We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor service, outdated resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, poor service, outdated resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

I have stayed at many Relaix & Chareau Resorts around the world and this is the first that I would suggest does not deserve that brand. The hotel was outdated, hallway carpets dirty, rooms/bathrooms below standard, and service subpar. Given how much I love the brand, I am sorry to write this review (and even more sorry to have stayed there).

If you are going to stay in this wonderful resort town, stay at the Bierkenhead House Hotel and Villas. It is gorgeous with an amazing infinity pool, spectacular views, gorgeous rooms and wonderful service staff.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your comments although you clearly did not enjoy your stay with us.
I have addressed all the points of concern in a seperate e-mail to yourself.
I hope that the rest of your vacation was more to your liking.
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    136
    58
    20
    11
See reviews for
117
415
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,043 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,802 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I chose this hotel mainly for it's location, right on the sea & short walking distance from Hermanus.
The hotel is situated in a stunning position & with the right room you can not only see the sea, you can hear it as you go to sleep. Fab.
Our stay didn't start great as the Premium Suite with balcony that I booked in January 2013 hadn't been allocated to us. With a little insistence from me they managed to reallocate & our bags were moved efficiently to the requested room.
Spacious suite at one end of the hotel, with a lovely little balcony, so you can sit & watch the waves. The decor in the hotel is a little too 'traditional' for my tastes, but seems to be popular with the mature, well healed guests it attracts. All tastefully done.they do need to do something about the rattling windows when there's a breeze. You don't expect to have to use wedges & folded paper to stop the noise in a 5 star hotel!
Breakfast is pretty good, although service can be a little slow, despite the dining room being pretty quiet. The hot options are excellent.
Service overall was excellent, if you requested anything, it was there in a flash, nice turndown service & they even washed my hire car.
Overall, I was not wowed by the place, but I would happily return when I'm next in Hermanus.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your positive and honest comments and I am delighted that we were able to accommodate your request for a balcony.
I must however apologise for the rattling windows in your suite and we have attended to the problem.
We look forward to your next visit
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This long-established hotel occupies an incredible whale-watching site on the cliffs overlooking Walker Bay. Originally it was a little out of the town but shopping and housing developments have reached and passed it but they serve only to complement the already extensive facilities available at and near the hotel and don’t impinge on the hotel’s ambience.

We have stayed here a number of times and have always enjoyed rooms with a view of the sea.These rooms, where you will want for nothing, are all individually decorated in luxurious, if slightly understated style, are very comfortable with large marble bathrooms and have amazing views over the Bay. It can be a little disconcerting to find that, as you are being shown over your room, you stop listening to watch the whales in the bay providing an acrobatic display. The staff, who are, of course, used to this can only be commended for their patience. Indeed. all the reception staff (including the security and parking staff) are very professional and take great pride in providing an efficient and friendly service.

The beautiful Pavilion dining room with its views over the bay provides a substantial and varied buffet breakfast with the usual egg dishes prepared and served to order (and mention has to be made of the ladies of the breakfast team who make it such a pleasure). Dinner is altogether a grander affair with excellent food and good wine delivered with attentive and courteous service. Before darkness falls the views are spectacular and after dark you can keep a watch for the resident spotted eagle owls.

However, you need to be aware that this restaurant closes on Monday evenings and that while the alternative restaurant in the hotel (the Seafood) produces award-winning seafood dishes it is somewhat let down by the service. On our visit we think that the MD could have spent less than 20 minutes doing his Basil Fawlty routine with the first couple to arrive before deigning to notice the rest of us (at that point only 2-3 other couples). True to form he then delivered the wrong wine! Not a big problem since there are lots of other places to eat in Hermanus many only a short walk from the Marine.

In truth this is really a great place to stay - perfect position, good food, amazing staff, relaxing comfort with whales and owls on tap. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Do try to get a sea-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller-hr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
What a lovely review! Thank you for your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am concerned however that you had a poor experience in our Seafood restaurant and would love to get more detail from you. Please could you contact me on hamish@themarine.co.za.
We take great pride in all that we do and would appreciate the opportunity to correct our wrongs.
Looking forward to hearing back from you

Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Business Tea cum meeting at the Marine with its view and direct look out onto the ocean with the Southern Wright wales is spectacular. Staff could not be more helpful. Tea tailored to order. Have visited this location since I was a child of about 4 years. More sophisticated than back in those days, but the charm of being a bit 'separate' to the village, almost town was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Thomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed your tea with us.
The view from our Sun lounge is indeed spectacular and I hope that when next you visit us, it will be to spend the night.
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The location is superb facing the ocean so that you can watch the wales from your room window (if you are in season for them). The hotel is nice, but nothing special in my view. The staff was welcoming.
I did not have good luck with the restaurants. I was late for the lunch - and the hotel restaurants were already closed. So I was left with some finger food in the bar.
I also had a dinner in the hotel restaurant, which was not bad, but nothing special. Not sure if there are good options outside - but I would definitely look if go there next time.

Room Tip: Make sure your room faces the water (maybe they all do).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meTatyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your comments although very disappointed that you consider The Marine as an average hotel. I urge you to please contact me on hamish@themarine.co.za so that we can discuss how we could have made your stay more enjoyable.
We strive to be the best at what we do and your feedback is much appreciated.

Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Vermont, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We were greeted immediately upon pulling into the hotel and the service from everyone was excellent. The rooms appear to have different decor and layout, which I found refreshing after the modern cookie cutter look of many high end properties. We were traveling with another couple and we all enjoyed the view, the location right by town and the cliff walk as well as the free wi-fi. We were upgraded to sea-view rooms, which definitely made us happy! It is a beautiful spot, we would definitely consider returning on another trip to SA. They even washed our car before we left. We stopped at another Relais & Chateau property in Stellenbosch and found the service there very subpar. The Marine staff were great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for your positive comments.
We enjoyed hosting you and are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.
We like to think of our decor as classic and timeless with an easy flow and we know it works. Thank you for appreciating it.
Looking forward to seeing you again on your next trip.
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had three very enjoyable nights here in October - the hotel was excellent in every respect. We were celebrating our anniversary on the trip - a fact that the hotel kindly marked for us. Staff couldn't have been more helpful we even had our car washed each day! Food was very good in both restaurants especially the breakfast.
The highlight for us though was definitely the whales. We had a beautiful large room overlooking the sea where we watched whales jumping in the bay sitting at our window - magical.
Try to visit during the whale watching season if possible as it is an amazing experience in this gracious hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get one overlooking the bay to see the whales
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carm60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for your positive comments and we loved having you stay with us.
Indeed the whale activity during your stay was superb and we are looking forward to welcoming you back next season for act 2.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.1 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Property: The Marine Hermanus
Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing