We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unaccommodating”
Review of Lizette's Kitchen

Lizette's Kitchen
Ranked #17 of 114 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$50
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Lizettes a stylish Bar Restaurant set in an iconic and historic property in Voelklip, Hermanus. Lizette’s is a restaurant with a unique twist, dishes are hand crafted, using the freshest of produce. Lizette’s offers an eclectic variety of fare designed with you in mind. Whether you are a weary traveller, holiday maker or loyal local, you will love our range of world class local wines from the Hemel en Aarde valley and beyond. Couple this with awesome craft beers and Gins from all over the Western Cape - and you know your off to a great start. Complement that with ever-changing food influences and trends from all over the world and you will discover a fusion of flavours and cultures that truly represent this little piece of heaven on earth we call Voelklip.
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Overall, the atmosphere and coffee was nice. However, the staff were very unaccommodating regarding modifications to items on the menu. My girlfriend doesn't eat bacon, and wanted to swap hers for an extra egg. The waiter informed us that the kitchen staff would not change any part of any dish on the menu, as it caused confusion - even though the place was quiet. As this was the only breakfast with eggs in it, she had to do with half a plate of food. This attitude of "take it or leave it" is not befitting of the service industry. We won't be back.

1  Thank jediant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIzettes-KItchen, Manager at Lizette's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewers and followers.

In response to the below par reviews we have received recently we have the following response to help clarify the situation. Over the festive period 12th December to 7th January we were inundated with bookings and walk in requests with over 400 customers per day Lizettes was pumping and the place to be. With a Great summer vibe we had to unfortunately turn people away who had not pre-booked. Signs were in place asking people to be patient and wait to be seated. Often these requests were ignored and bottle necks occurred. With the majority of customers happy over 10,000 having several negative is understandable. Lizette was in the kitchen for up-to 18 hours a day manning the engine room and getting those hungry customer fed. We'd like thank everybody for understanding and for those who were disappointed we can only apologize. The staff and team did an amazing job and we'll be resuming normal service from the 7th of January onwards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 302 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

They have almost no competition on this side of Hermanus and we were so excited to have another option. We gave it 3 chances, all 3 were really bad, the ideas around the food are great but the execution oily,slap dash and below average. Give it a miss no need for any FOMO.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mick2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIzettes-KItchen, Owner at Lizette's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewers and followers.

In response to the below par reviews we have received recently we have the following response to help clarify the situation. Over the festive period 12th December to 7th January we were inundated with bookings and walk in requests with over 400 customers per day Lizettes was pumping and the place to be. With a Great summer vibe we had to unfortunately turn people away who had not pre-booked. Signs were in place asking people to be patient and wait to be seated. Often these requests were ignored and bottle necks occurred. With the majority of customers happy over 10,000 having several negative is understandable. Lizette was in the kitchen for up-to 18 hours a day manning the engine room and getting those hungry customer fed. We'd like thank everybody for understanding and for those who were disappointed we can only apologize. The staff and team did an amazing job and we'll be resuming normal service from the 7th of January onwards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Great setting and ambiance, terrible service and very average food. We are regulars in Hermanus and really have tried to like Lizette's but they just don't seem to get it right. We went to breakfast recently and were greeted by a menu that specifies absolutely no changes to the menu..... This for me is a complete non starter especially when the menu is pretty average. Anyway, ordered the breakfast, after waiting some time for it to arrive, a very ordinary plate of food arrived, something that looked more at home at a low end fast food establishment. Tried ordering more coffee and never managed to receive any. The restaurant was not busy, so no excuses for bad service. Probably won't try it again, it's one of those places that the potential never seems to materialize.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIzettes-KItchen, Owner at Lizette's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Kim R Thank you for your comments and feedback. Unfortunately we don't specialize as a breakfast venue and never have. We offer a limited breakfast from 9.00am to 11.00am whilst we prepare for the lunch and Evening sittings which see's us close around 11.00pm. This year we have seen unprecedented numbers of people coming through the doors with many days having to unfortunately turn people away due to high demand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The menu is limited with option of farmhouse, muesli,cheese and bread or muffin. They only had four muffins ! 2 poppyseed, 1capaccino and 1 berry. The muffin order took an hour and came long after the farmhouse breakfast.We enquired four times. The farmhouse came with half a roll - not toast as stated on the menu. And to top it all I was given plastic cutlery. The service was slow and it was as if you ignored.The coffee is the house special - its ok however if u like strong coffee then give it a skip. The toilets were dirty, no handwash and no towels.

    • Value
Thank CJvdV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

AVOID THIS PLACE

Stopped off for lunch with family. Had wanted to try since it opened.

Daughter and I paid R69 each for a pastrami Sarmie on French bread. Sandwich was 5in long with some ingredients missing. Had I appreciated the price I would've returned it.

Asked for manager. Bloke came past. Asked him if he was manager. "Sort of". "Can I see manager, please ?" "I'm the owner" ..... Wasn't that interested, as we had eaten the evidence.

All in all, very disappointing.

2  Thank dbobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIzettes-KItchen, Owner at Lizette's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

There's not much I can say about this review apart from all our bread rolls come as a standard 9 inch. Unfortunately if 9 inch is not big enough then maybe you need to go to Subway for the full 12 inch foot long sub. I'm sorry you feel like we robbed you. As for the missing cheese and pastrami unfortunately we couldn't verify this as you had already devoured the said offending Sandwich.
On the flip side you have been the only customer to complain about price which suggests you may be better off dining at Spur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lizette's Kitchen also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Lizette's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing