We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel and restaurant in Hermanus!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My husband and I booked into The Marine in Hermanus, for our wedding anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised upon arrival, to find out that we had been upgraded to a suite at the hotel as it was our anniversary!

We were also very impressed by the efficiency of the reception desk, the waiters and chefs at the restaurant. They catered for our special dietary requirements by making a custom menu just for us. The food itself was also very delicious and just perfect! We were also impressed by the helpful travel desk consultant at the hotel. She was very efficient and made every effort to book the best activities for us.

The resident spa at the hotel is also excellent. We had a romantic couples massage at the spa, which was excellent.

We would highly recommend a stay at the Marine when you are in Hermanus.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edandash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

Dear Guests

I am delighted that you enjoyed all the aspects of The Marine Hotel on your anniversary. I hope to welcome you back again next year over the same time for more unforgettable memories.

Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

Myself and my partner checked-in for a Stay-cation to see the whales. We often stay at Relais & Chateaux hotels as they are typically value for money and luxurious in a very understated way.

This time we were wholly disappointed. They just didn't exceed our expectations. though they tried.

They made us feel awkward as said they upgraded us to a suite. But we booked a suite.

Room service was quick but lacking in quality and zeal. Our breakfast was bland and the club sandwich ordered tasted very ordinary and not lavish as one would expect with a club sandwich. It was like your gran used to serve when you were children: rudimentary and suffice.

Also when they delivered room service they never brought or offered condiments such as tomato sauce.

The rooms were very old school and the TV small and far away from the bed.

The rooms' bathrooms were also in dire need of renovation.

They also never issue you your morning newspaper.

The good thing they could make was a gorgeous cosmopolitan!
Delicious.

The SeaFood restaurant was also bland except the Richman's Fish and Chips.

And lastly the abundantly used fleur de lil motif of Relais & Chateux is massively overused throughout the hotel like no other establishment who also made the grade.

I hate complaining but the hotel is not cheap. Great location. It could do so much better with the little things!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

Dear guest
I am dissapointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us at The Marine Hotel. The standards that we set for ourselves are stringently high.

I do however hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your vacation and look forward to welcoming you back. I am positive that your experience will be greatly enhanced.

Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Wonderful place. Amazing sea food restaurant. A bit too cold during this month and unpredictable weather for the region. But the service was very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilarcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear Guest
Our Winter was definitely later this year than the norm but great sightings of the Southern Right whales made up for the cold. I am delighted you enjoyed dining in our Seafood Restaurant and look forward to welcoming you back to The Marine in the near future.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We really could not find any fault with this fanastic hotel. On arrival we were greeted by name. The check in process was seamless and very welcoming. We were speechless when shown our room which overlooked the bay and the (almost) ever present whales(at this time of year.) This was a wish come true! The room was immaculate,very comfortable and extremely well appointed.The staff in every area of the hotel were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble from mending a broken strap on a handbag to the loan of an iron and ironing board.We enjoyed the breakfast and the dinners spent in each of the first class restaurants which we would highly recommend. The hotel is ideally positioned for exploring Hermanus and to observe the whales. We particularly enjoyed talking with the staff and especially our morning chats with the manager. On the day of our departure we were able to retain the use of our room beyond the normal check out time. This was much appreciated and not requested by ourselves. When asked on the hotel survey..how could the hotel be improved,I replied "leave things as they are." We genuinely could not find fault. In conclusion we would have absolutely no hesitation in returning to The Marine. Thank you to all the staff for making our four night stay so memorable.

Room Tip: If possible book a sea facing room....the views and the opportunity to see whales from the comfort o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belongaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Dear Guest

Hermanus has something special that draws you back everytime and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Marine when it does.

Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Excellent customer service. Definitely the hotel is very posh and excelent staff that went the extra mile to make sure our anniversary was a memorble one. Exceeded our expectations.Seaside room were able to see Whales in te comfort of our roo. Suprises and more supprises from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovelybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I stayed in this property as a part of my SA holidays, in fact I started my vacation with Hermanus. It is just on the shore line, pleasant atmosphere, located in center of the city, heated floors and high ceilings. The hotel staff is very good & helpful from check-in until check-out. We are family of four, booked two rooms with them for two nights and we were treated as if someone special to them.

Very good breakfast in the morning, watching whales from the restaurant is an unforgettable moments. The day we were checking out the weather was clear to go for whale watching boat trip at 9am and return by 1 pm, the hotel manager immediately said to go ahead for trip and allowed to keep the luggage in our rooms, suggested to have shower and then leave the property, which I felt overwhelming.

I would definitely stay in this property, whenever I visit Hermanus in future.

Room Tip: Try to get the sea view to get the best and you will never regret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Satish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear guest

You are perfectly right. Watching whales in the bay while eating a sumptuous breakfast is one of the best experiences one can have. I`m delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night during our honeymoon. They treated us royally. They upgrade us for our honeymoon and gave us a corner suite overlooking the ocean. The room was the best on our two week trip to S. Africa. My wife would have been happy to stay here for several days.

The seafood restaurant was great. My wife asked for a recipe of the dessert, and by the end of the meal, the waiter brought an envelope with it to the table. The breakfast was also excellent and served in an airy room with a beautiful view.

The staff was excellent, attentive and helpful. They went out of their way to inquire and advise on were to go and the benefits of going by one route or another.

The service was remarkable, when I woke up in the morning, I looked out the window and saw that my car was being washed. The attention to detail was great.

By far, the best hotel choice I made during our trip thanks to the great staff. A bit pricey, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DFlyFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Dear Guest

I am delighted that you enjoyed a part of your Honemoon with us The Marine and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

The Southern Right Whales are visit our shores between July and December so try and plan a follow up visit during this time as it is an unforgettable experience.

Kind Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
1,015 reviews
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.1 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus, Overstrand 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Overstrand > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: £213 - £613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing