We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very romantic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Brackenfell, South Africa
1 review
“Very romantic experience”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had a wonderful time at this establishment. The friendly staff and neatness of the rooms was very good. We especially loved being so central, no need to drive anywhere. Your vehicle is parked in a secure area and can only be accessed by hotel guests and staff.

I recommend taking a suite that has a normal braai area instead of the gas braai, just adds to the atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDS90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It really is great being centrally located as it makes exploring Hermanus so accessible and easy. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    201
    18
    11
    3
See reviews for
321
146
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Modern and quality furnishings. Very spacious. Could easily live in them, however it's a long way to walk from the reception to some of the apartments with no shortcuts. The wind was very loud as the corridors are exposed. Great location above the shops and easy walk to everywhere in central Hermanus. Wifi was a problem.

Room Tip: Check the outlook otherwise you could be looking out onto brick walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snelsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We have taken note of your remarks and hope that we can improve your next stay by offering you an apartment in closer proximity to the reception area. We look forward to hear from you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My 2nd time at the WCH in Hermanus and they have kept their comfort levels, in fact they better it with each visit. The GM Phillip is a gem and an asset. Awesome fully catered apartments. The mall is just below the hotel, which makes it very convenient. walking distance to the coast to view the whales... simply awesome.

Thanx guys

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Africanect H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear guest, thank you for having chosen the Whale Coast Hotel once again. It is always very motivating to us to hear that we could exceed your expectations and you felt comfortable and really enjoyed your stays here! The WCH team looks forward to hopefully hosting you again for a third time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The Hotel apartments are comfortable and there is a view of the mountain but it is over a parking lot which was noisy in the evening and early morning.
The price is a bit steep in terms of value for money, the wifi is not free but partially free (the first 300mb)
There was only 1 children's channel on the DSTV not 'DSTV' as advertised
I was also not clearly told how to get to the hotel parking - bit of a convoluted arrangement
I do wish that when advertising these places what you see on the ads is what you actually get
For that amount of money one could do better elsewhere in Hermanus and be closer to the sea

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davevee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Dave,
Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay.
With regret I have to note that you did have dislike some of our products and services. However, we at the Whale Coat Hotel pride ourselves to advertise the hotel correctly and therefore offer plenty of images as well as virtual tours available via our website.
Please do not hesitate to ask for more vouchers at any stage of your stay as these are unlimited. We have selected DStv channels available as well as various board games for children and adults alike if you wish to switch off the TV for the time of your vacation.
Once again thank you for allowing us to incorporate some of this feedback to improve our operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

the apartment it self was but just ok, no more than ok, but with a major leak in the living room. the apartments are inside a shopping mall with the living room terrace just above the outside parking. not exactly what you would expect when you to a small town with the only purpose of whale watching. you can find much better self catering solutions in hermanus. make sure of the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziocut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for having made the choice to make use of our facilities whilst visiting Hermanus, my apologies you did not find our gem as bright as we would have loved you to see it, I must say however, (Like the Cremora Advert) "Its not inside, Its on top! :D, The hotel is in front, and on top of the shopping mall and not inside.The concept of the hotel is to be a Centrally located, Affordable, Family friendly luxury Self-Catering establishment that is in walking distance to most highlights the town has to offer and the bulk of our clients find it very handy to have Shoprite Checkers downstairs and behind the hotel as they do not need to do their shopping from whichever destination they travel from, but do it all once they arrive.
Also to note, Hermanus really has a lot more to offer than just Whale watching, with shark cage diving, paragliding, paint ball shooting, a astounding and very reputable wine route, Child Play areas, fantastic restaurant selection, hiking trails, horse riding, white water rafting, black water tubing, sunset cruises, Archery, Historical tours and museums,

Thank you for your valued feedback, and I do hope you will be back in Hermanus again soon to exhaust all these features that the little village has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A beautiful apartment in service centre with shops and supermarket just at the lower level.
This is perfect for the family but despite the name there is no sea view.
The apartments are 2 floors, full equipped with a big kitchen and 2 bed rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank argemarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for having chosen our facilities to be your destination of luxury whilst visiting the most beautiful village in the world. I trust your holiday was as soothing as expected.
Indeed you are right we do not have any sea views from our down stairs balconies and a partial view from the main bedroom balcony however we like to take pride in our majestic mountain views and being a minute walk to the cliff path that gives you superb sea views, we like to think of it more as "the best of both worlds :)

We look forward to hosting you at our little gem soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hofheim am Taunus, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

i am spending more then 200 nights per year in hotels. Nerver had such a great stay in such a perfect hotel with very nice and personalized rooms. The apartment are very spacious and furnished with perfect charm and character. Nothing is missing !!! The personal is very nice and professional. The location is perfect as it takes 3 min to walk to the city centre.
Perfect hotel also for family visiting the region.

Room Tip: You can choose between 1, 2 or 3 rooms appartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christophe v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Christophe, thank you for your feedback and for having chosen the Whale Coast Hotel! I am glad to hear that you as a savvy traveller enjoyed the standard of our apartments and the friendliness of the team. We are always looking forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
672 reviews
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
900 reviews
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel

Property: The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Address: Corner of Lord Roberts & Royal Roads, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whale Coast Hotel offers luxury accommodation and exclusive conference facilities to the leisure or corporate guest in the heart of the scenic Cape Whale Coast only 90 minutes from Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing