurant & Function Venue is run by the Warwick's Chef School and specialises in Weddings, Functions and Conferences. On Sundays, the Restaurant is open for a traditional 3-course Sunday lunch with the menu changing every week. Enjoy relaxed informal dining on the glass enclosed patio and outside garden seating, or experience an abundance of elegance & style in the main dining room. Children are welcome & can enjoy items off the 'little guest' menu. Open on Sundays (for Lunch only), and during the week for function bookings.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb food”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

A fantastic gastronomic experience.
Elegant decor and good service.
We will definitely be visiting soon again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joan-anne26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Mothers cooking”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We had the Sunday lunch menu, which was much like my mother's cooking, enjoyable but nothing fancy.
When I go to a restaurant I want to feel, see and taste the extra effort taken in preparing and serving the dish. I need to see that it was done by a chef and not just my mother. If I want home cooking i'll visit my mother and get browny points at the same time.

The meals had nothing to complain about, but they were just average. The service was actually quite poor. Pricing was very reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MES196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRH6116, Manager at The Class Room Restaurant & Function Venue, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment.
On Sundays we have a set family style lunch availabe, but we always welcome constructive criticism to improve what we offer.
Our apologies if the service was not efficient. We will have a close look into this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top of the class”
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

Lamb shank. Any true South African man would order this without thinking twice. Small but very good and tasty menu. Chef Kevin serving up quality as per usual.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanieCalitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Always Great experiance”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I Do go here more often than the others. Kevin is just so hands on with a meal presented with fine dinning class and taste. A wide selection to choose from and at a price that leaves lots of spare cash in your pocket for a tip to the fantastic staff for looking after you,as if you were there private guest. You will never leave without a WOW that was Excellent!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edwin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch, the way it should be.”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Do yourself a favor, take your loved one, friends and /or family and go to the Class Room for a Sunday lunch. Kick back eat, drink and be merry. The price won’t kill you, the staff is warm and fast, the decor and atmosphere is calm and relaxed. It’s almost like having Sunday lunch at home (but you don’t have to wash the dishes) cannot wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blake A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Class Room Restaurant & Function Venue also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to The Class Room Restaurant & Function Venue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing