We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I had my daughter with me, and we ordered the High tea for two, in the lounge. The service was fast and friendly on a rather busy saturday morning.
Can highly recommend this lite mid morning snack.
Good selection of sweet and savoury.
Will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeirdreLoxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for your positive comments.
High Tea is an important part of who we are and our pastry chef takes great pleasure in making it a little of work of art.
Please join us again soon
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed at the Marine for 2 nights in March on route from cape town to port elizabeth.

The hotel is situated at the end of the main coast road, less than a 2 minute walk into town.

All the rooms look out to sea. Our room was situated on the 1st floor and had a huge lounge with a large window and gigantic bathroom. None of the rooms have a balcony but the rooms on the ground floor have a small patio area with table and chairs.

There are 2 restaurants and a beautiful bar (with lots of oversize couches) which overlooks the sea. We had dinner on the night we arrived in the seafood restaurant, there was lots of dishes to choose from and food was delicious. From check in to check out the service was faultless. They even washed our car just before we left which was a lovely touch.

After a long hike along the cliff walk to grotto beach (not be missed) and back the pool and comfy sun loungers were a welcome treat.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, if you are looking for a relaxing luxurious treat we would recommend it and can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: All the rooms look out to sea. The ground floor rooms have a small patio area but the views from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodsyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

We are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay. Hermanus really is a slice of heaven and I am happy that you experienced so much of this area has to offer.
Hope to see you soon.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I was here with my wife for three nights in January 2013. We loved this hotel, and would return to it. The location is superb, and during the whale-watching season it must be incomparable. Our room was very generous and well-equipped. Dinner was excellent. We really enjoyed the cliff-top walks and the dassies playing in the rocks. We felt the standard of service, which was overall very good, slipped a little at breakfast-time, and we would have been pleased if management were a little more visible. We shared these concerns with management, and received a very positive response.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandford47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

When the Southern Right Whales come into Walker Bay, it is indeed an incomparable sight.
Thank you for your positive comments and we apologise for your poor experience in our breakfast room... a matter that has been dealt with.
We look forward to your return.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in January 2013, just after new year. People, this is an excellent hotel, small, well run, welcoming, obliging staff, personal service and absolutely fantastic breakfast! The best I had in South Africa. We stayed in a spacious and sunny room overlooking the swimming pool. We originally wanted to stay in a sea view room but decided not to as they don't get as much sun as the rooms on the other side. We were more than happy with the room we had and loved chilling out by the swimming pool. There is a lot to do in and around Hermanus, lovely cliff top walks, the whale museum, wine tasting nearby and the beaches around Walker Bay, the owners are full of suggestions if you need ideas on where to go. If you fancy a night in, the hotel has a good DVD library. We ate in the Seafood Restaurant and thought it was superb. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, it is expensive but worth it, I certainly would come back.

Room Tip: If you like a sunny room, go for a swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yugosunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for your positive comments about your stay with us.
We aim at making all of our guest feel at home and I am delighted that you sampled everything on offer.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This spectacular local hotel is tucked away in this beautiful seaside town. The hospitality, service, food, rooms, overall ambiance and location was simply fabulous. We ate their restaurant twice because the textures and flavors of the food was amazing!! We had the marine seafood soup, tandoori spiced line-caught fish, bunny chow, grilled wwalker bay sole and of course the dark chocolate fondant - WOW!! Next time we go to Africa, hopefully 2014, we will definitely stay here again! LOVED IT.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ipsclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for choosing the Marine has your hotel of choice in this wonderful area. Our Winter menu has just been launched and is doing very well and we can`t wait to welcome you back to see what might be new on our menus next year.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

After driving all day from Sanbona Game Reserve, we suffered a flat tire about a block from the hotel. Bummer . . . and it was my husband's birthday, too!! A few local young men were kind enough to put on the spare in a parking lot, but when we casually mentioned it to Hamish, the manager, he immediately told us not to worry that he would make sure the everything would be good as new. He arranged for a new tire to be installed, the spare to be replaced, and the tires balanced and rotated. Wow, what service!! Vanessa and the other ladies at the front desk could not have been friendlier and more professional. Every question answered with a smile. The room was lovely with an ocean front view. Comfy bed, large bathroom. We did not eat in the restaurants, but other guests told us the food was excellent. The location of The Marine is the best -walk to everything and the Walk Path was right there- great walking with fabulous views! Hermanus is coastal beauty and so fun - want to retire there! Wish we could have stayed a day or two longer, but we left for Franschhoek after 2 nights - another wonderful experience!

Room Tip: As for an upgrade if occupancy is low
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you for your positive response and we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at The Marine.
We loved hosting you and truly look forward to welcoming you back to our slice of paradise soon.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We spent two nights over Easter at the Marine, We were looking forward to the Hotel , as we have been to The CELLARS AND LOVED IT.
We ate in both restaurants, THE SEAFOOD, and THE PAVILION, the food was very good in both ,but the portion of DUCK breast that I had as a main(in the Pavilion) was the size of a starter portion, at these prices this is NOT VALUE.
The service in the BAR on the SATURDAY night was not of the standard one would expect .
While we had a wonderful view from our sea facing room 225, with the wind blowing the window was rattling all night and kept us awake.
We used the Spa, service was good, ,but its needs a revamp!!!!
THE GRAND OLD DAME need some love and care!!!!!

Room Tip: If the wind is blowwing check that the windows do not RATTLE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OUTOFAFRICA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for your constructive comments about your stay over the Easter Weekend. It is vital that we receive information like this so that we can continue to improve in everything that we do.
I do hope that you visit us again soon where you will be ensured of a much improved stay.
Warm Regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
977 reviews
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: £208 - £452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing