We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Above a shopping center you will find this hotel. Large appartment style rooms with full kitchen, sitting area, balcony (view over parking lot in our case but also mountains) and two bedrooms with two bathrooms. Very near restaurants, shops, and the sea. Sometimes they have very good offers via Hotels.com etc.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It seems that you overall had a pleasant experience at the Whale Coast Hotel which I am always glad to hear.

Please do take time to check our website and facebook page if you plan to spend another holiday with us. We exclusively do publish offers and specials there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

These are fantastic apartments in a good part of town with secure parking. The apartments are modern and are very comfortable. The staff too could not have been more helpful and I don't want to put this place down but I'm afraid they do have a problem with cicardas. (Big crickets), not cockroaches. We had a couple in our apartment. No great shakes but when we got up in the morning they were above the kitchen in between our apartment and the roof and they really make a noise. They are also in the underground car park and at the bottom of the lift shaft. It is a problem that does need to be sorted.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seedoubleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us on tripadvisor.

I am glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and that we could convince you with our service delivery.
Unfortunately, some of our furniture has been infected by crickets and we are doing our utmost with help of pest control to take care of this issue. However, we must be careful with our approach as we do not want to harm any of the guests we are hosting. I truly apologize that you have been affected by this negatively.
Despite this, we hope to welcome you back in the future to make up for this incident.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is an excellent hotel with very friendly staff and a good location but there was a couple of niggles:
1. We had large black insects that we thought initially were crickets coming inside the apartment but, on reflection, could have been cockroaches (seemed to be many running in the patio door runner channels waiting to come inside when we used the balcony).
2. On the Saturday morning we were awoken at 6.00 AM by refrigerated trucks parked on the road outside our apartment with their engines running, waiting to deliver to the shopping centre below.
Everything else was perfect - a large apartment with all the facilities you would ever need. The shops below are handy for provisions etc. and the location is close to the sea path and restaurants. Also very safe to walk out at night.
The staff are very friendly and helpful regarding local information etc.- just the insect problem that we were concerned with, although we didn't complain as it was managable during our three-day stay.
There is a great Deli on the opposite side of the road on the corner - brilliant food!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank swindphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Please do not hesitate to inform us about any issues during your stay as we can react much better to it then to avoid that it affects your experience negatively
We have had a look at it now and taken care of the little visitors(bugs).
Unfortunately, a central location as ours does come does not always guarantee the quiet tranquil environment during different times of the day. We are always trying our utmost to keep it to a minimum, especially during the night, and apologise that your sleep has been affected by the deliveries of the shops nearby.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future. PS: the Deli offers fantastic wine blending workshops- just to recommend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My stay at Whale Coast Hotel was perfect. beautiful apartment, great views, close to restaurants and shops, short walk to the ocean, friendly staff and secure parking. I can really recommend this place, especially if you would like to stay a while in Hermanus (which you should) and spend time visiting the wonderful wine farms, watch the whales (june - november), play golf or just enjoy the ocean and tranquillity of this nice town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Roger,
Thank you very much for taking your time to review your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you had a “perfect” stay. Please stay updated on the events and happenings in Hermanus on our Facebook site as well as you should most definitely enquire about the various specials we have in place when you plan on visiting us the next time. We have arrangements for long staying guest as We also believe it is definitely worthwhile staying in Hermanus for longer to experience the diverse offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We were in Hermanus for a wedding with another couple and we enjoyed our stay. It is conveniently located, the staff is extremely friendly and accommodating, there is save parking, modern, clean apartment which is very spacious ...The kitchen is fully equipped and you even have a little braai (barbeque) area on the balcony and a supermarket next door...while restaurants and cafes are also within walking distance. Our balcony was facing the shopping mall parking, so that was the only downside...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Sophie,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our features. Unfortunately, being located so centrally with the shopping mall as our immediate neighbour, our apartments do not benefit of views one might wish for but the Overberg mountain range in the background. However, we hope that the central location and short walking distance to the cliff path and ocean can make up for this downside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We wish we could have stayed for longer! The apartments are fully furnished with everything one could possibly need! Situated above a shopping mall with shops, a bottle store and supermarket for supplies and in the centre of town a stone's throw from amazing restaurants and bars. The staff are super friendly and informative (they even drove us to the beach!) and everything is clean and easy to use. An incredible stay, we could not have asked for more!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Helen,

Thank you for your kind words! We strive at all times to exceed guest expectations, and your relaxation and happiness were our top priorities whilst you stayed with us. We’d love for you to visit us again, and we hope to make your next trip even more memorable. Please Like our Facebook page to stay up to date with the latest Hermanus news, and to remind you of those special moments each day in Hermanus brings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The apartment was very well fitted out & comfortable (no hairdryer supplied) Location is very cental, no need to use car unless you would like to visit sights out of town. If you don't like noise the parking lot is very disturbing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, General Manager at The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback brought to our attention. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our property. Unfortunately, we cannot control the noise levels of the parking lot at all times of the day as a central location like ours is busy especially during the day. However, we do our utmost that the traffic stops in the evening to ensure a good night rest. We hope to welcome you again and will ensure that your apartment is not lacking any amenities then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.5 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.3 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
1,017 reviews
0.6 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
770 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel

Address: Corner of Lord Roberts & Royal Roads, Hermanus, Overstrand 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Overstrand > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hermanus
Price Range: £87 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whale Coast Hotel offers luxury accommodation and exclusive conference facilities to the leisure or corporate guest in the heart of the scenic Cape Whale Coast only 90 minutes from Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing