We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marine Hermanus
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baleens(Hermanus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Schuur(Vermont)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (788)
Filter reviews
788 results
Traveller rating
531
162
61
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
531
162
61
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood restauranttravel deskorigins restaurantpavilion restaurantliz mcgraththe cliffcomplimentary mini barmain restaurantwhale watchingfabulous hotelsister hotelstar hotelsea viewcape townsouth africawalker baythe ground floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
495 - 500 of 788 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Marine. The hotel is really beautiful and overlooks the water. The rooms are specious, comfortable and decorated with an old English feel, which felt quite grand.

The reception staff were very welcoming and friendly.

We had a full body massage at the spa, the over all look and feel of the spa was a bit disappointing in comparison to the hotel however the treatment was quite good.

The WiFi was really bad, there may as well have not provided it at all. Given that you are spending so much per night at this hotel I would have expected good WiFi to be a basic thing.

We had dinner at the Seafood restaurant which was average, nothing overly memorable. The mussel starter was nice and I had the ‘Bunny Chow’ as a main which is apparently a seafood version of a traditional dish which is basically a stew in a bread bowl. Again, nice but nothing to write home about.

What was memorable was seeing whales from our bedroom window, we were lucky enough to be there during the two months of the year that is whale season. The location of the hotel is also nice, it is walking distance for the main part of the town, restaurants and markets. The hotel looked beautiful and I expected a slightly better overall experience especially given the price.

Room Tip: We asked to move to the first floor from the ground floor to have a better view of the water/whales from our room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for your honest comments.
WiFi has become a necessity I agree, unfortunately in a small town such as Hermanus, the speed of the connection is not always what we would like it to be. None the less, we have made it available throughout the whole hotel free of charge and constantly look for improvements that can be made.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your Seafood meal as much as you were hoping. When you return to us again, we will be sure to enhance your experience with something extra special.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We enjoyed every moment of our stay in this hotel. The hotel is very conveniently located to view the whales and close to many shops and restaurants. All the staff members were exceptionally courteous, friendly and attentive. We did not choose a sea facing room nonetheless it was comfortable, spacious, clean and well-maintained. The breakfast service was well prepared and the food was beautifully presented and served. We also used the spa services and were very pleased with the quality of treatments we received. We will definitely visit the Marine on our next trip to Hermanus!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuriousKind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

We cant wait to welcome you back for another great visit to our little piece of Heaven.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Just stayed two nights here and the hotel was great and the room was beautiful and so was the food. Travelled a lot and can honestly say this is really a five star hotel! From the moment we arrived and Proteus met us, to the bar guys and the manager etc it was fabulous. Would be nice if some of the ther guests dressed for dinner and didn't wear their hiking boots - but it didnt spoil a thing!!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed fabulous
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for your positive comments as well as singling some special members of staff out for their exemplary performance.
We truly have a magnificent team and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at the Marine for two nights. Our room was very large with a view of the water, so we were able to watch whales in comfort. We had dinner one night and the food was excellent. The lady on the information desk in the shop was very helpful, organising a whale walking trip for us. We would love to return to this elegant hotel.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank jaqckson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

We cant wait to welcome you back.
Thank you for your positive comments and we will be sure to enhance the experience on your return.

Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This beautifully located hotel is in dire need of a major renovation in both its looks and service levels. To put it simply, its dated and it shows. Service levels in the restaurant at breakfast was so poor we didn't risk the Seafood restaurant. The rooms are also somewhat dated and the staff really don't seem to care. The hotel manager wasn't to be seen during our five night stay over a SA long weekend holiday. Having said this the room we had was always cleaned well, however to call it a seaview suite (room 106) takes some creative license. Yes, if you craned your neck at the window you could see the sea. Try for a more direct facing room when booking.

Room Tip: This is an old hotel with squeaky wooden stairs and floorboards. Stay away from the main bar and restaurants, so you need to be at the far east end of the hotel. Also when specifing a sea view room make sure you get one, not as per our experience.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arcjnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

I must apologize that we did not live up to your expectations during you stay with us. A pity that you never voiced your opinions on the many occasions that our management team met you at breakfast as I am sure we could have rectified a number of the issues at hand.
Our team is dedicated to what they do and I am truly appalled that you found them to be uncaring. This is an issue that will be dealt with post haste.
I am terribly sorry that you never tried our Seafood restaurant. Without a doubt a memorable experience missed.
We would love to welcome you back and show you that there is a wonderful time to be had at The Marine and Hermanus in general.

Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews