We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rugby,not romance”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lizette's Kitchen

Lizette's Kitchen
Ranked #21 of 109 Restaurants in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$50
Cuisines: Asian, Contemporary, Gastropub, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Lizettes a stylish Bar Restaurant set in an iconic and historic property in Voelklip, Hermanus. Lizette’s is a restaurant with a unique twist, dishes are hand crafted, using the freshest of produce. Lizette’s offers an eclectic variety of fare designed with you in mind. Whether you are a weary traveller, holiday maker or loyal local, you will love our range of world class local wines from the Hemel en Aarde valley and beyond. Couple this with awesome craft beers and Gins from all over the Western Cape - and you know your off to a great start. Complement that with ever-changing food influences and trends from all over the world and you will discover a fusion of flavours and cultures that truly represent this little piece of heaven on earth we call Voelklip.
Valkenswaard
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Rugby,not romance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Had planned a romantic evening out ,but found ourselves in a sportsbar/restaurant which became increasingly louder by the minute when 'the game'was on. Sitting outside was no option because of the temperature .
Food was good .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans9856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIzettes-KItchen, Owner at Lizette's Kitchen, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Sorry Hanns.. Looked like we dropped the ball. On Busy Rugby nights (Especially over a long weekend) we now utilize the family room for the Rugby fans. We had indeed partitioned the restaurant allowing non Rugby fans the opportunity to dine in peace and dare I say a little more romantic atmosphere. The Property is split into four areas Lounge, Dining, family room and Sunroom as well as an extensive outside seating area. Unfortunately you choose an area which became more crowded as the game started. We were advising customers upon arrival and bookings were notified in advance. If we had known or being alerted we would of made a plan for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    114
    35
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A tasty late lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Although we have visited Hermanus many times from the UK and stay just around the corner from Lizette's, this was our first visit to the restaurant and we were not disappointed. A very tasty meal (mussels, Thai red beef curry, pork belly), varied menu, good portions and efficient service. This is a welcome addition to Voelklip and we'll be back on a future trip.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SmartN01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The North
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This place is great, just out of town. Food was fantastic, very varied menu. Staff were very pleasant. Thank you for a lovely evening.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank cazparsnips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Fusion Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Lizette's was recommended to us while my wife and I spent a few days in Hermanus recently and what a good choice it was. Situated slightly out of the town centre, here you will find excellent Vietnamese influenced food, full of flavour and freshness, the dim sum was superb as was the red curry noodle bowl. Highly recommended and something different in Hermanus to try

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank chrisgk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting but variable food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Lovely restaurant but the food can be variable and i'ts difficult to communicate with the chef, not on floor, even after complaint. Setting and interior great, as is outdoor seating.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindakot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lizette's Kitchen also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Lizette's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing