We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely quiet retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in December. We did see whales, a mother and baby but they weren't leaping out of the sea, definitely out of season. This is a lovely hotel but not cheap, the exchange rate was good for us.
The food is great especially afternoon tea which is very good value and great breakfast.
The staff are lovely and service is great but not intrusive

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for your discerning comments and I am delighted that you managed to see some whales. Indeed December is at the end of their season before they migrate down to the Southern Ocean to feed and raise their young.
I do hope that we can welcome you back and perhaps if you visit in October or November, you will enjoy many more sightings of the Southern Right Whales.
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

The hotel is very nice , the Staff very friendly.
Food is outstanding ,amazing good .Best food in Town.
we tried a lots of places for dinner and Lunch, the Marine is the best choice.
yummy yummy.
we will go back as soon as possible

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gisela51brake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for your positive comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed our restaurants. We hope that we can welcome you back for some more of our wares.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

While vacationing in South Africa we wanted to go to the town of Hermanus on the Indian Ocean to view the Southern Right Whales. We were here in September and so are the whales. The town even has a "Whale Festival" the last week in September, with a whale crier who blows a horn to let everyone know where he is spotting the whales! Anyway, we booked at the Marine Hotel-a luxurious place right on the edge of the Indian Ocean. We had booked a "sea-facing room" and were disappointed when our room actually faced a mountain (beautiful-but not what we paid for). So after we found out there were no more rooms available except for the "David Rawdon Suite" with an approximate $100 a night upgrade charge--we took it. It had an upstairs bedroom with staircases on either side of the main room and a beautiful chandelier and 3 large floor to ceiling windows with incredible views over the cliffs of the roaring ocean! A very large walk-in closet and large bathroom. What was an initial bad thing turned into an amazing stay! The whole place is great with a small but nice bar and large sitting area. The restaurant there was also great and I ate some of the best fish I have ever tasted called Hake--delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thistrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

I am delighted that we managed to turn this around for you and must apologise for the confusion of the original room you had booked.
Visiting during our whale season is indeed very special and we do hope that you will be able to return to view this wonderful spectacle.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel during our honeymoon. The hotel has old world charm. The hotel staff was very warm and welcoming with a special reference to the receptionist Birdie who went above and beyond her duties. She sent us a complementary bottle of champagne and chocolates. Overall a wonderful stay. Much recommended!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiratmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your Honeymoon with us and Berdine, our Assistant General Manager, is truly an outstanding person with your needs foremost in her mind.
We hope that the rest of your Honeymoon was as perfect as your stay at The Marine.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Hotel is an easy scenic drive from Cape town via N2 (around one and a half hours).
When we returned from Hermanus a few days later we opted for the scenery of the coastal road to Strand and N2 , enjoying a picnic which the hotel had packed for us.

Our group were made up of us(local Capetonians) plus overseas guests/ family.

Upon arrival we were made very welcome by the lovely and friendly Reception staff, who are brilliant at finding any info/ other bookings i.e booking golf and info on the local wine route

Hotel has superb location- literally across the road from the shops and museums , fantastic direct view over the sea. There is a walking route directly in front of hotel meandering along the coastline. Did not spot any whales this time round as we visited just before Christmas- well past the breeding season but there were owls nesting across from the hotel - watching them was a delight.

Tried all three restaurants - food and service was superb. The pub/ lounge overlooking the sea (and nesting owls)was the meeting spot for pre dinner drinks- lovely venue. Some excellent cocktails were had!

We booked 4x Rooms - none directly sea facing but 3 still had balconies or a window from where the sea can be viewed side on. Rooms were big with and included en suites, with sufficient storage for luggage and clothing plus safes for valuables . It was tastefully decorated and very well serviced.

Hotel has Spa on site , which gave an excellent well priced service to all of us plus a pool area where light meals and refreshments can be ordered.

Overall we felt very pampered - excellent stay and cannot wait to go back

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

I think the fact that you saw our resident Spotted Eagle Owls made your trip unforgettable.
Thank you for all of your positive comments and we cant wait to welcome you back to The Marine in the near future.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is an expensive hotel, for sure, but the location is stunning and the service & attention to detail are amazing. Unfortunately, we only had time in our schedule to stay one night. We were driving along the garden route and arrived late in the afternoon, freshened up, and had an amazing dinner in their 5-star restaurant. After we had dinner, my sister and I were looking in the window of their gift shop, which was closed. We were admiring the lovely Zulu beadwork jewelry and inquired what time it opened the next day, as we were leaving early. We found out it would not open before we planned to leave. Upon hearing this, the lady at the front desk informed us that she would find someone who could open the shop for us that evening. Our husbands probably weren't as happy as we were about this offer, but my sister and I were thrilled and now each have a lovely souvenir from our stay there.

Room Tip: I doubt this hotel have any rooms which aren't excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OKCArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

We are delighted that you managed to squeeze us in to your itinirary and I do hope that you will stay for longer on your return. Thank you for your positive comments and for supporting our boutique.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. Wow, what an amazing place. Beautiful setting, fantastic staff. We ate in both restaurants, food and service outstanding. We contacted the hotel before leaving home to book a trip and everything was taken care of for us. Once there we asked the travel desk about visiting the penguins and they arranged this plus wine tasting and a fantastic driver for three days who showed us around the local area, nothing was to much trouble. Only down side was our room, needed updating. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for your positive comments and I am delighted that we were able to help plan your excursions around our beautiful area.
My apologies however that you did not find your room to your liking. When you return, we will be sure to match the room to your specific needs for an enhanced stay.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
976 reviews
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: £206 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing