We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful historic hotel in amazing setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful historic hotel in amazing setting.”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

What a hotel we were in room 102 the best room ,overlooking the sea very comfy great bed to lose oneself in , great bathroom , nice comfy armchairs and a bottle of wine to greet us. All the staff greeted us by our surname and were extremely polite. Fish restaurant a must. Very busy with guests and locals. Great food. Bar area fab and comfortable with great views to the sea. Very relaxing place. My wife went to the spa and thought it was great. Pool area clean within the gardens but lacked a bit of atmosphere, as no views. Reception couldn't have been nicer. A life experience never to forget . A very short walk to loads of great views and pubs restaurants .

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Berjan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your positive comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Room #102 is indeed a lovely spacious room with everything one might need.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future for some more well deserved R&R.
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    137
    59
    20
    11
See reviews for
118
419
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Old world charm and sophistication Good food. Excellent service. Good spa. Pool at back of hotel. Pool area unpleasant and un inviting. Loungers old and service at pool not great. Not facing the sea. Perhaps another pool should be built in the front of hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liamgriegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your comments and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
We have put in place an exciting overall refurbishment of our swimming pool area and I hope that you can return one day to enjoy it.
Unfortunately we may not build a swimming pool in front of our hotel but we do have access to a magnificent tidal pool in the ocean just below The Marine.
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The staff were great throughout, so that wasn't my problem. The room was a good size however the whole hotel is tired. I did not feel the quality of the bathrooms was up to scratch. I expect an old 90's bathroom like this in a 3*, not here.
We were here in December so there were no whales however I imagine its a super location when it's whale season.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your constructive comments and I must apologise that you felt us tired and outdated. We revel in the fact that we have magnificent rooms with amazing views and gracious staff to look after your every need.
We will be doing some exciting refurbishments this year including our bathrooms and I hope that when you return one day, your view will change.
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

After a long day of driving the Garden Route the Marine couldn't have been a better place to arrive to. The room was one of the nicest rooms we had on our entire trip and the staff couldn't do enough to help.

If you're in Hermanus you are there to see the whales and it took us all of 30 seconds when we checked in to see them from our hotel room. The hotel is located right on the water and in between the two best spots for whale watching in the city.

You really can't go wrong with the Marine, my only issue was that we didn't stay there longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoLeafsGorski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for all of your positive comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
The Southern Right Whales really are a highlight during their season with us and watching them from your bedroom window is an experience that you will never forget.
I do hope that we may welcome you back soon and that you can stay longer with us.
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently on honeymoon, was absolutely fabulous, we arrived to a beautiful view from our room, staff were excellent, helpful and friendly, received fruit plates and champagne as a congratulations token. Ate in the restaurant twice and had afternoon tea, all of which were scrumptious. Spa staff were excellent and fitted us in at late notice. Overall one of our favourite places we stayed in South africa

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you for your positive comments and I am delighted that you enjoyed a part of your honeymoon with us. Happy new year and may you both prosper in your new marriage.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We have returned to the Marine over many years.

The combination of the stunning position, early morning swim in the tidal pool, excellent meals and service combine to create a sense of peace and tranquility.

The Marine team always greet you by name and remember the little things that make the difference, like preference for honey in my tea or ensuring the business news is always available.

Thank you to Hamish and team for another great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidCCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Once again, it was only a pleasure to host you at The Marine.
We look forward to your visits and are delighted that you so enjoy your stays with us.
Thank you for the positive comments and we can`t wait to see you in 2014.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I have stayed at many Relaix & Chareau Resorts around the world and this is the first that I would suggest does not deserve that brand. The hotel was outdated, hallway carpets dirty, rooms/bathrooms below standard, and service subpar. Given how much I love the brand, I am sorry to write this review (and even more sorry to have stayed there).

If you are going to stay in this wonderful resort town, stay at the Bierkenhead House Hotel and Villas. It is gorgeous with an amazing infinity pool, spectacular views, gorgeous rooms and wonderful service staff.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your comments although you clearly did not enjoy your stay with us.
I have addressed all the points of concern in a seperate e-mail to yourself.
I hope that the rest of your vacation was more to your liking.
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.1 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Property: The Marine Hermanus
Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing