We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It doesn't get much better than this”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It doesn't get much better than this”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times, we think about seven or eight, and have just booked again for February 2013. Every member of staff from manager to gatekeeper has the guests best interests at heart and by some miracle, not only always remember your name, but what you did yesterday and remember to ask you about it. It is also very refreshing to be greeted by the same staff every year.

There is nothing at The Marine not to like and we can't imagine being elsewhere for a week or more in February.

We have always taken a seaview room to enjoy the spectacular view across Walker Bay to the mountains which is at it's most stunning in the early morning.

The breakfasts are superb, their French Toast must be the best in the world but my husband would argue for Eggs Benedict, the Seafood Restaurant's 'Poor Man's Fish and Chips' is a great favourite and we have enjoyed delicious steak in the Pavillion.

It doesn't get much better than this and although I could almost write a book about this hotel, I'll just say reader, go there. You'll leave humming a tune - probably from Cheers....where everybody knows your name!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
It truly doesn`t get much better than spending time in Hermanus!!
We love welcoming back "old friends" to The Marine. Afterall... it is that Home away from Home!
Look forward to seeing you again in 2013
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    137
    59
    20
    11
See reviews for
118
419
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We just returned from spending Easter weekend at this fantastic hotel. I simply can't fault the level of service, food, location, room quality etc. etc. etc. We had our 2-year old son with us and the staff doted on him all the way through, including special little treats on his pillow at nightime. We were also welcomed with a bottle of wine and a personal handwritten note from Hamish, the hotel manager.

The team here achieved the perfect balance between 5 Star luxury with a homely feel and the location is absolutely perfect - after parking our car in the very secure parking area, we didn't have to drive anywhere except when visiting the nearby winefarms - the main restaurants of Hermanus are a 2 minute leisurely stroll away. The view is also breathtaking - there is nothing between the hotel and the ocean. The Spa is amazing - i went back twice! If you are still considering your options, look no further - only problem is that you would not want to leave :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
What a delight it was to have you stay with us here at The Marine. Your son very quickly became a favourite of all the staff with his winning smile and personality.
Thank you for all of the kind comments. Our staff are what makes this wonderful hotel a complete destination.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hermanus, maybe during our whale season between August and November.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

A small boutique hotel on the shores of the Eastern Cape, Hermanus. what a great place for a quite weekend.
The restaurant at the hotel is a must excellent sea food.
The Spa also had very well trained personal
Hotel is a touch pricey but very spacious rooms and excellent staff made our stay very enjoyable. Will definitely return

Room Tip: We had a great suit with a balcony over looking the sea. It got really cold during the weekend and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for visiting us all the way from Johannesburg. Hermanus is indeed a beautiful town in the Western Cape Overberg with numerous activities to keep you busy over a weekend.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I had a one-night stay in this hotel as part of a self-drive holiday along the Garden Route, and am kicking myself that I didn't stay longer in this beautiful hotel. Each of the rooms is decorated differently, and whilst the blue delft curtains in my room didn't gel with me, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom practical with quality toiletries. The public areas are beautiful - the breakfast room in particular is stunning.

The staff were also outstanding - I had arrived later than I intended and they were anxious the next morning that I didn't rush off and miss out on enjoying the hotel!

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parischris2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for the kind praise. We all look forward to your return where you will be able to experience The Marine and Hermanus itself in it`s entirety.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a fantastic holiday in South Africa, where we visted Jo'burg, Pretoria, Cape Town, Crags (near Plettenberg Bay), Fransshoek and Hermanus. In Hermanus we returned to The Marine, a delightful hotel that overlooks Walker Bay. I must confess stayed here in 2009 and we wanted to return.

On parking the car we were greeted with blue ski's and a perfect view of Walker Bay. On check in we were met by a wonderfully polite receptionist and check in was smooth. We were shown to our room (236) which was bright and beautifully decorated in blue and white. Shortly after being shown to the room we received a knock on the door and were provided with a lovely little token of sweets and cakes welcoming us back to The Marine. After a brief use of the facilities we went for a walk to remind ourselves of the beautiful small town. After a drink in a local bar and listening to a traditional band we returned to the hotel.

That evening we dined in the one of the hotels two restaurants called Seafood, which has a relaxed and yet elegant feel to it. For starters Beccy chose the Mussels, followed by the line fish of the day, which was Kingclip. I chose the Ravioli of Prawns, Leek and Chilli, followed by Bunny Chow, a meal of curried fish cooked in a huge bread roll. The meal was tasty and superbly cooked. Puddings, Beccy went for chocolate mousse and I went for the summer berry tart which end the meal beautifully.

The quality of the meal was equally supported by a decent wine list, we chose a Sauvignon Blanc from Benguela, a local vineyard.

Our second day was hot and we wanted to spend it in a relaxed manner following having travelled down from Pretoria the previous day, so we decided to spend it by the small pool, which is surrounded by landscaped gardens, we had a great day.

The evening the wind rose and the rain started so we decided to eat in the other restaurant called The Pavilion. The Pavilion is stunningly decorated and is the hotels fine dining restaurant. Again were treated to a fantastic meal. We had had a late lunch in town so skipped starters and went to mains. Beccy chose the Walker Bay Seafood Bouillabaisse and I chose oven roasted Springbok. Both dishes were packed with flavour and texture. Pudding for Beccy was Hibiscus and Chocolate Mousse, whereas I went for the Pineapple Tarte Tatin. Again both were delicious.

We stayed for 3 nights, the breakfasts were of high quality, the bar service was great whether we just has a coffee or something stronger, and again we were impressed by the level of service, the staff are genuinely interested in you, have an opinion on things and want you to have a great time. The resident manager Hamish, ensures he has regular contact with his guests and is very visible at breakfast time and throughout the day.

I have written on here before, hotels are only made (or broke) by the service of its staff and at The Marine the staff are all very professional and friendly, I really can't praise them enough.

So if you are in South Africa, looking for a really good stay, in a really good hotel, where you will be fed and watered really well, in a very pretty town, head to The Marine in Hermanus. You wont be disappointed, and we will definitely be returning again!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a decent view, the sea view rooms have a great view of Walker Bay, our room overlooke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neill1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Neil and Beccy
Thank you for the gracious comments.
What a pleasure it was to have you with us again and we can`t wait for your return.
Try and incorporate within your next itinerary a whale watching trip here in Hermanus. It will mean that you might have to visit us between the months of August and November though but well worth the trip.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed at The Marine, Hermanus, for 2 nights last Easter holidays and it was abit of a respite from endless staying with relatives. Sadly the weather was shocking when we were there but to be honest, after a freezing, rain soaked, windy walk on the beach, there is not a hotel in South Africa where I would have rather been. We had a gorgeous full afternoon tea, put the heating on and warmed up in the bath - a very nice bathroom. The rooms are utterly charming - it helped that the hotel was quiet so we probably got a really good one. But I think they all have a really lovely feel to them. Sparkling clean too.

The hotel's smart restaurant is sadly soul-less with strange 80's outdated decor. A shame because the rest of the place is so lovely. Food was good though. Also, the staff throughout the hotel were really cheerful and helpful.

If we ever go back to Hermanus (hopefully when its sunny & there are some whales around!) we will definitely stay there again. We did get to see dolphins playing in the waves which was fun, I imagine the whole place would be transformed in the sun (it felt abit like Wales in the rain - excuse the pun!!).
All in all, I would heartily recommend. Misty waves, btw, looked really chain-y when we drove past. Phew - a lucky escape!

Room Tip: Can't remember sadly - I expect the ocean view rooms are best for obvious reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VABW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
It was a pleasure having you with us last year. I hope we see you again in 2012 during our famous whale season between the months of August and November. Watching these denizens of the deep from the privacy of your own room is an experience of a lifetime... and an everyday occurrence at The Marine during the season.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

we stayed here on Xmas eve en-route to port Elizabeth, and what a gem we stayed in one of the largest rooms with a view of the bay and it was stunning.we had the set Xmas eve menu in the restaurant and it was delicious and very reasonable .
would we stay again in a flash, staff were all lovely,and could not do enough for us.
The only downside all the whales had left,maybe we will get to stay again in November.

Room Tip: ask for a sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehaywoods81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
It was great to have you here and I am delighted that we were able to accommodate you.
Please visit again. We`ll be here with open arms and warm smiles.
Remember, peak whale season in Hermanus is September / October so try and plan your trip for then.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.1 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Property: The Marine Hermanus
Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing