We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short stay”
Review of Four Pines Lodge

Four Pines Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Four Pines Lodge
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for short stay”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My wife, young son (6) and I stayed in the self-catering unit towards the end of Winter when it gets very cold at night. Needless to say we didn't make use of the pool!

Pros:
Tina, our host, was very welcoming and helpful.
Quiet and nice location.
Clean room and bedding with toiletaries.
Good warm bed - essential as no heaters and it can get very cold.
Good shower.
Laundry included in the price.

Cons:
A bit dated, 3km from town (though there's not much there) and no oven.

The whale watching was superb which was the whole point of going there and we would recommend Oscars cafe which did pretty good grub at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burgers98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Big clean rooms and excellent breakfast for this Lodge that is located 2 minutes from the Hermanus Golf Club and 3 from city center (old harbour). Tina, the owner, is trying every effort to make your stay as good as possible.

Pool- and recreation area is situated at the front only a brickwall from the "mainstreet", even though it is, it's not that noisy since the street is never busy.

City is of it's own worth a visit, nice restaurants and the old harbour has som nice buildings to stroll about.

great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100000Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Four pines lodge is a bed&breakfast as well as self catering lodge. We stayed in the bed&breakfast. The owners are incredibly friendly&helpful. The rooms are spacious & bed is king sized and very comfortable. The breakfast is awesome! Almost hotel buffet style with cereal, fruits & cheeses available, and a full english breakfast as well. All in all a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urvi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2012

pros:
quiet and nice location. 5 minutes walk to a cliff where we viewed whales.
clean room and beddings. with necessary toiletaries.
super good shower water pressure.
excellent breakfast. sweet bedtime nougats.
friendly host. thank you, Tina!
cons:
not as modernly decorated as you would expect from a 4 star lodge.

Room Tip: family room is large enough for 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenatcapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
1.7 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
1.7 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
531 reviews
2.0 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
906 reviews
2.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.3 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Pines Lodge

Property: Four Pines Lodge
Address: 358 Main Road | PO Box 401, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Pines Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Four Pines Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing