We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and inviting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Spent 2 nights at this very welcoming hotel. Stylish and comfortable, wonderful, warm, friendly staff and excellent services such as hot water bottles, fresh flowers and a paper each day tailored to news from your country of origin. Whilst the supposedly excellent seafood restaurant was undergoing renovations we could not fault the standard of food and presentation in the Pavillion restaurant - the chef's brilliant! Also a great central location for for clifftop walk and shops and restaurants.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Clubglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are always striving to find ways in making our guests stay more comfortable. Our Seafood Restaurant is now open again and we would love to see you back with us and enjoying a sumptuous Seafood Dinner.
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Spent one night at the Marine and wished I had time to stay longer. The property was lovely, the rooms all one could ask for the the location very convenient to walking in town and viewing the whales. I do think it a bit expensive considering the area although I doubt there is other accommodation of this standard in Hermanus. If you want to see the whales and treat yourself to a high quality hotel then the Marine is a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your positive comments.
The Marine is definitely that special destination in the jewel that is Hermanus.
we hope to welcome you back soon
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent a weekend night at the Marine and it was a real treat. The Marine is a beautiful property in the perfect position in Hermanus. Every aspect of our stay was great: from the upgraded suite with the sea view, relaxing drinks in the tranquil bar, delicious dinner in their stylish restaurant, to the friendliness and efficiency of the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your positive sentiments and we are delighted to have been able to enhance your time away. Hermanus is a special place, one worth visiting again and again.
Hoping to welcome you back soon
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at the Marine on the 26th April, our wedding night and the hotel went to every effort to make us feel special. We were upgraded, congratulated, met by the Manager and given a free bottle of excellent champagne as well as chocolates and a fruit basket. The room was luxurious and comfortable with a lovely view of the mountains and sea. The room also had a view facing balcony. The staff are warm, friendly but still polite and unobtrusive. Our car was given a complimentary wash which was the cherry on top of the perfect service. The linen, towels, bed and room accessories are very much of a 5 star standard. The location of the hotel is perfect - right on the cliff edge. The breakfast was very good in a smart but relaxed restaurant with gorgeous view. We would loved to have stayed longer and will most certainly return next time we visit South Africa. We recommended the hotel to our wedding guests (who had all travelled to Hermanus) and a few of them ate dinner at the hotel & there were many comments of 'best evers' especially with regards to the fish. We travel extensively and particularly appreciate that one of the most important times in our life was treated as that. Thank you Marine for a very happy memory.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your gracious comments and it was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us on such a special day. We are delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of The Marine and experienced a bit of what Hermanus has to offer.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at the Marine on 24 & 25th February - The location is excellent. However for the price R7,200 per night the value, size and condition of the room was probably the worst experienced ever at a 5 star hotel. We immediately complained to the front design and to date have never received a response to our complaint - The manager was in attendance but he too did not bother to try and discuss the problem with us. The room is tiny, the shower totally below standard, the front window kept vibrating and knocking against the window frame, we had to wedge a pile of paper in between the 2 stop the noise and rattling. Breakfast was poor - no replenishment of fresh fruit on both days - empty plates on the buffet - few staff in attendance !!No doubt we will never return to the Marine nor recommend to any of our many travelling friends etc. Lastly how your hotel can be rated a 5 star is beyond us !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank selwyn n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

We are terribly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.
I am slightly confused however as when you were offered a different room, one more to your specific taste, you did not want to move.
Thank you for pointing out the rattling windows. These have most definitely been attended to.
Having personally overseen breakfast during your stay with us, I can assure you that all fruits were replenished on our buffet.
I am disappointed that you feel so negatively towards The Marine Hotel and do hope that one day you may return so that we may have the chance to turn your experience around.
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed in the Marine Hermanus on 3rd and 4th of March, 2014. It is a wonderful hotel, situated right on the ocean at the far end of the town centre.
From the moment we were helped to unpack and park our car, to reception, to being taken to our room, we knew this was a lovely place. We arrived about lunchtime and after a quick freshen up, we had a light lunch sitting outside overlooking the ocean. The service was warn and friendly and efficient.
The decor of the hotel is sumptuous throughout...the bars, restaurant areas, the pool...all really welcoming and chic.
The staff are great, from the manager to the trainee.
The food was excellent...breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Our room, an ordinary one we understood, had two bathrooms, a lunge area and a big bedroom, as well as a small balcony.
We had not expected such quality. What a pleasant surprise.
Finally, the lady who runs the shop is the one of the most knowledgeable concierges we have ever come across.

Room Tip: One with a sea view, ideally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bboyd254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for your positive comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Indeed Claudia in our Boutique is a shining example of what dedicated and friendly staff we have working with us.
We hope hope to welcome you back to The Marine again.
Kind regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Returning in February for the fourth or fifth time, we really enjoyed our stay. The old lady is needing some money spending on her, but the greatest asset of the Marine is the superb staff, genuinely welcoming, friendly and helpful, from the manager, Hamish, to the car park assistant. It really is a pleasure to arrive and be greeted like long lost friends.
The position is superb, the food is excellent and Hermanus itself is achieving what few UK towns can - namely growing and improving. We look forward to our next visit.
My spectacles vanished on our last morning - they were found after our departure and couriered to our next hotel the same day. What service!

Room Tip: The location is so good that you should go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atticuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamishhofmeyr, General Manager at The Marine Hermanus, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for all the good comments.
It is always a great pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your visits.
I am delighted that we were able to track down the missing glasses and that you received them in good order.
Safe travels and we will see you next year.
Warm regards
Hamish Hofmeyr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
979 reviews
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range: £207 - £452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing