We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Self-catering for a family” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Durbanville, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Self-catering for a family”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Centrally situated between the shops and eateries. Above the carpark of a shopping centre which is noisy during the day but quite at night. Apartments are serviced every day but not replenished! Well equiped for cooking your own meals.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Estelle,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Our apology for the higher noise levels during the day. A central location like ours with shops, restaurants and the sea front just around the corner is unfortunately not benefiting from low noise levels at all times.
Please note that we replenish certain amenities daily whereas others are as you correctly stated not being replenished but placed in the room upon arrival. If you wish to have these replenished as well, do not hesitate to approach us the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    190
    18
    11
    3
See reviews for
300
138
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Not for those who require seclusion but the convenience of having easy access to major shops and cafes (just 1 floor away!) is fantastic for families who are self-catering or wishing to pop out to eat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ismail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Ismail,
thank you very much for your feedback on the convenience of our location! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the close proximity of shops, seafront and restaurants.
The team of the Whale Coast Hotel is looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

thank you very much to the reservation staff for helping us with accommodation at such short notice. we enjoyed the stay, even though it was only for one night.
excellent location, very clean, very neat

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Farah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Farah,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I am glad to hear that my team could convince you with their service delivery and I have forwarded your compliments to our reservations team.
We hope to welcome you again in the future, maybe next time for a longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Ideal accommodation from which to explore the surrounds. The suite is very spacious and equipped with all the modern conveniences you could ask for.
Location above a shopping centre with a view of the car park and beyond makes for an interesting stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Tim,
thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for your kind feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Whale Coast Hotel and hope that we will be welcoming you back soon in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The staff were quick to help with all our requests (including an unplanned late checkout), the suite was spacious, charmingly decorated and spotlessly clean, and the hotel is conveniently located above a supermarket, within two minutes' walk of the Hermanus tourist office. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curdy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind words. We are glad to have been able to share the Whale Coast Hotel experience with you. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you. We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The rooms are fantastically spacious and comfortable. The staff are extremely friendly and ready to help wherever they are able. The only slight negative is the fact that the rooms overlook a parking lot and thus any quiet relaxation during the day is prevented by car doors being closed and hooting.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Andrew,
Thank you very much for your review on your experience at the Whale Coast Hotel. I have passed on your compliments to the team. Regrettably, our central location does have a some noise levels at certain times of the day due to the shopping center around the corner. We hope that you did not feel the annoyance too much but could enjoy the mountain views and braai facilities rather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Newly built hotel, very modern and clean. The hotel is actually apartments in a shopping mall which makes it safe (on top of a permanent person at the reception). Staff is helpful and friendly helping you out with any query (restaurant reco and booking, day trips,etc). 5min walking from coast and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Barbara,
thank you for your positive feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt comfortable and safe throughout. We most certainly look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
3.1 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel

Property: The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Address: Corner of Lord Roberts & Royal Roads, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whale Coast Hotel offers luxury accommodation and exclusive conference facilities to the leisure or corporate guest in the heart of the scenic Cape Whale Coast only 90 minutes from Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing