We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not be better!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marine Hermanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Could not be better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We really could not find any fault with this fanastic hotel. On arrival we were greeted by name. The check in process was seamless and very welcoming. We were speechless when shown our room which overlooked the bay and the (almost) ever present whales(at this time of year.) This was a wish come true! The room was immaculate,very comfortable and extremely well appointed.The staff in every area of the hotel were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble from mending a broken strap on a handbag to the loan of an iron and ironing board.We enjoyed the breakfast and the dinners spent in each of the first class restaurants which we would highly recommend. The hotel is ideally positioned for exploring Hermanus and to observe the whales. We particularly enjoyed talking with the staff and especially our morning chats with the manager. On the day of our departure we were able to retain the use of our room beyond the normal check out time. This was much appreciated and not requested by ourselves. When asked on the hotel survey..how could the hotel be improved,I replied "leave things as they are." We genuinely could not find fault. In conclusion we would have absolutely no hesitation in returning to The Marine. Thank you to all the staff for making our four night stay so memorable.

Room Tip: If possible book a sea facing room....the views and the opportunity to see whales from the comfort o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belongaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Dear Guest

Hermanus has something special that draws you back everytime and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Marine when it does.

Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    134
    58
    20
    11
See reviews for
115
407
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Excellent customer service. Definitely the hotel is very posh and excelent staff that went the extra mile to make sure our anniversary was a memorble one. Exceeded our expectations.Seaside room were able to see Whales in te comfort of our roo. Suprises and more supprises from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovelybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

I stayed in this property as a part of my SA holidays, in fact I started my vacation with Hermanus. It is just on the shore line, pleasant atmosphere, located in center of the city, heated floors and high ceilings. The hotel staff is very good & helpful from check-in until check-out. We are family of four, booked two rooms with them for two nights and we were treated as if someone special to them.

Very good breakfast in the morning, watching whales from the restaurant is an unforgettable moments. The day we were checking out the weather was clear to go for whale watching boat trip at 9am and return by 1 pm, the hotel manager immediately said to go ahead for trip and allowed to keep the luggage in our rooms, suggested to have shower and then leave the property, which I felt overwhelming.

I would definitely stay in this property, whenever I visit Hermanus in future.

Room Tip: Try to get the sea view to get the best and you will never regret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear guest

You are perfectly right. Watching whales in the bay while eating a sumptuous breakfast is one of the best experiences one can have. I`m delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night during our honeymoon. They treated us royally. They upgrade us for our honeymoon and gave us a corner suite overlooking the ocean. The room was the best on our two week trip to S. Africa. My wife would have been happy to stay here for several days.

The seafood restaurant was great. My wife asked for a recipe of the dessert, and by the end of the meal, the waiter brought an envelope with it to the table. The breakfast was also excellent and served in an airy room with a beautiful view.

The staff was excellent, attentive and helpful. They went out of their way to inquire and advise on were to go and the benefits of going by one route or another.

The service was remarkable, when I woke up in the morning, I looked out the window and saw that my car was being washed. The attention to detail was great.

By far, the best hotel choice I made during our trip thanks to the great staff. A bit pricey, but well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DFlyFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear Guest

I am delighted that you enjoyed a part of your Honemoon with us The Marine and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

The Southern Right Whales are visit our shores between July and December so try and plan a follow up visit during this time as it is an unforgettable experience.

Kind Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Were referred to this hotel from sister hotel and we were not disappointed. Roomy, comforatable and cfean and in a great location.

Room Tip: Doing the Garden Route start of end by going via this location and do the Whale Route
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morswazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear Guest

I am delighted that you experienced more than one of our properties and that your stay was a memorable one.
I totally agree with your tip about the whale route but try to travel between July and December so that these magnificent creatures can be viewed along the way.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

Big thanks to the Marine hotel team for all the effort they went to in order the make our engagement special. They sure know how to make people feel right at home. Harmish the resident manager runs a lovely charming hotel and staff members such as Prudence are clearly hand chosen for their welcoming smile and honest enthusiasm.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_van_Niekerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 8 June 2011
Dear guest

Thank you for your comments about the Marine Hotel in Hermanus.We strive for service excellence on a constant basis and aim to provide an experience of a life time.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel during our tour of the Garden Route, and the management was very helpful and accommodating. The general manager took us to an upgraded suite facing the water, took us on a tour of the hotel, and generally made us feel very welcome and important.

The breakfast restaurant was beautiful and the selection of food was vast. The service throughout was absolutely impeccable.

They'll even wash your car in the morning for free (this is because it's so close to the ocean and the spray can build up by the next day).

The only setback would be the cost, but besides that highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RXuanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 8 June 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at The Marine Hotel in Hermanus.
It was a pleasure to meet you and I am delighted that you enjoyed our little slice of heaven.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.1 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
3.0 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Property: The Marine Hermanus
Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing