We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe base camp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Ideal accommodation from which to explore the surrounds. The suite is very spacious and equipped with all the modern conveniences you could ask for.
Location above a shopping centre with a view of the car park and beyond makes for an interesting stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Tim,
thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for your kind feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Whale Coast Hotel and hope that we will be welcoming you back soon in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

The staff were quick to help with all our requests (including an unplanned late checkout), the suite was spacious, charmingly decorated and spotlessly clean, and the hotel is conveniently located above a supermarket, within two minutes' walk of the Hermanus tourist office. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curdy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind words. We are glad to have been able to share the Whale Coast Hotel experience with you. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you. We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The rooms are fantastically spacious and comfortable. The staff are extremely friendly and ready to help wherever they are able. The only slight negative is the fact that the rooms overlook a parking lot and thus any quiet relaxation during the day is prevented by car doors being closed and hooting.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Andrew,
Thank you very much for your review on your experience at the Whale Coast Hotel. I have passed on your compliments to the team. Regrettably, our central location does have a some noise levels at certain times of the day due to the shopping center around the corner. We hope that you did not feel the annoyance too much but could enjoy the mountain views and braai facilities rather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Newly built hotel, very modern and clean. The hotel is actually apartments in a shopping mall which makes it safe (on top of a permanent person at the reception). Staff is helpful and friendly helping you out with any query (restaurant reco and booking, day trips,etc). 5min walking from coast and restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Barbara,
thank you for your positive feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt comfortable and safe throughout. We most certainly look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had a very pleasant one night stay at the Whale Hotel only booked the day before. Friends that we were travelling with booked a 2 bedroom apartment for us to all share. The apartment was large and spacious giving us both private space when needed.
On our arrival were given lots of info about looking at the whales (which were amazing) and also suggested eating places. They even booked our table for us at a place called Lemon Butta which was fantastic.
This stay was two days out from getting married and they also made us feel very special by placing flowers, champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our apartment.
It is very central and you can walk the town from there.
We could not have asked for a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIll1957_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Jill,
we are delighted that you
enjoyed your stay with us; we are absolutely honoured that you chose the Whale Coast Hotel to escape the wedding stress and hope you had a once in a lifetime fantastic day . What a truly special occasion for us to host! We hope that one day we will be able to welcome you back not only to South Africa or Hermanus, but to the Whale Coast Hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I booked Whale Coast whilst on a business trip to the area. Price and reviews were attractive, and booked. The result? A great experience, perfectly situated within a few minutes walk of all attractions, and great service from Nicole too. The hotel offers self catering as well as arrangements with the many restaurants nearby. I chose a BBQ on my own balcony and relaxed for the evening with my feet up. A great find, thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for BBQ in advance to ensure the wood and matches are nearby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Marnie, thank you for taking the time out to leave us your review, your feedback is highly appreciated. Here at the Whale Coast Hotel we like to believe that we are able to cater to every kind of traveler and are glad we could create a great experience for you. Thank you very much for informing me/ us about the service Nicole delivered. I have forwarded your feedback to Nicole and you might be interested to hear that she just became our employee of the Quarter. We look forward to welcoming you again and will make sure wood and matches are nearby for another braai!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I live in Toronto, Canada and recently booked 10 nights at the Whale Coast so that I could have a self catering place to stay while relocating my aged Mother-in-law into an assisted living facility in Hermanus. This was my sole reason for coming to South Africa from Canada. Unfortunately 5 days before I was due to arrive my Mother-in-law had a tragic situation that resulted in her being in intensive care for 8 days and her circumstances changed so dramatically that we can no longer move her into the facility we had arranged in Hermanus. I told the Whale Coast Hotel of the situation I found myself in and they would not refund any of the R7500 deposit I had paid to secure the booking. While I understand that this was a last minute booking and cancellation, the reasons for the cancellation were very unfortunate and not something anyone expected. After numerous emails and phone calls to the Hotel the best they offered me was that I could use the value of the deposit up to the end of January 2014 - despite the fact that I explained over and over again that I live in Canada and am no longer ever coming to Hermanus that is what they offered! I feel that absolutely no compassion has been shown at all and while I understand that they are running a business I think that not bending the rules at all is just heartless given the situation that our family is in.
My request was "taken to the top" i.e. to the General Manager and Managing Director but neither of them had the courtesy to personally contact me back. I made a final appeal this week but have not heard back. This is very disappointing! I am sure that the Whale Coast is a beautiful place but their Management are heartless! Leslie Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Ms Small,

Thank you very much for your feedback on the experience you had with Whale Coast Hotel. We as a team were and still are very sorry to hear about your case and hope that your mother-in law- will be on the path to recovery soon.

If I may, I would yet like to elaborate on our view on this situation:

The management team of Whale Coast Hotel took notice of your difficult family situation which was brought to our attention at that time. However, as you have already mentioned, we are a business entity and must act in our best interest eventually. As much as we want our guests to have an exceptional experience at the Whale Coast Hotel, we at the same time have the great responsibility towards our team member and their families by paying salaries hence we have created our cancellation policies.
Due to the tragic circumstances you were in, we decided to keep your deposit to be used at a later stage. This was immediately discussed with your brother who made the booking on your behalf and was in contact with us throughout. Your brother Craig confirmed this arrangement and we proceeded accordingly.

We hope that this clears the misunderstanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
945 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel

Address: Corner of Lord Roberts & Royal Roads, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: £90 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whale Coast Hotel offers luxury accommodation and exclusive conference facilities to the leisure or corporate guest in the heart of the scenic Cape Whale Coast only 90 minutes from Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing