We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views, pretty hotel, well appointed rooms, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Lovely views, pretty hotel, well appointed rooms, great location”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The drive to Hermanus from Cape Town took us about 2 hours. We then spent 2 1/2 hours on a whale watching vessel in Walker Bay and spotted at least a dozen whales.  By 3:00, we checked into the lovely Marine Hotel situated right along the coast - a few steps from the entrance to the "cliff walk" which we, of course,  enjoyed - particularly since you could see the whales as you walked along the coast.  Following check in, our luggage was brought to room 205 (I think). It was a lovely (and large) room with a step down sitting area with sofas and a TV.  The main floor of the Marine is beautifully decorated with a bar, lounge and restaurant.  The breakfast service starts at 7:00 and consisted of hot and cold breakfasts.  The Marine is a sister hotel to The Plettenberg plus one other hotel in Cape Town.  We've not been to the one in Cape Town but we did stay at the Plettenberg (perhaps even more upscale than the Marine) and thoroughly enjoyed it as well.  That said, we also noticed that there were some beautiful guest houses in Hermanus so if you're on a budget, there are plenty of other nice places to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manhattanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and perhaps on your return, you could visit our sister hotel in Cape Town, The Cellars-Hohenort with it`s award winning gardens. I am sure that you will love it as much as The Marine and The Plettenberg.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    138
    60
    20
    11
See reviews for
119
424
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

There are many great hotels around the world, but my stay in the marine Hermanus recently was fantastic. great location and gardens overlooking the sea. the food was five star + and everything was fantastic.

We had a great room overlooking the sea, and could even see Southern Right Whales just a few hundred meters away swimming in the bay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel-photography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your positive comment and we are delighted that you had an amazing experience.
We hope that you will return to our magnificent town again soon and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Marine Hotel.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Staff very attentive,friendly and helpful from the minute we arrived and nothing was too much trouble. Stunning whale watching from our very comfortable first floor bedroom window was every dream come true and an amazing experience.

Room Tip: First floor facing Walkers Bay is essential as you can lay in bed and watch the whales!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Staying at other Relais Chateaux hotels in the past (favourite being the wickaninnish in Tofino) we had high expectations on The Marine, which unfortunately it didn't meet. It got very close in certain areas but this hotel is a weaker link in the Relais Chateaux chain.

Reception staff were fantastic, the bar is excellent with great views, hotel is at a high standard offering two restaurants & the location is great to access town.

Areas of improvement would be (A) staffing during the busy weekends, it came across that the front of house in the restaurants were struggling with the volume of customers, we mentioned this to the reception staff & they commented that the manager had just left to help assist (highlighting the hotel too had this as an area of concern). Our complaint went unanswered, which is never a positive sign; (B) Evening portions in the resturant were of high quality but rather small, leaving me to ask for more bread to fill up; (C) Bathrooms are dated & require improvement.

We'd stay at the hotel again as there was nothing seriously wrong, but next time we'll just have lower expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbo_and_Franny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your honest opinions about your stay.
We strive to be the best at what we do in all conditions and circumstances.
I must apologise that no manager came back to you about your complaint. An issue I have now dealt with. I have discussed portion sizes to our chef and have rectified the matter.
We look forward to welcoming you back we we hope to once again raise your level of expectation.
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The title says it all. Not cheap, but easily the best hotel in the area, and the position is just killer. The "olde english" colonial feel of the rooms could do with some modernisation in my view, but some of the other reviews pick this out as a highlight. Rooms in great condition and spotlessly clean either way. Unusually for a fair size hotel, the restaurants are also probably amongst the best the town has to offer. Great experience all in all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wking21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your honest opinions.
We are currently undergoing a soft refurbishment in some of our rooms and will continue the process into 2014 which will enhance the already subtle elegance of our rooms. I hope that when you return, you will see the difference.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel was super fantastic! The room we had overlooked the sea where we saw whales swimming past in the morning. We ate in the Seafood restaurant both nights and wasn't disappointed with the food or service.

A minor potential problem not experienced by us would the patio which extends across the entire front of the building and in summer could become a noise nuisance to all bedrooms above [i.e., sea facing]. Another small problem we found was loss of privacy by a pretty net curtain in the bathroom but no blind. There is a public footpath to the front of the building and you can see into the bathroom from there. Our stay was so good we forgot about this minor problem but could be an issue for others. A blind is required.

Room Tip: We would recommend one overlooking the sea but be aware there may be some noise in the summer due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RowePCCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your comments.
We are looking into putting a blind in the room that you stayed for that extra level of privacy.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay however and that these minor faults did not deter from it.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Marine. The hotel is really beautiful and overlooks the water. The rooms are specious, comfortable and decorated with an old English feel, which felt quite grand.

The reception staff were very welcoming and friendly.

We had a full body massage at the spa, the over all look and feel of the spa was a bit disappointing in comparison to the hotel however the treatment was quite good.

The WiFi was really bad, there may as well have not provided it at all. Given that you are spending so much per night at this hotel I would have expected good WiFi to be a basic thing.

We had dinner at the Seafood restaurant which was average, nothing overly memorable. The mussel starter was nice and I had the ‘Bunny Chow’ as a main which is apparently a seafood version of a traditional dish which is basically a stew in a bread bowl. Again, nice but nothing to write home about.

What was memorable was seeing whales from our bedroom window, we were lucky enough to be there during the two months of the year that is whale season. The location of the hotel is also nice, it is walking distance for the main part of the town, restaurants and markets. The hotel looked beautiful and I expected a slightly better overall experience especially given the price.

Room Tip: We asked to move to the first floor from the ground floor to have a better view of the water/whales...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your honest comments.
WiFi has become a necessity I agree, unfortunately in a small town such as Hermanus, the speed of the connection is not always what we would like it to be. None the less, we have made it available throughout the whole hotel free of charge and constantly look for improvements that can be made.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your Seafood meal as much as you were hoping. When you return to us again, we will be sure to enhance your experience with something extra special.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.1 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
910 reviews
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Property: The Marine Hermanus
Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing