We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful 5 Star Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Penguino Guesthouse
Ranked #19 of 87 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Staying here was a treat! Beautiful room, newly decorated with five star touches...fresh new linen with attractive pillows, elegant décor, well stocked tea tray, quality amenities in the bathroom, great shower and probably the quietest room I have ever stayed in.
Well located...close to the harbour restaurant with great views and sea food....and close to town....good for early morning walks along the cliffs which you need as the breakfast is so good. Cooked by Chef Stefan Otto, my breakfast was a treat, quality ingredients all the way eg Stefan's homemade jams, berry compote with wonderful yoghurt and the coffee was so delicious I just had to buy some on the way home!
Thank you Stefan and Nikki for a wonderful stay. Gail.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is truly paradise on earth. This is by far the best guesthouse I ever stayed.
Myself in the high end hospitality when going any where I am looking for the perfect service with a feel like home, and this is exactly what Penguino is about. You will received the perfect service and Nicki and Stefan (the hosts) can never do enough to make you feel special. The breakfast is also my favourite, Stefan is doing some "special" everyday as well as cooked breakfast and buffet of all sorts. If you are lucky enough to try is French Toast you will come back just for that.
The location is perfect, just next to the sea front and walkable distance of the city center and the market.Stefan and Nicki are also always happy to help, make recommendation for your days and being your personal concierge. I could write a full book about my stay here but I will leave you discover by yourself and get ready for the best experience that you could have in Hermanus.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The guesthouse is very well situated in Hermanus and has nice and cosy decoration.
Breakfast was great - big choice and must try to the berry pancakes!! delicious
the owners are also very friendly and nice
we came with our 2 kids and had a very nice family room with 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms - very big]
we also enjoyed the swimming pool !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ophelia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Perfect!!!!!
Nice place, very clean. Very quiet but only a ten minutes walk to the old harbour on the cliff walk.
Best hosts in South Africa.
Best breakfast we ever had in all our journeys.
THANK YOU
Da könnt Ihr beruhigt hingehen! !!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Regi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We fell in love with Hermanus during our short two night trip and staying at Penguino was the icing on the cake. Stefan and Nikki made us feel so welcome (including their warmth towards our two children, 7 and 11), helping with recommendations for wine stops, restaurants, beaches and shops (!) and as all the other reviewers say breakfast is simply out of this world. Stefan's training in the profession is more than evident... Our accommodation was perfect, a two room family unit, with ample space and we also enjoyed the communal areas and pool. You will not stay at a more welcoming stay and we hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahtrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

A brilliant 2-night stay with fabulous hosts Stefan and Nikki. Super comfortable beds and bedding, everything that you could possibly need and very well maintained. The close proximity of the cliff paths and town centre make this the perfect place to stay. I might not have seen whales (but it was the wrong time of year for them) however did spy a couple of dolphins! Definitely somewhere that I will return to and recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlpineSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed at Penguino for 2 nights not really knowing what to expect. Turned out that Stefan Otto who runs this place is the best host I have met and went out of his way to make sure that I was comfortable. The guesthouse itself is extremely well maintained. For a location perspective it's not on the sea side but a few minutes walk away. If u are planning to stay at Hermanus, you may find a place which has a slightly better location but I doubt you will feel more at home than at Penguino. Great work Stefan!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BinuJacobGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.6 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
979 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#12 of 87 in Hermanus
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#9 of 87 in Hermanus
694 reviews
1.8 mi away
Walker Bay Manor
Walker Bay Manor
#29 of 87 in Hermanus
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguino Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguino Guesthouse

Address: 16 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: £52 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penguino Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penguino guesthouse's 4 rooms are tastefully and individually decorated with high quality finishes, each with en-suite bathrooms. We are a small family run guesthouse we pride ourselves to give warm, friendly personal style of hospitality. As we are just 40 m from the famous cliff paths and a 7 minute walk to the center of town. Stefan and Nikki Otto are looking forward to welcoming you to Penguino... come and breath our Champagne air! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Penguino Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing