We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“seaside perfection” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marine Hermanus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Marine Hermanus
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
belfast
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“seaside perfection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2007

We stayed three nights in The Marine on our fantastic SA honeymoon.

From our lovely welcome by Heather to our departure we could not have asked for better service or value for money.

Champagne in the room on arrival, beautiful turn-downs at night with rose petals and chocolates and the most perfect cosmoplitans that I have tasted anywhere. Service around the pool was prompt and the paninis were delicious. Food in both restaurants was excellent. The first night we ate in the main restaurant and both finished with the banana souffle, which they cut into at the table and poured chocolate rum sauce inside. We were so full we nearly had to be carried up the stairs to bed! The seafood restaurant is beautiful and "New England" in decor.

As with all hotels, your room is what you pay for. We had booked a sea-facing room and we got a huge room on the first floor with a big bath under the bathroom window and another beside the bed in the bedroom so you could lie and relax whilst watching the wales in the bay.

My only gripe was the rain (in Summer!) which cancelled our whale watching trip and took us on a tour of more vineyards!

I find harsh reviews about anything not being "value for money" in SA crazy. Everything is far, far, cheaper than its equivalent in UK.

I would highly recommend this relaxing and contemporary hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — food, views, decor
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sue2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    134
    58
    20
    11
See reviews for
115
407
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2007

We were very disappointed with the Marine Hotel. It was the most expensive of all the hotels and first class B&Bs that we stayed in and not good value for money.

Yes the views are amazing, and the whales came out to play. The breakfasts are fantastic and the lady in the travel shop is very friendly and helpful.

But.... it started out badly when the receptionist suggested that my partner didn't wear shorts for the bar. Our room was on the first floor overlooking a whole lot of other rooms with a shared terrace, it was completely over furnished with ruffly floral bits and pieces and completely over the top in places.

We found it overpriced, lacking in special touches and given the fact that there is such a high standard of accomodation in South Africa - very disappointing.

  • Liked — The views and the whales
  • Disliked — over the top and poor value for money
  • Tips/Secrets — Book somewhere else in Hermanus - this hotel exists on its heritage and location
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank buttles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Staffordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2006

One of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. Every single member of staff that we were in contact with was very friendly and extremely helpful. Our room was big, clean and beautiful and the food in the restaurant was wonderful. This hotel just couldn't be faulted. Unfortunately we only had two nights there!

  • Liked — Size and style
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay as long as you can
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pracatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2006

This is as good as it gets. What sets the Marine above the rest is the flawless service. Infact, it is only by staying here that you realise what makes a good hotel. Many places have all the facilities, nice rooms etc but the attention to detail. The personal, named welcome as you arrive, the staff cant do enough to help.
Unreservedly recommended.

  • Liked — service
  • Tips/Secrets — just go and enjoy
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nobster666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2006

An imposing building set on the edge of a cliff overlooking the bay. You need to book an upstairs room. We stayed in room 212 and had amazing views of the whales swimming just yards from our bedroom. Our room was huge,nicely furnished in marine style with a large bathroom. 2 restaurants in the hotel. I would say the seafood restaurant is the better of the 2. Friendly staff...Lovely contempary lounge with great sea views. The best breakfast bacon and eggs I had anywhere in S.A. I wish we had spent longer than the 2 nights.

  • Liked — Large room,not over furnished, marine style.
  • Disliked — none
  • Tips/Secrets — Book an upstairs room for whale watching from your room
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ian Phillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2006

We spent a quick weekend in Hermanus to see the Whales coming into the harbour. Although it was still early in the season it was an experience not to be missed. The hotel is a lovely beach style hotel - wonderful food, great rooms, terrific service and the location was ideal for Whale Watching. Highly recommened.

  • Liked — Location on the edge of the ocean
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemcgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2006

Just spent two nights at the Marine. First class hotel, excellent service. Special thanks to lady in travel shop for sorting our shark cage diving trip - unfortunately cancelled due to bad weather. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank londonsararah111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.1 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.1 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
3.0 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hermanus

Property: The Marine Hermanus
Address: Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marine Hermanus 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine is one of the southern hemisphere's most spectacular seaside Relais & Chateaux properties. Perched on the cliffs, overlooking Hermanus's Walker Bay, The Marine boasts 40 individually decorated bedrooms and suites. This unforgettable property overlooks South Africa's most pristine whale sanctuary, and it is just a stone's throw from one of the greatest densities of the endangered Great White Shark, and selection of fynbos species in the Cape. The Marine offers guests the unique opportunity to experience the finest land-based whale watching in the world. From June to September guests are able to view these majestic creatures from the comfort of their beautiful sea-facing bedroom. The attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of this remarkable owner managed property - from the personal service to the exceptional cuisine which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath's Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, the perfect-for-sundowners Sun Lounge and the in-house Carchele Beauty Spa. Each piece of The Marine story adds another element to an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Marine Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marine Hermanus Hotel Hermanus
The Marine Hotel Hermanus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing