We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marine Hermanus
Nearby Hotels
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour House Hotel(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baleens(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$587
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Schuur(Vermont)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (793)
Filter reviews
793 results
Traveller rating
535
163
60
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
163
60
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood restauranttravel deskorigins restaurantpavilion restaurantliz mcgraththe cliffcomplimentary mini barmain restaurantwhale watchingfabulous hotelsister hotelstar hotelsea viewcape townsouth africawalker baythe ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
642 - 647 of 793 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2010

The marine is a wonderful hotel.
the service is amazing.
for example i wanted to watch a dvd and the receptionist called someone to go to the dvd store and he rented it for that night for us to watch.
I would definately recommend this hotel to everyone and its also great for kids.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank criticmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

The Marine is simply amazing. From the moment we set foot on this property, we were treated like kings and queens. The front desk personnel are sincere, attentive, and a delight. Our room (second floor corner - see photo) was outstanding. Breakfast each morning was a beautiful buffet (fruits, breads, etc.) along with a complete breakfast menu. We dined in The Seafood at the Marine several times - food is divine. Our waiter was superb and suggested a different wine each night - we were never disappointed! The chef is quite inventive and delivers excellent cuisine and superb presentation. The Malva Pudding is to die for! The cliffs along the coast are wonderful for walks any time of the day - more than one can really take in without catching one's breath. Walker Bay is the home of the Right Whales when they come down in June and July - we were there the end of May and saw a few males in the bay spouting. This is THE best land-based whale watching venue in the world and we now understand why. There is a grassy amphitheater right at the edge of the little town of Hermanus and apparently the whales put on quite a show. A short drive from Hermanus is the area called Franschhoek - a wide valley floor with vineyards as far as the eye can see. South African wines are delightful. Shopping in town was fun - many kiosks and tables by vendors - all vendors were very friendly and not high-pressure. A small mall has many other nice shops too for items made in South Africa. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this trip and would go back in a nanosecond. The country is gorgeous. That, coupled with a fantastic place like The Marine, makes for a trip you will never ever forget!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASouthAfricaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Without doubt, the best thing about the Marine is the location. Unexpectedly, we had an ocean view room and sitting in bed (or lying in the bath!) watching the whales is such a unique experience that you cant help but give the Marine 5 stars.

The hotel itself has a feeling a 'faded glory' and compared to some of the other 5 star properties in South Africa would fall some way short. There is nothing particularly wrong with the hotel, just a feeling that it could do with some modernisation and hasnt had an awful lot of money spent on it recently.

That said, our room was very nice, the breakfasts were very good and the staff friendly and helpful, particularly Claudia (?) on the travel desk who directed us to Stony Point penguin colony and Harold Porter Botantical gardens for a day out, which we really enjoyed.

We ate in the Pavillion restaurant one night, and it was nice, our experience in general in Hermanus (we also ate at Medeterriena and Harbour Rock) is that the food is squarely aimed at a tourist market and overpriced for what you get.

I dont think either of us was prepared for how many whales you see if you are there at the right time, and standing on the shore watching them less than 50m out to sea is a great experience and the Marine is a very nice place to stay whilst doing it.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank WebbalinoManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed here for two nights to do some whale watching. We were upgraded to an ocean view suite and it was absolutely beautiful. The views from the room (even the bathroom)were wonderful and the service was fantasic. The room even had a heated floor in the sitting area. There was complimentary wine and fruit waiting in the room. Another nice touch-since we had to leave earlier than breakfast service, the staff had boxed breakfasts waiting for us to take with us when we left. Free internet access was a welcome surprise to us. The pictures on their website make it look like there is nothing else around but that is not the case. It is walking distance to the town and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJS079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Marine Hermanus was comfortable, it is very pretty, the bar area, the pool and front lawn are lovely and the staff were, on the whole, really nice. The food was very average, in fact our meal in the seafood restaurant was bland (does not deserve the reputation is has). The gift shop was excellent (great selection).

Our room was lovely. When we arrived we were given the suite looking out of the car park. it was a big room but I didn't want to sleep over the car park and asked to be moved to a seafront room. This happened with no fuss (they weren't full).

It is an amazing location and after a day of whale watching it was nice to come back and have a hot bath and look out over the ocean (from the bath tub). My only real issue is that because it is very expensive (compared to other places in South Africa) the other guests were all in their 60's and 70's. It felt more like a retirement village. I don't mind quiet but it was more geriatric than tranquil.

You wont have a bad stay but I am sure there are better places to stay in Hermanus which have great views too.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuesdayjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews