We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, outstanding sightings”

Whale Watchers Hermanus
Book In Advance
More Info
US$63.80*
and up
Whale Watching from Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Whale Watchers will take you on a unforgettable Oceanic adventure that will bloW your mind. An exhilarating 2 hr voyage to discover Walkerbay's wonderful wildlife, stunning coastline and our famous Southern Right Whales. The only boat fitted with underwater cameras.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service, outstanding sightings”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Hermanus was buzzing on the day we took our trip (although November is at the end of the whale watching season) , but the many adjustments to street directions and parking have made for a lovely whale watching promenade, along with restaurants and cafes - without a feeling of too many people. Heartening to see so many international visitors enjoying this charming coastal village. Although the addition of some new hotels has somewhat diminished the "sleepiness" of the town - it was great to see the improvement in tourism facilities.
Whale Watchers is the first whale sight seeing outfit as you enter the Hermanus Harbour, and decked out in bright orange is hard to miss.
Our only hiccup was an hours wait due to late arrivals of other guests which was annoying, but from then on things went swimmingly. The boat was large and comfortable with seating booth for each group, the safety instructions clear and professional. The trip to the whales took about twenty minutes and in itself was quite exciting. But the best part of course was the sighting itself. In this case a mother and her two-year old calf. We were astounded how comfortable they were getting close to the boat and it was really a stunning experience. I was impressed that the captain did not insist on disturbing them too much, and we stayed about 15 minutes before giving them some peace. We were lucky enough on this day to also see other whales, not as close, and a playful pod of dolphins. Hermanus, between June and November, is an excellent and fascinating one night gettaway for anyone visiting Cape Town.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SusannahH622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    27
    8
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dordogne France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An experience of a lifetime”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Being late November it was getting late to see whales but we were re-assured that the boat. had not gone out without a successful sighting. They were not wrong. We saw a good number with the added bonus of spotting dolphins. The guide then thought we might do better to go a little further along the coast to deeper water. Never did we expect to see a mother and her baby so close to the boat that you could practically touch them. A totally amazing experience heightened by the enthusiasm and knowledge of the captain and whale watching expert. As the captain commented - it does not get any better than that. Thank you Whale Watchers for a memory that will remain with me forever. The trip far exceeded my expectations.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank benji24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Whale of a time"”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We were booked for the 2pm slot and arrived at the office premises in the harbour where our very hospitable guide (who stayed with us throughout the boat trip) started with sharing info about Hermanus and the details of the activity that we were going to indulge in - he also did an excellent job in getting all of us chatting together, given that we were all from different parts of the world...
The boat ride itself is excellent and fun ... for the beginning in order to get to the spot where we had the most probability to sight the whale(s), we were requested to be seated in the lower deck - soon after, we were guided to the top deck which offered a unique experience of finding our balance with the motion of the boat in the waves !
The moment of spotting the whales ( we had two together ) was breathtaking ... we were able to take in the experience for a good 30 odd minutes before heading back to shore.
The guide ( guy with a thin french beard) and the captain were full of stories about the whales which made this a memorable experience - would love to repeat it !
Priya n Pancham

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pancham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Whale Watching”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Just a few hours drive from Cape Town is this beautiful small town of Hermanus, its a delight when you see the beauty, there are a few eateries nestled in the town centre, as far as staying there are cosy little cottages which one can stay B&B with the best hospitality. But the main reason which adds to the beauty of this place during this time is the Whale watching they come into these waters to mate and give birth. One has to just stand at the water front or go onto the rocks and see the beauty of the Southern grey whales, their calls can be heard distinctly. Though there are tours which take one into the sea I felt the best view was from the rocks. This is one place no one can forget so easily

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank alstondm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Spectacular Attraction”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The experience of the whales at Hermanus bay has to be top of the list of "must do before you die" life experiences. The shriek of the whale crier's horn alerts the public attention to the presence of mothers and calf whales along the sea front prominade.Whales in there abundance, we had approx seventy sightings in a two hour period, can be viewed in deep water within metres from the beach. and to top it off you can have an excellent lunch in the Cave restraunt on the rocks whilst viewing. Beware of excited people, when the whales breach, they hurriedly arise from their table to get a closeup photo and can spill you much needed drink. Woh

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank hsarmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whale Watchers Hermanus also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Whale Watchers Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing