We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand old lady.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A grand old lady.”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Liz Mcgrath at her best with signature hotels. Beautiful decor and ambience. Rooms very comfortable with a wonderful view.
But needs a bit of updating- having to crawl around on the floor to find an electrical outlet to plug in mobile phones and all the electronic gadgets many travellers now have is not elegant.But that is a small gripe for such a wonderful old gracious place.

Room Tip: Sea Facing is great. But make sure the windows do not rattle in the wind!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
The Marine Hotel truly is Liz McGrath at her best and it was wonderful having you stay with us.
I must apologise you had to search for a plug. We have built-in international adapters in every room to accommodate all needs from all around the world situated at table height next to the dressing table.
When you return again, we will be sure to point this out to you.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Marine.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    138
    60
    20
    11
See reviews for
119
424
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed 1 night at the Marine Hotel and we had a wonderful experience. Grat position in frony of the sea, fantastic clean big and warm rooms, the staff was really helpful and the restaurant was good good good. We will return again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piergi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, made all the better with a great meal in one of our restuarants.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

As this was our third trip to The Marine this review is definitely long overdue. We are used to staying in top class hotels across the world and The Marine certainly desrves its 5 star status. Every member of staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and relaxed. They all give you their time and attention and we felt at home from the moment we drove through the gates.

The Management set a high standard and the staff appear to genuinely care about their guests. Our room was wonderful, overlooking the bay, although we were a little early to see many whales. Normally we never dine in hotels preferring to venture further and seek out some local hostelries. However, we did have dinner in the seafood restaurant and it was amazing- my husband thinks it was the best we had on our whole trip to South Africa.

Thanks to all the staff at the Marine - we hope to see you again next year.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hill2p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
What a treat it was to have you stay with us once more and to know that you enjoyed it so much.
The whales are out in full force now and we`re looking forward to a great season.
We can`t wait for your return where you will be able to sample some new additions to our menu.
Until your next visit.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The Marine reminds me of a Rolls Royce. Stately, elegant, comfortable and impossible to ignore. Yes, there are faster, more powerful and technologically more refined motor cars on the market but none of them as satisfying and accommodating as the Rolls, even an old one. You can't refuse the emotional ambiance the Marine bestows upon you. The Marine makes you feel special, relaxed and like a king. Every five star hotel has all the bells and whistles that accompanies it's status, but The Marine is so much more. It is the perfect place to relax, read, eat, watch the whales swimming by, or to do....nothing! A guest not totally happy with his or her stay at the Marine has a deep seated unhappiness problem and is most probably an accomplished complainer anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: sea-facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us here at The Marine. It truly is the epitome of rest and relaxation.
We loved having you stay with us and look forward to your return with anticipation.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We didn't travel 10,000 km to be put in a room with a view of the car park and a soundtrack from a passing motorway. Strangely, having gone all that way to see some whales we were looking for views and peace. I did not sleep a wink the first night. Our room was a vintage peach floral horror with dirty old sealant holding the baths and showers together. Not good enough for the charges at this hotel. We were moved and our 2nd night was spent in a room at the front of the hotel with amazing views of the sea and whales. Do not go to this hotel unless you book an ocean view. It is overpriced in my view, but what a view you are paying for. Once you have that firmly in mind you are then free to enjoy what has to be one of the most superior whale watching experiences in the world. Excellent breakfast topped off with 4 massive Southern Right Whales sunbathing before us. Perfect. We would thoroughly recommend booking Dave, through the hotel, who will take you on a whale walk. Very special. Lovely man who has made the whales his life. Inspiring and a trip of a lifetime. We also went out on a boat and saw more whales than we could have ever imagined it possible to see on a 2 hour trip. Easy drive to and from Cape Town. The hotel restaurant is a bit formal so we went into town and loved the Burgundy restaurant sitting outside watching the whales go by.

Room Tip: Only book a room at the front of this hotel. There is no point going otherwise unless car-parks, con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skoolrunmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for your comments.
We are currently doing some well deserved improvements in a few of our rooms and would love to show these to you when you visit us again in the near future.
I am delighted that we managed to find you a suitable room for the remainder of your stay however and that you made good use of some of the excellent venues and activities we have to offer in our magnificent town. The whales were indeed very active and we look forward to an exciting few months ahead with them in the bay.

Kind Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldwide
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Stayed at The Marine Hotel for three nights. The service is impeccable from the warm and professional welcome until we left the hotel. One staff member was very attentive and always smiling whenever we saw him, which is Sam and works pretty much everywhere. The Marine Hotel is a small boutique hotel, it is an old building and you expect some issue due to the age, however it is well maintained and looked after. The room we stayed in was very well designed , the bedroom higher and apart located from the living room, two TV sets, a walk in dresser and a pretty large bathroom. The interior and colors felt very cozy and warm. And of course the highlight is the view - wright in front of the ocean - you can spot whales from your window. A great place to stay! Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Sam is indeed a treasured member of staff as is everyone that works for The Marine. It is wonderful to hear how our staff made a difference to your stay.
Didn`t you just love the port hole window with the sea view from the bedroom? A lovely room for sure.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My husband and I recently spent a long weekend at The Marine and our only complaint was that we did not stay long enough! From beginning to end the staff were gracious and went out of their way to be helpful, without being intrusive. Our sea-facing room was beautifully appointed and had a lovely view. We even managed to see some whales from the hotel, even though we were out of season! The dinners in both their restaurants were impeccable and I would highly recommend a cocktail in the Sun Lounge. The hotel is perfectly positioned for long strolls along the cliff paths or for a quick potter around the town, but luxurious enough to stay indoors all day if it rains. We can't wait to return for a longer stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merryn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay with us. Indeed, the whales were seen much earlier this year and they continue to grow in number. I am sure we are in for an absolute treat for the next few months.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.1 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
907 reviews
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Property: The Marine Hermanus
Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing